We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Avoid, Avoid, Avoid Poor Customer Service and Rude Staff”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Crowne Plaza Concord
Ranked #4 of 8 Hotels in Concord
Reviewed 23 July 2017

During a recent business trip, I stayed at the Crowne Plaza in Concord, CA. I booked a room on the fly using my company's trip app and accidentally booked the wrong day. When I showed up the woman at the front informed me that I did not have a room. When she looked up the reservation she said that I was supposed to be here yesterday. I told her I accidentally booked the wrong day.

Unconcerned she blew it off and told me she could get me a room for that day, but charge me the current rate (which was higher). I don't mind the higher charge, but I asked her to refund the no show fee that I was charged for not showing up the day I was supposed to be there. She wouldn't refund the charge and in order for it to be refunded I needed to speak to their accounting department. Wait...huh?

I've called their accounting person several times to dispute the no show late charge and every time I called I got a voice mail. I have left several messages and nobody returns my call. Fed up, I called their corporate offices and they told me I need to speak with the hotel's accounting department. I told them nobody returns my calls and they said someone would get back to me within 48 hours. Guess what...you got it...nobody called me back.

This has been ridiculous. I just want to speak to someone. If they didn't refund my no show charges, fine. But someone needs to respectful and returning my phone call. I've turned this over to my credit card company to dispute. Maybe someone will speak with American Express.

On the quality of the rooms...ugh. Disgusting...they smelled of mold and are very old. I have to laugh....I thought it was just me, but someone else also commented on here about their long hallways. I swear that woman at the front desk hated me and put me in the very last room. I walked forever to get to my room. Thankfully I was only there for one night.

If you can at all cost avoid this place. I will never stay here again. I would be happy to talk with someone and change my write up on the no show charge if someone from the Crowne Plaza had the decency to return a phone call.

Room Tip: Find another hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled on business
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank mreinemeyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kimberlee R, Front Office Manager at Crowne Plaza Concord, responded to this reviewResponded 26 July 2017

I appreciate you feedback and would first like to apologize for the inconveniences that you have experience. I personally would be more then happy to assist you with this concern. You can reach me by email kim.reid@interstatehotels.com.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (408)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

32 - 36 of 408 reviews

Reviewed 20 July 2017

I checked in and they were in the middle of a partial power outage (not all parts of the hotel was affected). They had to check me in on paper until they could electronically check me in. Because of this, they had to walk me to my room where they used their key fob to let me into my room. All ok at this point.

Then, as I was really sleepy - I had locked the door but didn't bolt the door...housekeeping barged in - no one had communicated to them I was there. Unnerving and frustrating, but still ok on some levels.

Then, another person tried to enter the room - this time I had bolted the door. I got up to answer the door to find the prior occupant of the room standing there saying that since she had the room yesterday she though she might be able to have it again today. When asked if she had checked out - she said yes.

So - I'm not sure how they deactivate a key, but if you have a key card from a previous stay and remember your room...apparently you can still get in. I called down to reception to let them know what happened. They said they got the key card from her - but did she have 2??? Who knows. Bottom line is that if she did have 2 and I went out to the gym or to get food....could she let herself in and steal things?? Very possible.

I was furious! I went down to the front desk and they tried to blame this utter lack of security and safety on the power outage, but she checked out the day before. This was not acceptable and after quite a bit of attitude on the part of the front desk staff, I said I wanted to get the hell out. So I packe3d up and left. Not a single apology. I will NEVER stay at a crowne plaza again - I do not like their security procedures!!

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled solo
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank adrenalinejunkie2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGService, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Concord, responded to this reviewResponded 5 August 2017

Hello adrenalinejunkie2000,

First of all, thank you very much for your recent stay at our Crowne Plaza Concord/Walnut Creek, CA. I am so sorry to see you did not enjoy your overall experience with us, especially with customer service and security. We will look into these concerns. We’d like to obtain some additional detail regarding your experience so we have sent you a private message. We hope to have the honor of serving you again should your travels bring you back to Concord/Walnut Creek.

Sincerely,

Orlando A.
Case Manager
IHGService

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2017

The hotel charged me 200 dollars for one night. When I arrived, they were out of rooms due to maintenance issues. Here is the backup option I was offered. A pullout bed in the living room of a suite. They didn't even make the bed. To make up for it, they offered me free breakfast.

Stayed: July 2017, travelled on business
1  Thank Dhruv W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGService, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Concord, responded to this reviewResponded 2 August 2017

Hi Dhruv W,

Thank you for your recent stay and for taking the time to write a review of our hotel. It is regrettable that some of our amenities and services did not live up to your expectations. I sincerely apologize for any inconvenience you may have experienced. Please allow us to follow up on your concerns and have the opportunity to make it up to you. I have sent you a private message in an effort to obtain additional information. I look forward to your response.

Kind regards,

Faith R
Case Manager
IHGService

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2017

Older property, incredibly LONG hallways. Hotel is ok, but very old. They are trying to keep up with it's age. Nice area. A little off the beaten path though. OK as a whole, but don't expect a lot. Airport in the same parking lot, which is kinda neat.

  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rryan313131
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sogi A, Front Office Manager at Crowne Plaza Concord, responded to this reviewResponded 1 July 2017

Thank you for choosing Crowne Plaza CONCORD/WALNUT CREEK and for taking the time to provide feedback about your experience with us.
I apologize for any inconvenience due to issues described with your stay with us.
Your comments will be shared with our staff and management.
We hope you would give us another chance and stay with us.
Sincerely,
S. Abadi
sabadi@cpconcord.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2017 via mobile

This is not a 4 star property! Very old and dirty rooms (stains and hair in the bathroom and on bed sheets) with stained hallways. I requested a renovated room during my stay and it was granted but the "renovated" room had the same old and dirty feel with very little cosmetic upgrades. Luckily my stay was only for 2 nights. I will not be returning to this hotel.

Stayed: June 2017, travelled on business
2  Thank Michael R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sogi A, Front Office Manager at Crowne Plaza Concord, responded to this reviewResponded 23 June 2017

Dear Valued Guest,
Thank you for choosing Crowne Plaza and for taking the time to provide feedback about your experience with us.
I would like to start by apologizing to you for the inconveniences you faced during your stay.
I have addressed the room and hallways with the appropriate department, and it will be corrected immediately.
We strive to make each stay as pleasant and comfortable as possible, and we appreciate that you brought your experience to our attention. We take feedback seriously and will coach our team to make the necessary changes so we can provide a better experience in the future.
I hope you will give us a chance by staying with us again to show you that your unsatisfactory stay was an exception.
Again, please accept our apology and thank you for sharing your comments, and if I can be of assistance to you, please contact me directly at or sabadi@cpconcord.com.

Sincerely,
Sogi Abadi
sabadi@cpconcord.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Concord
1.1 km away
Hilton Concord
Hilton Concord
#1 of 8 in Concord
1,019 reviews
6.7 km away
Best Western Plus Heritage Inn
6.4 km away
Holiday Inn Express Walnut Creek
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.2 km away
HYATT house Pleasant Hill
HYATT house Pleasant Hill
#1 of 6 in Pleasant Hill
521 reviews
5.9 km away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Walnut Creek
7.6 km away
Walnut Creek Marriott
Walnut Creek Marriott
#1 of 7 in Walnut Creek
807 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crowne Plaza Concord? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Concord

Address: 45 John Glenn Dr, Concord, CA 94520-5604
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Concord
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 8 Hotels in Concord
Price Range: $140 - $256 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Crowne Plaza Concord 3.5*
Number of rooms: 324
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The newly renovated Crowne Plaza Concord hotel is a full service property with 324 spacious guest rooms, offering all the amenities you expect including complimentary high-speed Internet access, complimentary parking and shuttle service. We are located conveniently in the San Francisco - East Bay area, right off highway 680, 25 minutes away from Oakland Airport and only 35 minutes east of downtown San Francisco. Our meeting and banquet facility offers over 33,000 square feet of flexible function space, including our California Ballroom, Sequoia Amphitheater and our beautiful indoor Atrium with lush gardens and koi ponds, a perfect setting for weddings and special events. The Crowne Plaza Concord has an appealing array of features and services that are sure to please. While you are here, you will appreciate the business center and you are sure to enjoy the indoor pool and whirlpool and NEW Vineyards Chop House - BAR on-sit. Concord is home to a multitude of corporate businesses, restaurants, shopping centers and department stores. Business travelers, families and visitors can enjoy Buchanan Fields Golf Course right next to the hotel, Concord's Waterworld California, nearby Mount Diablo, Blackhawk Automotive Museum, and Napa Valley Wine Country. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Agoda, Evoline ltd, lastminute.com.au, Expedia APAC, Wotif.com, HotelQuickly, Hooroo Pty Ltd, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Crowne Plaza Concord reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Concord Hotel Concord
Concord Crowne Plaza

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing