We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A must”

Oslob Whale Shark Watching
Book In Advance
More Info
USD 190.00*
and up
Full Day Whale Shark Experience with Kawasan...
Ranked #4 of 13 things to do in Oslob
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: Whale sharks can be seen in a small barangay Tan-awan, which is 10 km away from the center town of Oslob. Whale shark watching in Cebu started last September 2011 and it became popular all over the world when the news hit in the internet last November 2011. By December 2011, local fishermen's interact with the whale sharks by feeding them that result to flocking of tourist to the beach of Tan-awan
Useful Information: Lockers / storage, Baby buggy parking, Wheelchair access, Activities for young children, Food available for purchase, Bathroom facilities, Activities for older children
Reviewed 6 April 2018 via mobile

This experience is a must when you come to cebu. Don't forget to bring your go pro or rent a go pro for only 500pesos. The divers are very experience and will take care of taking your pictures and videos underwater.

Thank Ara P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,208)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages
All reviews
"gentle giants"
in 163 reviews
"whale shark watching"
in 130 reviews
"underwater camera"
in 121 reviews
"once in a lifetime"
in 83 reviews
"cebu city"
in 187 reviews
"amazing experience"
in 86 reviews
"short briefing"
in 21 reviews
"close encounter"
in 27 reviews
"bucket list"
in 56 reviews
"small boat"
in 36 reviews
"beautiful creatures"
in 25 reviews
"local fishermen"
in 23 reviews
"snorkeling gear"
in 25 reviews
"tan awan"
in 45 reviews
"life jackets"
in 34 reviews
"do's and don'ts"
in 19 reviews
"briefing area"
in 27 reviews
Filter

74 - 78 of 2,210 reviews

Reviewed 5 April 2018 via mobile

I Visited Oslob and i must say the whale sharks are special, amazing

However this is quickly turning into a typical Philippines tourist trap- it’s a total mind /:#% if you are not on a pre arranged tour
Also I think the Cebu tour operators are capitalising on the tourist inflow rightly or wrongly

Why?

Well actually the two attractions are the whale sharks and the magnificent Sumilon Island- both are within 10
Minutes road and 15 minutes boat trip of each other however tour operators charge separate two trips whereas our fantastic hotel arranged a trip to both on the same day using local guides and transportation, Sumilon Island for snorkelling was amazing a real highlight especially with the sandbar at low tide

I would recommend you arrive at oslob for whale shark watching between 9-10am you spend 1hr there Whale watching this is established by the local govt
After then proceed to Sumilon Island at 11am for 2-3 hrs max, of course you can stay longer but there is only swimming and snorkelling

I paid 6400 pesos for 4 persons including local guide transport and boat to both the whale sharks and Sumilon Island

Extra was 100 pesos each boatman for whale sharks times 3, 500 pesos tip for boatmen to Sumilon Island and 300 tip pesos to Cuya Dennis the trike driver
This was extra to the 6400 peso

So don’t pay both as separate when it can be done as one single trip
Both Oslob whale sharks and Sumilon Island are well worth the trip

Afterwards the next day I proceeded another 20’mins by jeep from Oslob the next day to Liloan port to catch the 10am ferry to Siquijor, but that’s a different review !

Thank dougm1970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 April 2018 via mobile

The most breath taking, calming and relaxing swim i have ever had. The whale sharks have a friendly and relaxing presence which makes you feel relaxed also.

I highlly recommend the experience

Thank Cameron P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 April 2018 via mobile

We tried to go last year in january with a tour, but when we arrived and noticed hundreds of people standing there and looking lost we knew something was wrong. Supposably on that day the weather wasnt good enought to go out on the water so everything was cancelled. I’m not sure if some tour called or adviced their customer that the whale watching would be cancelled but surelly some didnt do their homework and didnt really care about their customer satisfaction because we were hundreds of people there disapointed about getting there for nothing and having to pay for the 2h transport.
This year we didnt take any chance and ask the divers in moalboal about the tide and wind speed to make sure we could go. We also check on the offical website to make sure it was open because it was good friday and at one point we had a dout it could be closed. But no notification on the website and everything was suppose to go as the regular scheduled so we were happy to go on the next morning. We woke up a 4:30 to arrive there early just to found out it was close for the day! People working there were no help giving us all different information about if we could go, were we could go, when we could go, where to rent snorkeling gear, how much to pay... in the end we couldnt go, along with all the other customers who had received false information about if it was open or not.
In the end, very disapointing!

1  Thank Dan K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 3 April 2018

Magnificent. Extraordinary. Very crowded. A LOT OF PEOPLE. We have been waited for 3 hours to view the whale sharks but it's worth it. I hope the staffs really do take good care of the whale sharks. They are so big and so beautiful. Will visit them again!

Thank Doraphee K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Oslob Whale Shark Watching also viewed

 

Been to Oslob Whale Shark Watching? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing