We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bucketlist”

Oslob Whale Shark Watching
Book In Advance
More Info
USD 190.00*
and up
Full Day Whale Shark Experience with Kawasan...
Ranked #4 of 13 things to do in Oslob
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: Whale sharks can be seen in a small barangay Tan-awan, which is 10 km away from the center town of Oslob. Whale shark watching in Cebu started last September 2011 and it became popular all over the world when the news hit in the internet last November 2011. By December 2011, local fishermen's interact with the whale sharks by feeding them that result to flocking of tourist to the beach of Tan-awan
Useful Information: Wheelchair access, Activities for older children, Baby buggy parking, Bathroom facilities, Activities for young children, Lockers / storage, Food available for purchase
Reviewed 3 April 2018

Magnificent. Extraordinary. Very crowded. A LOT OF PEOPLE. We have been waited for 3 hours to view the whale sharks but it's worth it. I hope the staffs really do take good care of the whale sharks. They are so big and so beautiful. Will visit them again!

Thank Doraphee K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,239)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages
All reviews
"gentle giants"
in 160 reviews
"underwater camera"
in 120 reviews
"whale shark watching"
in 127 reviews
"once in a lifetime"
in 80 reviews
"cebu city"
in 184 reviews
"amazing experience"
in 85 reviews
"bucket list"
in 55 reviews
"close encounter"
in 27 reviews
"small boat"
in 36 reviews
"local fishermen"
in 23 reviews
"snorkeling gear"
in 24 reviews
"beautiful creatures"
in 24 reviews
"briefing area"
in 27 reviews
"life jackets"
in 34 reviews
"short briefing"
in 21 reviews
"do's and don'ts"
in 18 reviews
"tan awan"
in 43 reviews
Filter

98 - 102 of 2,239 reviews

Reviewed 2 April 2018

i never thought I would experience this thing. For Php. 600/head (swimming with snorkling gear) I got a chance to have a close encounter with the whale sharks. It's surreal and enjoyable.

My only concern is that people / tourist should follow the rules and regulations. Also for the locals to take care of this wealth, if ever only a handful of boats can come close to the whalesharks, we observed that the whales were bumped by some boats. I know they got stress because of this.

Thank Jeng14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2018 via mobile

A must if you visit Cebu! This is located about 1,5 h from Moalboal with VAN.
You see the whalesharks really close in their environment. They have a lot of rules with DONT’s to protect the sharks which is good!
Not at all physically hard, you go out a few minutes by boat and people take care of you all the time.

Thank Madeleine L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2018

Yes, it's cool to see whale sharks but this is a zoo and not even near their natural behavior. I think this place is just a reminder how awful humans can be and that our pleasure is worth more than the animals lives. I can in some way understand that poor people need to make money but you should not support this. Spend your money on scuba diving on spots where you have the chance to see wild whale sharks instead.

6  Thank Patrik M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 1 April 2018 via mobile

Oslob in Southern Cebu is the home for whale sharks or “ Butanding” in the Philippines. We arrived in Oslob very late at night from Cebu City due to heavy traffic because of Holy week processions along the narrow road. We stayed in a hotel and woke up at 5:30 am since the briefing starts at 6 am. When we arrived in the registration area, it was already full of people. In fact, our group was already batch no. 92 and there are about 150 batches as early as 7am ! Tourists flocked that day because there will be no whale watching on Maundy Thursday and Good Friday. During the briefing, it was clearly announced that nobody is allowed to touch or feed the whale sharks and a 4 meters distance must be maintained from the whale sharks. It is not also allowed to put lotions or sunblock to avoid chemicals to contaminate the waters. At last, our number was called and we picked up our life jackets before we climbed into a small boat that can only accomodate 10 people including the boatmen. The watching site is just a few meters from the shore. Not long after, a very big whale shark came near our boat. Our companions started diving into the water and caught on video at least 3 more whale sharks. I was mesmerized by the huge size of the whale shark ! Its mouth was so big ! The first one was like the size of a private plane ! Every boat is only allowed 30 minutes per batch before they return to the shore.

Tips:

1. In going to Oslob, you can ride the bus from Cebu City but I recommend that you go there in private car since it is very hard to get a ride from Oslob back to the city because buses are already full from Santander port to Oslob.

2. You may stay at an Inn in Oslob the day before because the registration and briefing is very early. The whale watching is only until 11:30am. We stayed in BCD’s Place. It was a very convenient place , just beside the registration area and they have a big parking space. They also assist their guests during the registration and briefing. BCD’s Place room rate is only 1,600 pesos for a decent room good for 4 persons.

3. The best time for whale watching is around 6-7am , since it is not yet too hot.

4. You can rent flippers for only ₱ 100, in one of the stores in the registration area.

5. Leave your things in the hotel

6. Bring your Go Pro camera. The boat man can take your pictures.

Thank Grace B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Oslob Whale Shark Watching also viewed

 

Been to Oslob Whale Shark Watching? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing