We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 6:00 am - 12:30 pm
Save
Book In Advance
  
Ways to Experience Oslob Whale Sharks
from USD 190.00
More Info
from USD 95.00
More Info
Reviews (2,336)
Filter reviews
2,336 results
Traveller rating
1,289
626
214
86
121
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,289
626
214
86
121
Show reviews that mention
All reviews gentle giants underwater camera once in a lifetime cebu city amazing experience close encounter bucket list small boat beautiful creatures local fishermen snorkeling gear short briefing briefing area life jackets do's and don'ts oslob whale shark tan awan
Filter
Updating list...
159 - 164 of 2,336 reviews
Reviewed 2 April 2018

i never thought I would experience this thing. For Php. 600/head (swimming with snorkling gear) I got a chance to have a close encounter with the whale sharks. It's surreal and enjoyable.

My only concern is that people / tourist should follow the rules and regulations. Also for the locals to take care of this wealth, if ever only a handful of boats can come close to the whalesharks, we observed that the whales were bumped by some boats. I know they got stress because of this.

Date of experience: March 2018
Thank Jeng14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2018 via mobile

A must if you visit Cebu! This is located about 1,5 h from Moalboal with VAN.
You see the whalesharks really close in their environment. They have a lot of rules with DONT’s to protect the sharks which is good!
Not at all physically hard, you go out a few minutes by boat and people take care of you all the time.

Date of experience: March 2018
Thank Madeleine L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2018

Yes, it's cool to see whale sharks but this is a zoo and not even near their natural behavior. I think this place is just a reminder how awful humans can be and that our pleasure is worth more than the animals lives. I can in some way understand that poor people need to make money but you should not support this. Spend your money on scuba diving on spots where you have the chance to see wild whale sharks instead.

Date of experience: February 2018
6  Thank Patrik M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2018 via mobile

Oslob in Southern Cebu is the home for whale sharks or “ Butanding” in the Philippines. We arrived in Oslob very late at night from Cebu City due to heavy traffic because of Holy week processions along the narrow road. We stayed in a hotel and woke up at 5:30 am since the briefing starts at 6 am. When we arrived in the registration area, it was already full of people. In fact, our group was already batch no. 92 and there are about 150 batches as early as 7am ! Tourists flocked that day because there will be no whale watching on Maundy Thursday and Good Friday. During the briefing, it was clearly announced that nobody is allowed to touch or feed the whale sharks and a 4 meters distance must be maintained from the whale sharks. It is not also allowed to put lotions or sunblock to avoid chemicals to contaminate the waters. At last, our number was called and we picked up our life jackets before we climbed into a small boat that can only accomodate 10 people including the boatmen. The watching site is just a few meters from the shore. Not long after, a very big whale shark came near our boat. Our companions started diving into the water and caught on video at least 3 more whale sharks. I was mesmerized by the huge size of the whale shark ! Its mouth was so big ! The first one was like the size of a private plane ! Every boat is only allowed 30 minutes per batch before they return to the shore.

Tips:

1. In going to Oslob, you can ride the bus from Cebu City but I recommend that you go there in private car since it is very hard to get a ride from Oslob back to the city because buses are already full from Santander port to Oslob.

2. You may stay at an Inn in Oslob the day before because the registration and briefing is very early. The whale watching is only until 11:30am. We stayed in BCD’s Place. It was a very convenient place , just beside the registration area and they have a big parking space. They also assist their guests during the registration and briefing. BCD’s Place room rate is only 1,600 pesos for a decent room good for 4 persons.

3. The best time for whale watching is around 6-7am , since it is not yet too hot.

4. You can rent flippers for only ₱ 100, in one of the stores in the registration area.

5. Leave your things in the hotel

6. Bring your Go Pro camera. The boat man can take your pictures.

Date of experience: March 2018
Thank W9445QFgraceb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2018 via mobile

To put this in context we went on Easter Saturday which is probably the worst day of the year. Despite leaving Lapu-Lapu at 4:30 we arrived at 7:30 and were put into a 3 hour queue for a boat. There were thousands of people!
In the water you get very close. Despite the 4m exclusion zone the gentle giants ignore you and swim to the food following the bait boat around like trained dogs.
It is incredible to be able to observe this incredible creature up close and watching them inhale shrimp with many litres of water is like watching an industrial vacuum cleaner at work.
It’s better than the fisherman catching and killing them and there are some very balanced reviews on this site but......

If you ever get the chance to swim with them in the open ocean like we have at Exmouth in Australia then that totally natural experience spoils you for this one.

Date of experience: March 2018
3  Thank David M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews