We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (116)
Filter reviews
116 results
Traveller rating
53
43
8
5
7
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
53
43
8
5
7
Show reviews that mention
All reviews homemade granola rooms are clean reception area horse stables busy weekend wine tasting spread out great meal two nights road noise carmel area get away saloon wedding lodge laurels gene
Filter
Updating list...
18 - 23 of 116 reviews
Reviewed 24 November 2016 via mobile

This restaurant has acquired an amazing chef, Brian Christensen. All of his plates are full of great flavor and high quality meats. We can taste the passion in this menu. We have all different life diets He was able to satisfy all different needs Very happy with the service, the bar is very local and cheerful. We always enjoy the history here and the great food.

Stayed: November 2016, travelled with family
Thank Tonya M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 November 2016

We stayed here while in town for a wedding, and had a very nice visit. The room was decent sized, the bed comfortable, and we appreciated having a refrigerator in the room. There were only real annoyance was that the heater did not have a thermostat, so when we turned it on low before going to bed, we woke up in the middle of night sweating and had to get up and turn the heat off. But the room was very clean and the staff was very friendly, so we'll probably be back. Breakfast was included with the room and was basic, but tasty.

  • Stayed: October 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank NE_AK_CA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 October 2016 via mobile

Stayed three days for a wedding. Room was rustic but adequate. Restaurant food was excellent. Saloon is comfortable. Wedding venue under the 14th century oak tree was incredible. Wedding reception was excellent

Stayed: October 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank Mark B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2016

The food was very, very good, the service friendly, we came early, but the restaurant filled very quickly. it seemed like many people there were repeat customers. The ambiance is charming, little old antiques on the walls, country style. There was plenty of outdoor seating which must be very enjoyable in warmer weather. Will come here again.

Stayed: May 2016
Thank Elena A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 May 2016

We came here first on honeymoon in 1999, then again in 2009 and again with our two children last month. This is a unique place for us. Its so vastly different from the uniform corporate global hotel chains and so much better. Its an historic place with accommodation spread across the grounds in tidy neat chalets, We had the Vanderbilt "room" ( room 5 ) which was in fact a house. We had a large bedroom, a large sitting room with sofa bed, a separate kitchen and large bathroom. Across in the main building is the restaurant and wonderfully historic bar area. There is a neat pool out front if required. Breakfast is in the main reception area complete with open fire and this was buffet style with fruit, cereals and tea / coffee. This is a beautiful original place. Worth travelling 6000 miles to get to. We hope it never changes.

  • Stayed: April 2016, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ome P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews