We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hotel is Mediocre and Staff is Nearly Incompetent”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Residence Inn Chico
Ranked #6 of 17 Hotels in Chico
Reviewed 1 June 2011

I stayed at the hotel as part of a group of family in town for a wedding. My mom booked a number of rooms for family, and I stayed in a suite with my parents.

Reservations were made months in advance, but when my mom called to check on her reservation, the hotel told her that it had no record. She eventually gave up on the staff person she was talking to and called back the next day. This time around, the hotel was able to find her reservation.

Then, upon check-in, my mom left a specific request with the front desk that they were to give me a key to her room when I arrived. Upon arrival, the woman at the front desk said that she had no record of this request and that there was nothing that she could do. She said that she had just came on shift and didn't know what happened before her. I argued with her for several minutes and then suddenly her tuned changed. I'm not sure what it was, but my guess is that she suddenly found the notation on the account.

The front desk staff continued to show its incompetence the rest of the weekend, and when anybody else tried to check in, they were bewildered, and the other guests would have to call my mom, who would then have to call the hotel to straighten it out.

Seriously, I would think that a hotel, which by nature often caters to large groups of people, should have been able to handle this situation better. It was quite disturbing to be in the middle of the wedding rehearsal or preparing for the ceremony, only to be interrupted by the hotel not knowing what to do. The staff required an immense amount of hand holding.

The hotel itself was mediocre. The room was blah, but generally clean. The fridge in the suite made a lot of strange noises as did one of the bathrooms. These buzzing sounds kept us up for hours during the night.

This hotel is mediocre at best, but in combination with the incompetent staff, I would not recommend it for future stays, at least not a stay that requires anything from the staff.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bon_voyage79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (110)
There are newer reviews for Residence Inn Chico
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

80 - 84 of 110 reviews

Reviewed 6 May 2011

Place was great to stay. Typical Residence Inn with normal RI amenities. Staff was excellent. My group of 5 needed to leave by 5:30 the next morning, but breakfast didn't start until 6:00. They started breakfast early at 5:00 for us! I would stay there again.

  • Stayed: May 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gpd219
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 December 2010

It's the perfect place to take kids.
Mine swam in the outdoor pool til they pruned up.
Spacious comfortable living room area.
Kitchenette adequate to cook a reasonable family dinner.
Lovely large variety of choices in the complimentary breakfast bar.
My one complaint was our nonsmoking room smelled like an ashtray.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sweetmildred
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 November 2010

Stayed here while visiting my college student. Very spacious, clean and comfortable. Like having the kitchen and counter.

Check-in and out was efficient and the front desk staff was pleasant. Enjoyed the nice breakfast buffet as well. Only thing I can think of that would improve is maybe upgrading the soaps etc.

Stayed: November 2010, travelled as a couple
Thank fluffmcgruff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 November 2010

This hotel is ok in terms of cleanliness and service. However the front desk is managed by junior staff who really dose not understand what it means to provide great service. They are polite but clueless as how to solve an issue.

We stayed here because my daughter goes to Chico state. The hotel is very noisy next to freeways. Also inside is quite noisy as the walls and floors are paper thin. You hear everything from all sides and it is so bad that they have a ball of ear plugs at the front desk.

If you want to relax or sleep skip this hotel.

Stayed: November 2010, travelled as a couple
1  Thank kam1SanJose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chico hotels
0.1 km away
Courtyard Chico
Courtyard Chico
#3 of 17 in Chico
146 reviews
1.1 km away
Oxford Suites Chico
5.4 km away
Ramada Plaza Chico
Ramada Plaza Chico
#8 of 17 in Chico
572 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 km away
Quality Inn, Near Chico State
3.5 km away
Hotel Diamond
Hotel Diamond
#2 of 17 in Chico
267 reviews
5.7 km away
Best Western Heritage Inn - Chico
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residence Inn Chico? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn Chico

Address: 2485 Carmichael Dr, Chico, CA 95928-7132
Region: United States > California > Chico
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Chico
#4 Business Hotel in Chico
Price Range: $200 - $275 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn Chico 3*
Number of rooms: 78
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Residence Inn Chico is your home away from home. Situated in Northern California area, our hotel provides easy access to Sierra Nevada Brewery, Bidwell Park and the Chico campus of California State University. Downtown Chico is also nearby, home to a variety of locally owned shopping and dining destinations. Settle down in your suite, where a comfortable bed, complimentary Wi-Fi and fully equipped kitchen await to make your stay a pleasant one. Start your day in Chico with our complimentary breakfast buffet served daily in our lobby, then head to our fitness center, open 24 hours a day, for a brisk workout. Our hotel also features a versatile Sport Court® and outdoor pool for those who prefer to stay active under the sun. Traveling on business? We are conveniently located near large corporations and offer a flexible and well-equipped venue ideal for business meetings and intimate gatherings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with lastminute.com.au, Evoline ltd, Wotif.com, Hotels.com, Expedia APAC, Hooroo Pty Ltd, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Residence Inn Chico reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Inn Chico Hotel Chico
Chico Residence Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing