We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The best of Carmel!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Carmel Village Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Carmel Village Inn
Ranked #23 of 25 Hotels in Carmel
California
1 review
“The best of Carmel!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 February 2012

This Inn is my absolute favorite place to stay in California. The location is amazing, the breakfast is tasty and satisfactory and the rooms are always clean.

I stay here whenever I am in town and can afford it and have never regreted it.

The bed alone is worth the price as it is like sleeping on a cloud.

They also offer a huge selection of cable TV channels.

They have multiple wifi points throughout the inn which means the signal is always strong and we found the internet connection very fast.

I WILL stay here again and recommend you do so yourself!

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jeff-bkpk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

389 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    73
    160
    98
    31
    27
See reviews for
46
232
13
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
san francisco, CA
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 January 2012

We stayed in the heart of downtown Carmel for a winter getaway. The rooms were pretty basic motel style rooms with a hefty price tag. All I can say is that we paid for the location location location! Everything was walkable and super close. Check out cafe demetra for a romantic n fun dinner. Also checked out a burger joint up the street for super burgers n crab cakes. We just chilled, walked around and shopped at the really nice mall down the street. Tons of really delicious cafes with coffee and pastries what Carmel is known for! def a great place for a getaway! Also the inn provided a great complimentary breakfast which consisted of eggs, Danishes, fruit, bagels etc!

  • Stayed January 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank meenasf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St Kilda
Level Contributor
3 reviews
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 January 2012

I stayed here for 4 nights with my mum in November. The room was fine and the location was perfect. The breakfast was ok for one night but became very boring after that. There was no variation. It was the same bland food each morning. We checked in after a huge day travelling on the amtrak. The person who checked us in had no personality. She was just doing her job and thats it. No smile at all. At breakfast each morning I felt like an unwanted guest. The girl at the desk did not smile once and it seemed painful for her to even say good morning. I would not stay here again because I did not feel welcome for the whole stay. The room and location was great.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jlbr80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Carmel hotels

Liverpool
Level Contributor
65 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 January 2012

This little gem is perfect for the price and the location is excellent. We stayed 2 nights on our trip up the coast to San Fran. Recommend it.

Room Tip: We chose a ground floor. Little bit of noise but nothing to disturb sleep.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Dawntcbn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Modesto, California
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 January 2012

There isn't enough parking. We had to park on the street, two out of the three nights we stayed. Also they don't have Fox news, I enjoy staying current with the news, and all they had was CNN and MSNBC, neither which I will watch. The bathrooms are out of date, but if staying just one or two days it shouldn't matter. They do a modified hot breakfast, which was good. The employee's are very polite, and do seem to care about their guests. We needed to rent a portable bed for one night for my daughter, not a good idea. It was a very old and thin mattress and all you can feel are the springs, for $15.00 a night it wasn't worth it. Downtown Carmel by the Sea is an easy walk, the beach is a little farther but not a real difficult walk just a little down and up hill walking back.

Room Tip: The best time to stay would be non holidays, so you can find parking.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank dc5699
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Carmel hotels
0.1 km away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Carmel Bay View Inn
0.4 km away
Pine Inn
Pine Inn
#21 of 25 in Carmel
4.0 of 5 bubbles 560 reviews
2.0 km away
Carmel Mission Inn
Carmel Mission Inn
#8 of 25 in Carmel
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,603 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 km away
Carmel River Inn
Carmel River Inn
#7 of 25 in Carmel
4.0 of 5 bubbles 593 reviews
0.2 km away
Carmel Inn & Suites
Carmel Inn & Suites
#25 of 25 in Carmel
3.0 of 5 bubbles 134 reviews
0.4 km away
Hofsas House Hotel
Hofsas House Hotel
#20 of 25 in Carmel
4.0 of 5 bubbles 379 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Carmel Village Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Carmel Village Inn

Property: Carmel Village Inn
Address: Ocean Avenue and Junipero Street, PO Box 5275, Carmel, CA 93921
Region: United States > California > Monterey County > Carmel
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 25 Hotels in Carmel
Price range (per night): $121 - $373
Hotel Class:2 star — Carmel Village Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 53
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo and lastminute.com.au so you can book your Carmel Village Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Carmel Village Hotel Carmel
Carmel Village Motel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing