We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (38)
Filter reviews
38 results
Traveller rating
12
18
2
2
4
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
12
18
2
2
4
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
15 - 20 of 38 reviews
Reviewed 25 July 2014 via mobile

This campground would be in a very nice spot if the lake wasn't so low. Not Northshore Campground's fault, but the pictures do not indicate where the water level exactly is. We booked a waterfront site and it is probably 200 yards away. We tried fishing but its impossible with how shallow it is and the bugs were awful.
Check in was smooth, nice staff, well stocked store, clean bathrooms, free hot showers, playground, huge sites, and you don't have to worry about putting everything in bear boxes make this campground very good but our main goal was fishing and it wasn't happening. They were very nice in refunding 2 nights as we packed up and moved on with our trip. Would highly recommend if you don't mind driving elsewhere to get a good fishing spot.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
1  Thank mittyskitty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charles B, Owner at North Shore Campground, responded to this reviewResponded 24 September 2014

Thank you for submitting your review. I am sure the water levels will be better next year. Feel free to call us ahead of time for shore levels and fishing information. We would be happy to help in any way we can. Hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2014

Our family just returned from wonderful two days at Lake Almanor. The kids (Ages 3 and 5) loved swimming, exploring the area and spending time at the play ground. We walked along the lake many times and found water snails and crab parts. We bird watched and star gazed. I loved the lending library and the well stocked general store. In the future as the kids grow we will retrun and explore the area even more. We may someday climb nearby Mt. Lassen,

Room Tip: Don't forget to bring bug spray.
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank danamanila
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charles B, Owner at North Shore Campground, responded to this reviewResponded 24 September 2014

Thank you for the great review. Come back and see us soon, we love the idea of the kids making it a tradition. Let us know if you need anything.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2014 via mobile

Camp ground itself is very nice. Showers, flush toilets, boat dock and trash service.

It's my understanding the lake is currently fairly low. We drove our boat through quite a bit of weeds to get out to safe (deep) clean water. Even when the water level is higher there are still dangerous sand bars on the north side which aren't too far under water.

Bathroom dirtied quickly and was completely out of TP for several hours on Friday night.

Campsites are nice. Regular trash pick up. All that we seen had table and fire ring also.

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank TheMacks11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charles B, Owner at North Shore Campground, responded to this reviewResponded 24 September 2014

Thank you for giving us such a great review. Sorry about the TP, not sure what happened, but we will be sure to check more often on Friday nights. We hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2014

We rented an RV and a tent spot in June. The campground is very clean but very dusty. The staff was friendly. They have free showers and flush toilets that are cleaned daily. Every site is walking distance to the lake. The closest town is a very short drive away if supplies are needed. Dogs must be on a leash or there is a $100 fine. They have hookups for water and electricity and they will come to the site to pump sewage for a very small fee. I would plan to go again. Overall it was a bit pricey but the quality was worth the price.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Forgiven81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charles B, Owner at North Shore Campground, responded to this reviewResponded 24 September 2014

Thank you for such a wonderful review. Our staff works very hard and it's great to get such positive feedback. We hope to see you soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 June 2014

We only spent one night here, but we will make a point to try to return. The campground is a beautiful, heavily wooded location right on the pretty Lake Almandor. We asked for and received a level campsite although not all of them were. The new owners seemed willing to go above and beyond to make sure we were happy. And oh, those pines and cedars smelled so good....

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JCaproon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charles B, Owner at North Shore Campground, responded to this reviewResponded 24 September 2014

Thank you for posting such a stunning review. We would be happy to have you come back, we can save a level spot for you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews