We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A Gem!”
Review of Tally Ho Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Tally Ho Inn
Ranked #14 of 26 Carmel B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Wilmington, Delaware
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A Gem!”
Reviewed 16 February 2012

The Tally Ho Inn was a wonderful little find on our amazing trip to beautiful Carmel. After a local recommended we check it out, we walked in without a reservation(risky but it was off season!) and were given a choice of rooms by the lovely manager. Our room was very large, had a private deck with an oceanview and was very private. They thought of everything to make the stay intimate and comfortable. We were 4 blocks from the beautiful beach.

Breakfast at the Pine Inn across the street was included and delicious with homemade breads and plenty of food. It was really great!

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kate G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

215 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    156
    48
    7
    2
    2
See reviews for
34
146
7
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Port Townsend, Washington, USA
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 11 February 2012

After many years of visiting friends in Carmel, they suggested we might really like "The Tally Ho Inn" .. and we were thrilled to stay in a lovely, large Superior King Suite....with a view of the ocean and a nice deck for morning coffee! Even had an anniversary champagne party for eight of us in our room for sunset cocktails! (The Inn kindly sent us the champage and flutes for our celebration! ) Room was one of best ever and largest we've enjoyed in our many travels. Overall decor, furnishings, colors, fireplace, bathroom with heated floors!, and large fluffly towels, very comfortable bed and quite friendly and professional staff ...made it very easy to extend our stay from SIX nights to TWELVE!!! The 'included' full American Bufffet Breakfast was also a wonderful trerat each weekday morning!...served at one of our favorite resterants: "Il Fornaio" just across the street...where we often dined for lunch and dinner. We'll be back as soon as we can arrange anohter trip to Carmel. Cheers!

Room Tip: Newly built King Suites with ocean views are simply gorgeous....with nice decks. if not available, w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sharon W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bergen, Norway
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 November 2011

We stayed in August for 2 days. The rooms were nice and clean and with a terrace (unfortunately we couldn't see the ocean view because of the fog..). No complaints about the room, great with heat in the bathroom and TV while you take a bath.
Great experience! Would go back!

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank marit l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alameda, California
1 review
Reviewed 25 November 2011

We frequently stay in Carmel, and have found that the rooms here at the Tally Ho are some of the best that can be had in town. The views from the decks are great, the rooms are spacious, with very comfortable surroundings.

Room Tip: The rooms above the covered parking have great private decks.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank paulwantstotravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alameda
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 24 November 2011

We have been enjoying Tally Ho Inn for many years. They have never let us down! Beautiful, well-appointed rooms(we've enjoyed several) with amazing ocean views.The staff is a great group of folks who really care about their guests, so much so we really feel like family now! Never a worry about parking either. The underground parking is frosting on the cake. We just returned home from our November trip and we will return in May...as usual!!! Can"t wait!!

Room Tip: All are great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank happycamperAlameda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Carmel hotels
0.4 km away
La Playa Carmel
La Playa Carmel
#4 of 25 in Carmel
4.5 of 5 bubbles 829 reviews
0.1 km away
Pine Inn
Pine Inn
#22 of 25 in Carmel
4.0 of 5 bubbles 571 reviews
0.2 km away
Cypress Inn
Cypress Inn
#3 of 25 in Carmel
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,177 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 km away
Carmel Mission Inn
Carmel Mission Inn
#8 of 25 in Carmel
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,624 reviews
0.2 km away
L'Auberge Carmel
L'Auberge Carmel
#21 of 25 in Carmel
4.5 of 5 bubbles 337 reviews
0.5 km away
Tradewinds Carmel
Tradewinds Carmel
#10 of 25 in Carmel
4.5 of 5 bubbles 497 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tally Ho Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tally Ho Inn

Property: Tally Ho Inn
Address: Monte Verde Street at Sixth Street, Carmel, CA 93921
Region: United States > California > Monterey County > Carmel
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 26 B&Bs / Inns in Carmel
Price range (per night): $355 - $564
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Tally Ho Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Wotif.com, Expedia APAC, TripOnline SA, TravelClick, lastminute.com.au, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Tally Ho Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tally Ho Hotel Carmel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing