We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (6,122)
Filter reviews
6,122 results
Traveller rating
2,791
1,498
827
578
428
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
2,791
1,498
827
578
428
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsvictorian buildingocean towersun deckice skatingcalifornia cabanaselevator operatorsheerwater restaurantocean fronticonic hotelmain buildingmarilyn monroefull ocean viewsan diegobucket listbannockmain pooldel coronado
Filter
Updating list...
380 - 385 of 6,122 reviews
Reviewed 6 April 2018

The view was great, we sat on the top level outside. The food was very rich and pretty tasty. The service, however, was disappointing. The waiter did not even put our food down on the table, he held it in front of us and motioned for us to reach across the table to grab the plates... which is not that big of a deal except we had someone with physical disabilities at our table. Besides that, many things were not followed up with or if they were, it was done extremely slowly... I know it seems petty, but when you pay $18 for a cup of soup, you expect EXCEPTIONAL service, not just mediocre.
Overall our dining experience was a huge disappointment due to the bad service.

  • Stayed: February 2018, travelled with family
    • Service
2  Thank JECR2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harold R, General Manager at Hotel del Coronado, responded to this reviewResponded 9 April 2018

Dear JECR2009,

Thank you for sharing your review with us. While it is lovely to hear you enjoyed the inspiring culinary options at Sheerwater, we are concerned to hear that the service you experienced did not meet our usual standards. We sincerely apologize that your waiter did not go above and beyond to provide you with excellent service, and we hope you’ll reconsider another meal with us at Sheerwater in the future.

Sincerely,

Harold Rapoza Jr.
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 April 2018

The Del is a must for anyone visiting the San Diego area. Loved the location and the history of the hotel. Would recommend concierge services to make your stay outstanding. So close to all San Diego amenities.

  • Stayed: April 2018, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Curio – A Collection by Hilton
Thank andreahofmeister
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harold R, General Manager at Hotel del Coronado, responded to this reviewResponded 9 April 2018

Dear andreahofmeister,

Thank you for your lovely review. We are delighted to discover you enjoyed our attentive concierge and the illuminating history of The Del. Should you find yourself returning to Coronado, we hope to welcome you back for another stay at our beautiful resort.

Sincerely,

Harold Rapoza Jr.
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 April 2018 via mobile

Stayed at the Hotel del Coronado for 3 nights with family. The service was fantastic from check in, to housekeeping (so nice to get what you need within minutes of calling), to restaurant service. The property is spectacular! The hotel is charming and well cared for in every way. Rooms are spacious and very comfortable. Beach location is perfect and the resort grounds are beautiful. We highly recommend this hotel for a family vacation. Only downfall were the fire alarms on Sunday and Tuesday around 1am. Very odd it happened twice both around the same time.

Stayed: April 2018, travelled with family
Thank LWM_2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 April 2018 via mobile

I had lowered my expectations thanks to the helpful reviews here on TripAdvisor. But they were not lowered enough! I still left very disappointed and shocked at how bad it was. I was there March 1-4 with my husband and young daughter. The room had a cool patio with a view that ALMOST made you forget you were in a costly dump. That was the only good thing about the entire hotel. The room was dirty - not just old (there is a big difference that I am very aware of). There was even an inhabited spider web in the corner. Also many big stains covered the carpet. A thick layer of dust coated everything in the room, especially the shutter blinds that led the to gorgeous view. The screens in the windows were nailed on from the outside. The only closet was IN the bathroom. There were dirty room service dishes and wine glasses across from our room the ENTIRE time we were there! The staff that we encountered seemed experienced and unconcerned with any problems we mentioned. The staff at the expensive on site restaurant acted bewildered and possibly even a bit irritated that we were vegan. They weren’t familiar with the ingredients in the food. Our waiter poured tap water into our overpriced bottled water that we were drinking. The valet was an unusual and inconvenient set up. The beach is so nice though - I’m from the east coast and the beach at Coronado for me was magical. Sand dollars are all over the place along with all kinds of other cool sea things washed up on the beach. The sunset makes gold sparkle in the sand! The bill for our three night stay was over $1500. We stayed in three other nice hotels on our trip to California and sadly the Del Coronado was by far the worst and most expensive! When we go back to San Diego we will drive from a better hotel to see the beach.

Stayed: March 2018
3  Thank leighbell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harold R, General Manager at Hotel del Coronado, responded to this reviewResponded 7 April 2018

Dear leighbell,

Thank you for such a detailed review. While we are pleased to hear you enjoyed stepping out on your lovely patio to take in a beautiful view of the Pacific, it is unfortunate that the rest of your stay did not meet expectations. We deeply apologize that your room was not properly prepared for your arrival, and that between the lapse in friendly service and attainable rates of cuisine, you did not find the relaxing beach getaway you were looking for. We appreciate your feedback and hope you’ll allow us the opportunity to restore your trust in our beautiful resort with an improved stay in the future.

Sincerely,

Harold Rapoza Jr.
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 April 2018 via mobile

Location and view was breathtaking. Amazing! Service and focus on the customer left a lot to be desired. Truly no focus on the customer. Wether you called front desk or simply walking the property. No engagement with customers. Hilton hotel but not the usual service that is experienced at Hilton brand hotels.

Stayed: April 2018, travelled with family
2  Thank cjvramirez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harold R, General Manager at Hotel del Coronado, responded to this reviewResponded 7 April 2018

Dear cjvramirez,

Thank you for sharing your thoughts. Our peaceful location right on Coronado Island is perfect for enjoying a relaxing beach getaway. However, it is unfortunate that the customer service you experience did not meet our usual standards. We appreciate you sharing your feedback with us and hope to provide you with an improved stay in the future.

Sincerely,

Harold Rapoza Jr.
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews