We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cutest place in town”
Review of El Cordova Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
El Cordova Hotel
Ranked #8 of 17 Hotels in Coronado
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 28 August 2012

We loved this quaint hotel. It was perfectly located to everything...shopping, beach, restaurants, etc. Can't wait to go back and stay again. Maria checked us in and showed us to our room since we could not find it (ha); was mixed in with all of the cute shops and restaurants.

Room Tip: We were in room 102 which was the smallest room on the property (I think) but it was in the back awa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hippiewantabe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (715)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

559 - 563 of 715 reviews

Reviewed 18 August 2012

Overall very happy with hospitality, ambiance, close proximity to everything.

Couple things that could be addressed: Only one mirror (bathroom) in the whole room. Could put one in closet in living area or over phone area. Sink didnt shut off all the way. Price was very high and we even received a group discount.

Room Tip: I dont think there would be a bad room at this hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Linda N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2012

Great location, the suite was very spacious BUT overlooking the patio and the restaurant (very noisy, starting at 6AM until midnight...), dark, no cooking utensils in the kitchen, faucet leaking in the bathroom and 2 lamps out of 4 not working, hole in the front door left after a lock change. Our daughter who was traveling with us slept in the sofa bed, which we had to make up (no maid service), etc. And this room had supposedly been recently refurbished. Very disappointing given the location and the price charged.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank B D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MicaJackson, General Manager at El Cordova Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 August 2012

Thank you for the review of our hotel. I am sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your stay. The design staff and the Housekeeping department have put a lot of effort into the rooms to ensure that each guest is comfortable. I will remind our Housekeeping staff that when servicing the rooms, check for missing items in the kitchen and replace as needed. The Maintenance staff also inspects rooms daily for items that need repair.

There are some challenges during the nights when the restaurant is full. We encourage all guests to contact the front desk any time you are unsatisfied with the room. We will do our best to accommodate you. We hope that you will think of us again should you return to Coronado!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2012

After having a bad airport experience everything got delayed this Friday night, we didn't make it to the El Cordova until 1:30am we were so tired, to our surprise James at the front desk couldn't have been more attentive, he said "I know you guys are tired so i will make this as fast as i can, i already have the lights on inside your room, here are your two room keys and breakfast vouchers..." That was music to my ears, we went into the room and it was very cute and clean right on the courtyard. We requested two extra pillows and after 3 minutes James was at our door. The bed was great. Location was wonderful.
We were really pleased with the staff and the hotel, we felt right at home right from the beginning.
The only sad part was leaving but i am sure we will come back.
Virginia

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Virginia N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2012

My family and i loved our stay. Maria at the front desk was most helpfull. Everyone we encountered was hospitable and very nice. We had a room by the pool where we spent a lot of our time. Enjoyed Miguel's the restaurant very much. Close proximity to the beach (5 or 6 minute walk). We would definately stay there again and we will recommend it as well. Keep up the good work.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank F E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Coronado hotels
0.1 km away
La Avenida Inn
La Avenida Inn
#5 of 17 in Coronado
608 reviews
0.3 km away
Hotel Marisol Coronado
Hotel Marisol Coronado
#1 of 17 in Coronado
302 reviews
0.2 km away
1906 Lodge, A Four Sisters Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 km away
Best Western Plus Suites Hotel Coronado Island
1.2 km away
Crown City Inn
Crown City Inn
#11 of 17 in Coronado
207 reviews
1.6 km away
Coronado Inn
Coronado Inn
#14 of 17 in Coronado
143 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to El Cordova Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about El Cordova Hotel

Address: 1351 Orange Ave, Coronado, CA 92118-2916
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Coronado
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Coronado
#6 Family Hotel in Coronado
#7 Business Hotel in Coronado
#10 Romantic Hotel in Coronado
Price Range: $217 - $526 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — El Cordova Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 43
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rich in history, natural beauty and a charming Spanish hacienda style. El Cordova Hotel stands in the heart of the Village of Coronado Island, one block from the best beach in San Diego. Shopping, restaurants, theatre and recreational activities are within walking distance and the Hotel has four restaurants and twelve boutique shops on site. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Wotif.com, Expedia APAC, Evoline ltd, Hooroo Pty Ltd, Hotels.com, TravelClick, lastminute.com.au, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your El Cordova Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
El Cordova Coronado
Hotel El Cordova

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing