We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Excellent place for pricey Carmel” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Homestead Inn

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Carmel
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Homestead Inn
Ranked #22 of 25 Hotels in Carmel
Fremont, California
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Excellent place for pricey Carmel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 November 2011

First of all THE PHOTO ABOVE IS NOT OF THIS PROPERTY. The Homestead Inn in Carmel, CA, looks NOTHING like that photo of a big white house with long drive. To see what it really looks like, I suggest you go to their website at 'homesteadcarmel dot com'. (I have a month ago told tripadvisor that the photo is wrong but it is still there. So that's why I put that statement there.)

My mother stayed at The Homestead in Carmel, and I was able to see the room that day. She had the two-queen-bed size room which had been remodeled. Very, very nice inside. Yes, the bathroom was a bit small, but very nicely decorated. It's in a quiet part of Carmel, and the property itself is quiet. The mood of the place sort of attracts more quiet people anyway, I think. Not a party place, just a very comfortable, well-kept property to be cozy in after walking around enchanting Carmel.

I have made a reservation for one of the 'Rustic' rooms, and can hardly wait to experience it myself. The price is fantastic, and I have confidence that it will be a wonderful stay.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank sag-actress
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

71 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    37
    29
    3
    1
    1
See reviews for
16
45
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Harbor Springs, Michigan, USA
Level Contributor
42 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 October 2011

We enjoyed our stay at this hotel. The room was nicely decorated. Large bathroom and great location. Only con was lack of air conditioning. This required open windows which was not preferable when you have noisy neighbors. The rooms are close together and our neighbor would start yelling into his phone at 6:00 am. Needless to say we could hear the whole conversation. Such close quarters require closed window which means the rooms should have AC. It was in the 80's during our visit.

  • Stayed October 2011
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bdl3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mill valley, ca
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 June 2009

Romantic, good location, very clean. I recommend it.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank marinstay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clovis,Ca
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2008

We stayed in the Homestead Inn for 2 nights last week. We had room #51, it was a good size for a couple,although the bathroom is a bit small. We enjoyed the scenery as well as the outside fireplace, although we wished it was lit longer in the evening. The area was quiet and peaceful. It was close or within walking distance to everywhere, especially the ocean. We will definetely stay here again soon.

  • Stayed May 2008, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
8 Thank CEdgecomb77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
san francisco
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 June 2006

Just got back from Carmel, and spent 2 comfortable nights there. I stayed in Rm 52, the largest of the accomodations this B&B offers.
Pluses: bed's pretty firm yet soft, the leather rocking chairs in the sitting area, the gas fireplace in the room, the outdoor fireplace (lit by request until 8 p.m.) outside the door, a few blocks from downtown Carmel
Minuses: bathroom's on the smallish side, B&B is hard to find (we initially found Carmel hard to navigate because we didn't realize all the street names are posted on the stop signs), continental breakfast served at the Mission Ranch tennis club about a mile away, curbside parking (a minor minus for us), rec room full of free weights and exercise machines at the Mission Ranch tennis club
Plus or Minus depending on point of view: the staff leaves at 8 p.m.
Thought I would post this since I couldn't find anything about this B&B when I was researching it.

Helpful?
21 Thank sflil2006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Carmel hotels
0.2 km away
Coachman's Inn, A Four Sisters Inn
0.3 km away
Pine Inn
Pine Inn
#21 of 25 in Carmel
4.0 of 5 bubbles 555 reviews
0.2 km away
Wayside Inn
Wayside Inn
#18 of 25 in Carmel
4.5 of 5 bubbles 254 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 km away
La Playa Carmel
La Playa Carmel
#5 of 25 in Carmel
4.5 of 5 bubbles 758 reviews
0.2 km away
L'Auberge Carmel
L'Auberge Carmel
#16 of 25 in Carmel
4.5 of 5 bubbles 317 reviews
0.5 km away
BEST WESTERN Carmel's Town House Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Homestead Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Homestead Inn

Property: Homestead Inn
Address: 8th & Lincoln, Carmel, CA 93921
Region: United States > California > Monterey County > Carmel
Amenities:
Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 25 Hotels in Carmel
Number of rooms: 12

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing