We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,364)
Filter reviews
1,364 results
Traveller rating
656
342
179
109
78
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
656
342
179
109
78
Show reviews that mention
All reviews california market time share pacific edge ocean view wood burning fireplace vacation club big sur sunset lounge point lobos carmel highlands full kitchen main building two story views are spectacular road noise spa tub living room
Filter
Updating list...
177 - 182 of 1,364 reviews
Reviewed 2 April 2018 via mobile

As a Hyatt lover I always try and stay at their properties. This did not disappoint! It sits on an amazing property that overlooks a huge chunk of the ocean. It’s breathtaking! One of the benchmarks for me when staying somewhere is your first encounter. It can be valet, a doorman, or front desk but they set the tone. Travis, the valet, greeted with enthusiasm and spirit like he really was happy we were there. That set the tone for a great three days! Watching whales go by, fire in the fireplace, and just relaxing at sunset. We will be back.

Stayed: April 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank bballwey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HyattHighlands, Manager at Hyatt Residence Club Carmel, Highlands Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 8 April 2018

Thank you for the nice review! It's great to hear you had a warm greeting from Travis and we're glad you enjoyed your visit! We look forward to seeing you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2018

As a residence club it offers a bit more of a Club/ member experience which is warming and real. The staff are locals so they really know what to do to get the most from the area. Rooms with the fireplace are so romantic and also keep you warm and cozy as the evening fog comes rolling in to the shore. Ocean views are a must.

Room Tip: Get a room with a great outdoor deck like room 516
  • Stayed: April 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Julia M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HyattHighlands, Manager at Hyatt Residence Club Carmel, Highlands Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 8 April 2018

We appreciate you sharing your experience and are glad you had a great stay with us! We hope to welcome you again, thank you for the review!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2018 via mobile

Nice hotel with views of the pacefic Ocean live music on the lobby nice food swimming pools jacuzzi in suits easy to light up the fireplace easy check in a little bit hard to find our room because we have to drive to the room but we found it .

Stayed: April 2018, travelled with family
Thank Aldafri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HyattHighlands, Manager at Hyatt Residence Club Carmel, Highlands Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 8 April 2018

It's so nice to hear you enjoyed live music in the Sunset Lounge and the fireplace in your room! We hope to welcome you back sometime, thank you for the review!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 March 2018 via mobile

My husband and I wanted a quick by the ocean get away. We like national parks lodges and the rustic look of this property, combined with the amazing last minute price ($350 for king ocean view direct on their website) seemed like a great fit. What was great. 1) the view. At dinner, from the lobby, for breakfast on the heater outdoor balcony. And of course the huge unobstructed terrace as part of our room. 2) the staff. Very friendly, encouraging me to walk around and see the wedding venue. We are not residence club members yet the concierge was giving every one a gift bag and restaurant discount. 3) food. We ate both dinner and breakfast. My husbands salmon was perfect and their take on bouillabaisse was flavorful. 4) there be whales here! Being from New England, I had no idea whales just swam by here. I watched from our terrace with the binoculars provided in the room. 5) sitting in the terrace at night, covered in the beautiful camp-style wool blanket, seeing the stars. Not so great. 1) our room smelled like smoke the entire time. We thought it was just wet wood so we started a fire and that just made it worse. Our clothes and hair smelt the next day. 2) we totally lucked out-from looking around, there is a GREAT variance in quality of view depending on the floor and building. 3) this is not a category 7. It reminded me of the Yosemite lodges (not the Ahwahnee, the less expensive motel like one) that we stayed in but with a really nice bath room and HVAC. 4) not a big deal but they had just closed the gift shop permanently. So we couldn’t get a small snack, or a hat for my husband who forgot his. When you can’t walk to a town, you need a small gift shop.
However, I would definitely recommend this place to people if they get rooms on along the same level as 515.

Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
2  Thank MTKPC91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HyattHighlands, Manager at Hyatt Residence Club Carmel, Highlands Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 24 March 2018

We're happy you chose to stay with us for a quick getaway and had a great room and friendly service from our staff! We value your feedback as we look into all of our reviews to see where we can improve our guests experience and we appreciate your candor. Thank you for sharing your review, we hope to welcome you back sometime!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 March 2018 via mobile

We just stayed at Hyatt Highlands Inn for a quick overnight trip. The room was well appointed and we enjoyed the property. The grounds are well manicured and the property has excellent views.

We ate at the restaurant multiple times and ordered drinks and wine from their bar. The staff was excellent and the food and drinks were on point.

We also had a in-room massages and it was worth the cost.

We are World of Hyatt members (Discoverist) as of last year and plan to start using Hyatt for all our travel based off some experiences at other properties. I want to give this property 5 starts but this morning when the bathtub had an issue with sediment or waste bubbling up from the drain (potentially a septic issue, see image) we didn’t receive prompt assistance or a solution for a fix. The front desk said they’d find a room for us to shower in and didn’t get back to us. We were in a rush to get out this morning so after an hour or so we ended up having to skip our showers. The front desk took $75 off the room which was appreciated but didn’t fix the problem and felt a bit lame considering how we spent over $1,500 there including dining.

Will I return? Maybe but we’ll probably be trying a couple other properties first. I know the issue was circumstantial and bizarre, I just felt the response was lame.

Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
4  Thank JProbsty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HyattHighlands, Manager at Hyatt Residence Club Carmel, Highlands Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 17 March 2018

We're glad you chose to stay with us and had a nice time until the issue with the tub. We dropped the ball on this and are very sorry that happened. This is not the type of experience we want our guests to have and we will be sharing your comments with our staff so we can improve how we handle situations in the future. Again, we apologize and hope you will give us another chance for a better time, thank you for the review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews