We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Rustic Paradise”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Chester
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Drakesbad Guest Ranch
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 4 September 2009

No phones, newspapers, Internet; or even electricity in the rooms (kerosene lamps are provided), and a few have bathrooms down the hall. Located at the end of an unpaved road from the town of Chester in northeast California. But luxury of a dusty country sort, with three excellent meals a day included, a small heated pool, ping-pong table, croquet set, volleyball court, and two wonderful generous innkeepers and staff. Drakesbad's isolation within Lassen Volcanic Park makes it a great spot for hiking around and out of the Warner Valley, or riding horses you bring or rent at the adjoining stable. Reservations fill up quickly with families who come back year after year, though the occasional cancellation leaves cabins and rooms available on shorter notice. The Pacific Crest Trail passes less than a mile away, so thousand-mile hikers occasionally drop in for a meal, a shower, laundry, or all of the above. It's easy to see why people return here. (The National Park Service is considering making changes to the facilities and the valley ecology, but none of the proposed alternatives appear likely to have a major effect on the ambience of the place, which the NPS says it wants to retain.)

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank ronks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (94)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

87 - 91 of 94 reviews

Reviewed 29 June 2009

We stayed four nights at this out of the way down a dirt road retreat. The cabins and bungalows do not have electricity (great kerosene lanterns) so put those cell phones and computers away. They are charming wood cabins with fantastic views over the meadow with the deer roaming by. A great hot springs heated pool which we used every night.
The price includes three meals that are very ample and they aim to please. If you don't want something they will substitute something else. As a vegetarian the meals very delicious and varied. the hiking is marvelous and few people are seen on any trail
Come here isfyou want privacy and isolation. Do not come here is you want the comforts of home.

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank abby7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 June 2009

Just spent four nights at Drakesbad with my husband and two teenage children. No electronics, little electricity, and not a complaint all week. Great food, fantastic flora, fauna, and vista, geothermal marvels, including but not capped by a hot spring fed pool that sat at about 94degrees. We hiked, rode, fly fished (1st time), and played games. We even enjoyed a massage. I would go back in a hot minute if I could and I think my electronically connected family would too. Rustic comfort and charming help.

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank jakmalak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 May 2008

This was one of the best vacations we have EVER taken. We went with our two little girls (2 and 4) who LOVE horses. They had a ball feeding the horses carrots, going on pony rides and exploring some of the hiking. The trails are well maintained and easy for little ones as long as you plan to take breaks. They have babysitting available so parents can go for a ride or hike. Guests are friendly and the food is fantastic with great vegetarian options. We will definitely be going back. It is a great place to unplug and spend time with your family.

  • Stayed: August 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank SMPH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 September 2006

My two sons and I stayed at Drakesbad Ranch a couple years ago. It was rustic, but clean and great fun! We hiked to a boiling mud lake, canoed in a pristine pond, went on a horseback ride, swam in the hot spring swimming pool while we watched deer and other animals roaming around the ranch! There were no t.v.'s, radio's or lights in the rooms. We used kerosene lanterns and flashlights! It was great to really just spend time together as a family! I really liked that this was all inclusive! The meals were included and the food was gourmet! I loved the food! Very fresh and flavorful! The staff were wonderful! Lots of different nationalities and very friendly! They even had s'mores for the kids by the BBQ and stories by the fire too! This was one of our more memorable vacations! I would love to go back and take my husband this time! He was unable to go with us last time. Oh, and Lassen is such a cool place to see! It was July and about 98 degrees and they still had a pile of snow and we had a snowball fight! I would definately recommend Drakesbad! I heard about it in the Family Fun magazine originally!

    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Calimom1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Drakesbad Guest Ranch? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Drakesbad Guest Ranch

Address: end of Warner Valley Road, Chester, CA 96020
Region: United States > California > Plumas County > Chester
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Speciality Lodging in Chester
Price Range: $92 - $211 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In 1916 Congress established Lassen Volcanic National Park as the fifteenth national park in the United States. Privately held Drakesbad bordered the park in the southeast corner. The Sifford family continued to run their beloved Guest Ranch as good neighbors of the Park Service each summer for forty-two years. To preserve the Ranch and guarantee continued quality service for generations to come, Drakesbad was sold to the US government in 1958 for inclusion in to Lassen Volcanic National Park. Since that sale there have been three park concessionaires: for the past 36 years Drakesbad has been run by California Guest Services where the emphasis is still on outstanding customer service! All rates include three meals per day and lodging! All accommodations are rustic and quaint, most without electricity. The use of kerosene lamps is a welcome respite from the modern world and adds a distinct and old time ranch feel to your stay. All rooms include a full or half bath and are gas heated. Housekeeping services are provided daily. As a member of the Green Hotels Network, we make every effort to reduce, reuse, and recycle at Drakesbad. General Information Drakesbad Guest Ranch is open (pending weather conditions) June through mid October. The Ranch is closed mid October through to May. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Drakesbad Guest Ranch Hotel Chester

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing