We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely Beautful. One of the Nicest Places I've Ever Stayed.”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Chester
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
North Shore Campground
Reviewed 10 October 2017

I must've called about 100 times with questions because it was our first trip in our newish camper. I probably called so many times it was annoying, but you wouldn't have known if it was. Every single person I spoke to over the phone was polite, friendly, and accommodating. That was the first star.
We did a late check-in and arrived around 930PM. It was so quiet you could hear a pin drop, and even in the dark, the space for the camper was fairly easy to back into.
The neighbors are close to you, but you wouldn't know it. Everyone was so quiet and kept to themselves. It made for a very relaxing and comfortable atmosphere all weekend, and we had our 5 month old baby with us.
There is a small store in the office with some drinks and snacks and foodstuffs and some other various and sundry items. Nothing was ridiculously overpriced, so you didn't feel compelled to leave the campsite to go seek out a gas station or 7-11.
Draining the septic was no problem. We did it twice while we were there and had no problems.
The showers and bathrooms were very nice and clean.
This was one of the most relaxing little weekend getaways I have ever taken. This place is just wonderful. We will be going back next summer and plan to do it more in August to enjoy the lake and swim. It was almost full when we were there though, so I don't expect it to be super crowded or anything. It really is just perfect.
I can't wait to go back.
I sincerely thank the staff for all of their help and just being so friendly. This seems like a very professionally run place, and they deserve every star for the outstanding facility they provide to guests.
<3

Room Tip: Near the water is amazing, especially by the boat slips - really great view of the lake.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank eryntaormina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (35)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 5 of 35 reviews

Reviewed 4 October 2017 via mobile

I had high hopes for this place but I was disappointed for a few reasons. I booked months in advance and ended up with a bad site that felt like we were in a fishbowl. I asked for a different site and what was available was worse. Most are practically on hills and not at all level. Most of the sites are on dirt and so we constantly felt dusty and dirty. I'm not new to camping but this was not enjoyable.

Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank fran g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2016

Our camping site on the edge of Lake Almanor was perfect! Beautiful views, gentle lake sounds soothing us to peaceful sleep and gentle awaked-ness! The only minus' were the sounds of the road/highway and the campers next to us!!
We were glad to find the toilets were not 'pay', only the showers. And, as a Californian, a 4 minute shower is enough:)
The little store at the office has so many things campers' might have forgotten; we were so glad they carried propane and ice:)

Room Tip: Ask for a spot east of the highway
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2016, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kathy K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2016 via mobile

We returned to this campground after not being there for around 8 years. The view of Lake Almanor is still beautiful! We did not have reservations and the staff was helpful and got us a spot. The grounds were maintained very well. Sights were level. We stayed in a fifth wheel.

Stayed: June 2016, travelled solo
Thank mbowcut2002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2016

We were very pleased with the campsite we were moved to. Our arrival on the weekend was not the ideal time to check in, but with the manager's help, we had the best campsite ever. We have a 34 ft RV, and our front yard space went right down to the water's edge. We hope to go to the North Shore Campground again.

Stayed: June 2016
Thank snowflowerlile
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to North Shore Campground? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about North Shore Campground

Address: Highway 36, North Shore of Lake Almanor, Chester, CA 96020
Region: United States > California > Plumas County > Chester
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 Speciality Lodging in Chester
Number of rooms: 136
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the new and improved North Shore Campground, an RV park and campground that is under new ownership! As the new owners, we have worked hard to create a family-friendly environment that is inviting, fun and safe. We welcome you into our home and our campgrounds, it is our pleasure to share this experience with you and create a memorable experience for you and your family during your visit to Northern California. If there’s anything we can do to make this a one-of-a-kind experience for you, please don’t hesitate to talk to us before, during or even after your trip! We want to make everyone feel like they’re at home when they visit North Shore Campgrounds.With over one mile of shoreline on Lake Almanor, North Shore Campgrounds has everything you could imagine and more. Our peaceful and relaxing resort has over one mile of shoreline available with plenty of fun activities ready for your visit. We have worked hard to create a welcoming environment to new and old guests. The park has been carefully designed to complement the natural beauty of these beautiful and serene settings.Clean and modern bathrooms, boat docks and ramp, boat rentals, playground, a high speed Internet access point, and a WiFi hot spot are some of our amenities. We also have guest houses available for rent that offer all the modern conveniences. In addition, you may rent our Coleman popup trailer rental. We are the only private resort on the lake that offers tent and RV sites, as well as cabins. This makes us an excellent choice for your next family reunion, camping trip or any excuse to get away! We are located on the North Shore of Lake Almanor, two miles east of Chester, California, just off Highway 36.Come fish, boat, walk along the shoreline, hunt for crawdads, watch the many species of waterfowl, or just relax and watch the water. If you are looking for a peaceful retreat in a truly spectacular location, visit us at North Shore Campground. Stop by and grab a cup of coffee with us during the morning, we love getting to know our new family. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing