We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Terrible
3 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8
Carnelian Bay, Lake Tahoe (California), California

Reviews from our community

Terrible - based on 3 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Date-beet...
2 reviews
“You've been warned”
Reviewed 21 July 2017 for a stay in July 2017

My sister and I stayed here with our kids and it was filthy. The carpet was awful and the bed sheets and blankets smelled like someone else's perfume. There was a sign on the washer and dryer that said "out of order". We were definitely hoping to be able to wash clothes during our almost week stay. There wasn't a grill outside as pictured. The password for the internet was incorrect so we couldn't use it. The first morning my sister woke up to a man standing on the balcony looking into the room through the slider! Then there were two men on a ladder scraping old paint off the balcony. It was loud and obnoxious and nobody had warned us that there would be work done that day. We called to complain and the guy from Vacasa said he would call us back and never did. We have stayed in Carnelian Woods before and we love it but this particular condo is almost inhabitable, you'd be better off camping.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxnard, California
Reviewed 17 July 2017 for a stay in July 2017

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
abcdebeat...
abcdebeatty
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“In desperate need of upgrades & owner needs to remove personal contents”
Reviewed 19 April 2017 for a stay in April 2017

Unit #108 at Carnelian Woods
Date stayed: 3/3/17 - 4/6/17
Reason for stay: Family ski vacation (3 adults, 3 teenagers). Chose this place for the ability to wash clothes (in order to pack light), to soak in the hot tub after a day of skiing & be able to cook in for the family.

Pros: Good location to lake & mountain ski areas. Plenty of sleeping space.

Cons:
• Old, uncomfortable beds (wires poking backs) & well used covers (don't know when those were last washed).
• Stained/Dirty carpets, especially the living room.
• Under furniture was not vacuumed (recent chemical treatment for pests left dead bugs along walls & under furniture that was not properly vacuumed).
• Unusable appliances because of breaking down due to age or just too old to work properly. (clothes washer & dish washer) (note that fridge & microwave were newer)
• Owner contents in every closet, cabinet and several dresser drawers.
• Bathroom cabinets loaded with opened/used personal care items including otc meds.
• Loft "TV" had no regular programming available, only DVD player (advertised at an extra place for kids to watch TV. Also, main TV programming selection was terrible.)
• No gas available for grill & no wood available to help heat condo. (advertised as usable)
• Noisy heating system buzzed/screeched & did not heat to comfortable level (topped at 65 degrees).
• Club house/hot tub unavailable after 4pm except for Friday/Saturday. (Different times than noted in advertisement)

Major upgrades/updates would make this a good place to stay. The community club house should not be advertised as a benefit for the winter months since it is closes so early.

NOTE: Vacasa was our booking company. They tried to help as best as they could and even offered a partial refund due to the condition of this unit. I truly hope they require updates or do not offer rentals at this location. This review is not a reflection of Vacasa, but a reflection of the condo & the community club house.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing