We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
USD 293
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
USD 498
USD 384
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Normandy Inn(Carmel)(Great Value!)
USD 366
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Carmel Bay View Inn(Carmel)(Great Value!)
USD 428
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Carmel Green Lantern Inn(Carmel)(Great Value!)
USD 506
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
USD 287
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
USD 271
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
USD 346
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
USD 249
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
USD 1,142
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (803)
Filter reviews
803 results
Traveller rating
389
254
103
35
22
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
389
254
103
35
22
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbeach chairscontinental breakfastwalk into townbeautiful groundshear the wavespastriesocean viewgas fireplacecookiesshort walk to the beachquicheour honeymoonperfect locationhard boiled eggscarmel by the seadowntown carmelmile drive
Filter
Updating list...
23 - 28 of 803 reviews
Reviewed 1 April 2018

The property is in a wonderful location and the property is beautiful. Rooms are older and need some updating. Overall good for a quick trip. We enjoyed the close proximity to the beach along with the quietness of the neighborhood.

  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank djc245
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ColonialTerrace, General Manager at The Colonial Terrace, responded to this reviewResponded 12 April 2018

Dear djc245: We are so glad you enjoyed your visit with us and we appreciate your feedback. Thank you for choosing the Colonial Terrace as your destination while visiting Carmel. We look forward to your next visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 March 2018

The office/lobby is nice but the room was a disappointment. I understand this is suppose to be a quaint cottage like property but there's a lot of room for improvements.
This room looked nothing like the photos represented. This place was very small and not very polished. There is no room to put luggage on the luggage stands. Clean? Somewhat. The bed was well used and not comfortable. For those of us charging multiple devices electrical outlets were minimal to say the least. The fireplace was really unusable and not practical. Luckily there was no one in the room beside us or this would have been doubly bad. I wanted to like my stay in Carmel but it wasn't what I wish it would have been.

Room Tip: Investigate room options.
Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
2  Thank fishonthefly93312
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ColonialTerrace, General Manager at The Colonial Terrace, responded to this reviewResponded 17 March 2018

Dear fishonthefly93312: I am very sorry to hear that your recent stay with us was less than memorable. We are better than what you experienced, and I am very sorry that we let you down. I would welcome the opportunity to speak with you directly in an effort to earn back your trust and loyalty. If you are willing, please contact me directly at 831.624.2741. Thank you in advance for your consideration. Amber Cyran, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 March 2018

Nice place in residential setting and close to the beach.so glad we chose this location. The town of Carmel was great. Pebble beach and 17 mile drive was amazing withe views of the ocean. Must visit for golf fans.

  • Stayed: February 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Joe D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ColonialTerrace, General Manager at The Colonial Terrace, responded to this reviewResponded 17 March 2018

Dear Joe D.: We are so glad you enjoyed the hotel’s location and were able to enjoy your time in Carmel. Thank you again for staying with us and we look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 March 2018

We where looking for a comfortable and quiet place for a few days break in Carmel. It was perfect and a fantastic location. Would highly recommend. We also loved the breakfast, simple but fresh and perfect.

  • Stayed: February 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank pontingthomas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ColonialTerrace, General Manager at The Colonial Terrace, responded to this reviewResponded 17 March 2018

Dear pontingthomas: Thank you for providing feedback about your recent stay with us. We are very happy you found the Colonial Terrace to be comfortable and quiet for your much-needed break. I hope the next time your travels bring you to the Carmel area, you will once again choose to stay with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 February 2018 via mobile

The weather was chilly during our stay. We would loved to have enjoyed the garden seating. The hotel is a block up from the beach - great for watching the sunset. Make time for a walk through the neighbourhood!

We drive to town as my Mum has a bad knee but it would be an easy walk. The staff were very welcoming and most helpful with pricing maps & ideas for our excursions.

We stayed in the courtyard king room. No problem with parking. We could hear the guests above, but it did not disturb us. The room was a good size. Quaint hotel. I would recommend.

Stayed: February 2018, travelled with family
1  Thank Patricia S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ColonialTerrace, General Manager at The Colonial Terrace, responded to this reviewResponded 17 March 2018

Dear Patricia S.: Thank you for taking the time to write such a kind review on your recent stay with us at the Colonial Terrace. We are so pleased to hear you enjoyed the sunsets and gardens. We also appreciate your very nice words about our staff. We are looking forward to seeing you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews