We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Fantastic accommodation in lovely location”
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
12 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 4
Oare, Exmoor National Park, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 12 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
NeilRicha...
Aylesbury, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Fantastic accommodation in lovely location”
Reviewed 28 September 2018 for a stay in September 2018

We stayed for a week in late September with our two spaniels. The accommodation is superb, very comfortable and has everything needed for a stay. The location is great for peace and quiet, offering great walks. The owners are very friendly and helpful and happy to offer advice as to places to go. We would come again!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clive W
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Ideally located getaway cottage in lovely countryside”
Reviewed 16 September 2018 for a stay in September 2018

Off the beaten track yet superbly placed for exploring the super land and seascape from Porlock to Lynton. Located in a rare "Dark Skies" zone you may experience star filled skies like you have never seen before late at night - in hushed silence and total darkness. The owners could not have done more for us, both during our week and in preparation for our arrival. Comfortable and perfect for two couples, the Hayloft is above the old stables and easily has room for two cars in the courtyard. Some good restaurants not far away and some breathtaking scenery for long or short walks. Ace!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
eddyandyv...
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Lovely”
Reviewed 20 June 2018 for a stay in February 2018

Great place to get away from it all smart and clean rooms can not fault it. Dogs are welcome, many walks straight out of the cottage and decent pub food at the many pubs within 5 miles

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hwilson01...
London
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Wonderful getaway in a beautiful location”
Reviewed 25 March 2018 for a stay in March 2018

We've just spent four fabulous days in Exmoor, staying at The Hayloft. It is in an amazing, get-away-from-it-all location, between the lovely villages of Porlock and Lynmouth. The accommodation is superb, very well designed (especially for two couples), luxurious (nice linen, towels, kitchen equipment etc - way better than you get in most rental places) and well appointed. Would definitely come back!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
395Edward
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Lovely cottage with some grat walks”
Reviewed 7 February 2018 for a stay in February 2018

There can’t be many places left in England where you can truly escape from man-made noise, but this is one. Set well back from the road along the track, you have to try hard to hear the odd passing car. And as your stay goes on you begin to notice the sounds of the countryside. The stream running past The Hayloft, the birds. And at night an owl.

This is a well maintained and very clean cottage. Central heating and log fire are efficient. It is set at right angles to the main house – so neither looks in on the other. Entrance is round the back with secure gates all round (our dog could not escape) and a beech hedge between your garden and the main house gives you privacy.

The two bedrooms Beech and Moor are named after the views from their windows. Nice to lie in bed and look out over the moor.

Porlock is a friendly if rather run-down town, with a good butcher, and a Spar supermarket. Eating-in we found to be better than the rather limited restaurants/pubs. We were off season. We tried to buy a book of walks from the outdoor gear shop – but he directed us to the tourist office – saying their books were cheaper and better. This was typical of the friendliness we found in the town.

The walks are something else. We particularly enjoyed walking from Porlock Weir to the rather magical Culbone Church. Invest in good walking boots. The mud is not quite Carver Doone deep, but its close!

If you are after a really relaxing and rejuvenating sanctuary from life’s stresses and strains, then this is the place to come.

Unlike many rural cottages, the internet is fast enough to allow you to watch Netflix and Amazon films in the evening. There is a collection of books and DVDs including, inevitably, Lorna Doone.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing