We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (990)
Filter reviews
990 results
Traveller rating
601
236
95
33
25
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
601
236
95
33
25
Show reviews that mention
All reviews champagne breakfast cookies and milk free shuttle evening wine tasting shuttle service waffle station no elevator beautiful hotel ocean view garden room two blocks breakfast was amazing beautiful grounds the hotel offers luxury hotel rooms are small turn down service
Filter
Updating list...
6 - 11 of 990 reviews
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

After a busy few days in SF this is just what we needed. This hotel is lovely, very relaxing. We found the staff very helpful especially on arrival when we didn't know what to do with our car but not to worry they have a car park just around the corner. Our room was everything we'd hoped for plus an ocean view. We loved breakfast each morning, this was set out with options to use the buffet or there was a chef was on duty to make you eggs or waffles. Fizz was also available which is a nice touch.
All in we would love to return to Carmel again and we would definitely look no further than this hotel.

Room Tip: Ocean view is a must
  • Stayed: September 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Karen H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Previous reviews always intrigue me. No this hotel does not have very much parking but it does have a pull up area in front to drop off bags and they do have valet service. Once you have dropped off your bags there is a small car park but on street parking is very easy. Reception works perfectly well with charming helpful staff.

It is a very good spot to walk into town but has a shuttle service to get you back from the restaurants. We were held up one evening but well........

We had a fabulous ocean view room, clean and very well equipped. Nice pool and lovely grounds with places to sit and enjoy the ambiance.

They offer sangria, wine tasting, nibbles, all day cold drinks and a superb breakfast buffet in real US style all within the resort fee which does justify it.

We thought it was a fantastic luxury stop in a first class resort. If ever in Carmel again it would be an easy choice where to stay.

Stayed: September 2018, travelled as a couple
1  Thank JohnandCarolineUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Charming old hotel with lots of character. Great bar and breakfast lounge and balcony. Horrible reception to hotel as no hotel parking near check in, no valet, no baggage assistance and no apologies from hotel staff. There are a few spots for unloading however they seemed to be occupied by select guests that felt entitled to stay and use it as a permanent parking spot with no monitoring or movement by hotel reception. The bar and staff were wonderful. The breakfast delicious and full service though short of seating for guests so a long wait to sit down. The bathrooms were subpar being ridiculously tiny and dated. In room coffe only had powdered creamer. No room service or restaurant on site so will need to walk up hill to restaurants and coffee shops. There is a $100 resort fee though not sure what that could be for as the pool is dated and tiny and not much else to consider a “resort”. All in all not worth the $1,000 / night price tag considering the lack of luxury accommodations.

Stayed: September 2018, travelled as a couple
1  Thank birch6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 September 2018 via mobile

Stayed at La Playa Carmel for 3 nights. Keeping this short, the pros and cons are:

Pros:
* Buffet breakfast (delicious made to order omelettes with all the fillings you could want, and made to order waffles with all the toppings you could want) +++
* Staff (especially the front desk) are very helpful and friendly, advising on places to eat to road closures +++
* Clean, quiet and comfortable room ++
* Good location +
* Beautiful hotel in terms of grounds and interior
* Cookies in the evening, and ice tea and lemonade in the afternoons.

Cons:
* The WiFi is super flakey, which is a shame as it lets the hotel's score down! Had to ask the staff to reboot the connection several times - though no fault of their own to be fair. --
* Parking lot is small, but roadside parking is available in the area, so not a huge problem to be fair

Overall, very comfy. I'd stay here again.

Stayed: September 2018, travelled as a couple
1  Thank RoundCat_2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2018

This is a very unusual place with no street numbers, pavements or street lamps so would be hard to find if you arrived at night! Ladies need a high heel permit to wear heels out in town (really) but thanks to Clint Eastwood's spell as mayor you can now safely eat ice cream in the street without being arrested! Great free shuttle into town which was lovely and full of interesting boutique shops, loved the art gallery and cowboy one particularly. The man doing the wine tasting didn't seem very comfortable talking to people and was keen to pack away dead in time! Easy walk to the beautiful beach. Thank you for the lovely bottle of wine for our special anniversary. Room was small. Breakfast buffet was an interesting mix but the fresh cooked to order omelette or waffles were good. As a fruit tea drinker the orange spice tea was highly perfumed.., a bit like licking one of those Christmas dried orange and cinnamon decorations, I imagine anyway. Pool looked pretty but didn't try it as was a bit drizzly.

  • Stayed: August 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Miss_Adventure09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews