We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (723)
Filter reviews
723 results
Traveller rating
430
225
54
9
5
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
430
225
54
9
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviews french polynesia polynesian culture large bungalow lagoon view beautiful property water shoes authentic experience fish black pearls modern amenities spent two nights non touristy nice pool mini fridge outrigger canoe grocery store lunch and dinner
Filter
Updating list...
66 - 71 of 723 reviews
Reviewed 6 April 2015

This place is amazing! The photos do not do justice; the landscaping is incredible as in the room interior. During our stay the staff provided a personal and friendly experience. They were more than happy to offer any ideas and suggestions on activities and things to see.
In general Huahine is a breathtaking, true Polynesian experience... We were extremely sad to leave! We definitely recommend seeing the island by car and boat to make the most out of it.

Room Tip: You can't go wrong
  • Stayed: April 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank Cameron G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 March 2015

This hotel is boutique-like with thatched roof (air condiditoned) bungalows along a walk through a beautiful tropical garden. The units are huge and the bathroom is ultra modern (there were flowers scattered about when we arrived) with a super sink and a huge walk-in rain-shower. The hotel is minutes from the airport and the authentic Polynesian town of Faire (walk along the beach to Faire, but try to arrange in advance for airport transfers (perhaps from your travel agent or the hotel) as transportation to and from the airportt is very expensive.) The restuarant and lobby are high-end Polynesian in style and the pool, though small, is an infinity pool on the ocean side from which you can watch spectacular southseas sunsets. Someone commented that the white beach was just a "sliver" but in our opinion it is a really fine sliver, extending all the way to the town and framed by majestic peaks that look like "Bali Hi" in the movie South Pacific. The staff is great (though probably due in part to a small language barrier they sometimes arrange only the tours they want you to have.) They are always polite and attentive, however, in the manner in which we soon learned was typical of French Polynesians. This hotel, its food and restaurant not only met our expectations, it exceeded them!

Room Tip: Would stay away from bungalow 310 unless you want complete privacy as it is located at the far end of the compound from the lobby, pool, beach and restaurant. You have to plan carefully as even though the gardens are lovely, you want to avoid too many walks back and forth in the heat.
  • Stayed: March 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank VAtraveller_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 March 2015

Selected Maitai Lapita village as our top-end venue during visit to French Polynesia with 4 nights Moorea, 3 in Huahine and 3 in Papeete, Tahiti. Picked it as close to Fare village (max. 10 minutes walk along the beach) which offered local eating and drinking options as well as a glimpse of normal island life. Imaginatively designed compound around a freshwater lake with beautifully maintained garden. Bungalows capacious, thatched in local materials and designed to mimic outrigger canoe huts and blend into the surroundings. Nice beach, pier and pool area by restaurant with great views out towards Ra'iatea, Taha'a and Bora Bora on clear days. Free use of kayaks. Hotel staff very friendly and helpful (e.g. in organising SCUBA diving trip, helping with car hire (Europa car just round the corner), late check-out, etc.) Very good quality food in the restaurant with option to walk into Fare for something different at less than half the price, for a change. Happy hour and food at nearest bar/restaurant along the beach in Fare an excellent option, particularly on a Friday evening when the place really hops! Everyone out for a good time. Also roulottes in Fare offer some great snacks - banana crepes, fresh coconuts, etc.

The only downside was the exhorbitant charge for transfers to and from the airport approx. 2.5 km from the hotel. As the hotel said "We are a small island with maximum 5 flights per day, so there is no taxi at the airport waiting for clients. You have to plan your transfer before." And the only option (apart from walking)? For each couple the transfer to and from the airport costs CFP 5170 (CFP 2585 each) or ~Euros 44. This was in a bus with 10 other guests staying at the same hotel. The transfer from Huahine airport to Maitai Lapita was eked out by driving the pick-up bus very slowly so that the 2.5 km journey took 7 minutes. Great monopoly if you have it, at about Euros 50 per kilometre for the hotel bus we shared with 10 other guests from Maitai Lapita each way. Makes London and Paris taxis look good value! Note that much cheaper accommodation options offered free transfers. Surprising that a top-end venue takes the mickey in this way. Rather disappointing given hotel price. However, a lovely place to stay on a lovely island - our favourite island among Moorea, Tahiti and Huahine.

  • Stayed: November 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alasdair E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 March 2015

The hotel is very well located, just 10 min from the airport without the inconvenience of the airport noises.
The staff is friendly and extremely helpful.
The room service menu offers a lot of choice, but is only available till 9pm. Breakfast is nice too, careful though, we had the impression that if you go past 8:30 the buffet isnt fully refilled.
The view from the restaurant and pool right next to it is absolutely breathtaking. And you can walk from the beach to the main street easily.
I would definitely go back.

Room Tip: Try the bungalow premium lake.
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bevygz987
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 February 2015

My wife and I just spent several days at this hotel and were so pleased with the overall experience. The hotel personnel were so friendly and helpful in providing us information about what to see and do on this peaceful little island. The food and accommodations were beyond our expectations. The rooms were very appealing and had great bath and shower facilities. It was private yet still very open to the beautiful environment surrounding our bungalow. We would never have known of this place except for the help provided us by Custom Tahiti Travel. Each transfer was perfectly executed with no difficulty even though we had never been to this area before. We recommend this hotel for a peaceful and relaxing respite to the hustle and bustle of everyday life.

Stayed: January 2015, travelled as a couple
Thank baldwins27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews