We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (109)
Filter reviews
109 results
Traveller rating
36
31
21
16
5
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
36
31
21
16
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscloud farmthe riverbasic facilitieslaid backbeautiful settingtwo nightsbabbling brookkids lovesconesgift shopsuperb locationlovely sitebank holidaycamp shoptoasting marshmallowsamazing placetucked away
Filter
Updating list...
11 - 16 of 109 reviews
Reviewed 31 March 2018 via mobile

Came to stay at this campsite on a rainy day, then it started to snow heavy... thought we would be snowed in but fortunately the rain washed away the snow and ice, the campsite was ok although the toilets are cold but clean and the showers are quite bad as are in cold container and communal with only a half curtain to cover (misses didn’t Evan want to try them) but overall we had a pleasant stay Evan if there was no signal for around 3 mile radius, the owners were very nice and helpful and unfortunately didn’t get to try the tea rooms as were shut, perfect for a visit away from the 21st century with beautiful views, although as per a group of VW Ankers came but didn’t ruin our stay!

Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank Jack J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2017

We are fairly local to Cloud Farm Camping so as soon as we saw the Bank Holiday Weather was going to be good we packed up and camped here over the long weekend. Its very handy that you dont have to book beforehand but you just turn up and find your spot, the staff were very friendly, its very reasonably priced, and its in a very beautiful spot by the river in the Lorna Doone Valley. We were amazed we were allowed open fires (you can get all the wood at the camp shop) and it took us right back to our childhoods sat by the fire at night toasting marshmallows and looking up at the stars. The only negative thing about this lovely campsite is that we felt there needed to be better facilities- there were only 4 toilets for the whole site and they needed a bit of TLC and also the showers were quite rundown with only a shower curtain between you and the next person (and they were unisex) If the owners spent a little money on sorting out better facilities they would have a little gem of a place as everything else about this site was amazing.

Stayed: August 2017
Thank Gabby W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2017

We camped for four nights in August with our two children (8 and 5) and dog. The campsite is in a gorgeous location, and is very relaxed - pick your own spot, campfires allowed, pets welcome. The riverside location is great - the river was full of children playing and exploring and there are some great walks/runs that go straight from the site. Facilities are adequate but quite basic; the shower facilities could be improved on, and the shop/tearoom provides necessary items and a nice cream tea but has no clear opening times and was often closed during the day. For the price (£25 per night) we might have expected a little more. That said, we enjoyed our stay.

Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
1  Thank Nicola T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2017

This was my children's first time camping and mine for over 20 years.
Great place to get away for a few days.

A bit basic but I can understand after having a few Conversations with Caz in the camp shop about people disrespecting the place.

Nothing was to much trouble for her.
Helped me out when no hot water to wash up.

Great views, great stream to play In, we loved building a camp fire and cooking marshmallows over it

Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
Thank pipparolfe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2017

We only came here through an invitation from relatives to join them for a long weekend. Researching the site gave mixed messages and a little apprehension over what we'd find. We needn't have worried. Yes the facilities are not pristine, with a lock missing here, a light out there, a soap dispenser missing the push button, the utility area lacking hot water whenever we turned up to do the dishes. But, and a big but, so what? The basics were there and did work, the camping fields provided reasonably level pitches, there was free WiFi at the shop cum tea room - lovely cream tea by the way! The site was laid back, tents spread out in a sprawl, but not cramped, campfires allowed, and no pressure on your departure day to leave early. The steep sided valley is beautiful even if it does result in a loss of sun early evening - but the stars at night are amazing due to reduced light pollution. The laid back atmosphere works. There's a happy buzz and the joyous sound of children exploring and messing about in the river. Wildlife abounds and there are walks into glorious countryside straight from the site. For campers who enjoy a more back to basics site this ticks most boxes. It has charm and the staff we met were lovely, helpful, and friendly, making us feel very welcome.

Room Tip: There are several camping fields so check out each before you pitch as some may be completely empty.
  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Maestro2296
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews