We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent meal in long-standing small restaurant”
Review of Flying Fish Grill

Flying Fish Grill
Ranked #1 of 159 Restaurants in Carmel
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: USD 31 - USD 40
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Reservations
baltimore
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Excellent meal in long-standing small restaurant”
Reviewed 23 February 2012

A superb choice for an excellent seafood-based dinner in small (16 tables) well-established family owned and operated restaurant. A very good wine list accompanies generous very fresh fish dishes. Four of us ordered different choices and all were very good. Both food and wine seem well-priced and there was no annoying background music which is all too common in today's restaurant scene.

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank aidster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

766 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    553
    137
    50
    15
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Carmel, California
Level Contributor
101 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“Delicious fish with an Asian flare”
Reviewed 1 February 2012

This restaurant has been in Carmel, CA for many years due to their very tasty food. It is all done with Asian sauces and techniques, but it is not a Chinese restaurant by any means. I think it would be considered in the Japanese category. For me the food is good enough that we go there to celebrate a special occasion. Although there is chicken on the menu, I would only recommend this restaurant to those who enjoy fish. It is all extremely fresh tasting.
The staff is very attentive and friendly.

  • Visited January 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Zoelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coeur D Alene
Level Contributor
149 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Simply Perfect”
Reviewed 30 January 2012

Redwood and mirrors belie this small restaurant seating about 45 diners. Service is professional and gracious. The menu reflect the sea and abundant produce from the Carmel/Salinas area. Asian fusion is the key to fresh preparation and presentation. Starting with wonton chips with Asian salsa and menu with the freshest ingredients and a solid wine, beer and sake inventory, you can't go wrong. My favorite is the fish clay pot on a heated element in the center of the table. Chock full of vegetables, clams and mussells in a lovely broth, dinners cook their own shrimp, salmon, halibut and calimari, making a mix to suite with rice noodle and delicious dipping sauses. Not to be missed.

  • Visited January 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank cdafloathouse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Topeka, Kansas
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Owner's attention to service and experience made this the best”
Reviewed 29 January 2012

My wife and I spent our last night in CA at Vagabond Inn and they recommended the flying fish. I'm glad they did since it turned out to be the most personalized friendly service courtesy of the owner himself. Some may say it is a bit small but it helps the atmosphere which of all of the places we ate was the best too. Food was on par with the Galley in Morro Bay. Watch the sunset on the beach and then eat dinner at the flying fish. That's a pretty good evening.

  • Visited January 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank chad o
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Monterey, California
Level Contributor
95 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Good, but why the hype?”
Reviewed 27 January 2012

This place is very small. I came here, because everyone raves that it's the best. OK, the almond encrusted halibut was really good, I will give them that. The salmon was good, but nothing to rave about. Very expensive place to eat, too. We might come back, but I don't get how people say this place is the best. I've had better.

Helpful?
Thank Foodiewife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Flying Fish Grill also viewed

Carmel, Monterey County
Carmel, Monterey County
 
Carmel, Monterey County
Carmel, Monterey County
 
Carmel, Monterey County
 

Been to Flying Fish Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing