We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mission Ranch is the place to stay in Carmel”
Review of Mission Ranch

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Carmel
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Mission Ranch
Ranked #7 of 24 Hotels in Carmel
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 16 August 2012

The end of our California vacation we visited a friend who was renting a house in Carmel. She had suggested the Mission Ranch and after looking at the website and visiting with their host on the phone I was convinced this was the place to stay. From the moment we drove on to the property we were enchanted. The rooms are lovely, and very cozy. The dining and bar are an added bonus. Sitting out on the porch being surrounded by the beauty of Carmel was so relaxing. We would sneak back after everyone had called it a night for one last toast to this oasis.

Carmel can be very crowded but the Mission Inn makes your stay a wonderful respite. I cannot wait to plan a family reunion and once again enjoy such natural beauty!

Room Tip: once you have looked at the website be sure to chat with the host at the Inn so you can truly unders...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HoustonNative53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (548)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

368 - 372 of 548 reviews

Reviewed 6 August 2012

Mission Ranch is everything we wanted it to be...peaceful, semi-luxurious and restful. We went to Carmel to get away from life's hustle, hang out, catch up on reading and reconnect with each other. We were able to accomplish all three in this highly conducive setting on the Carmel River. Downtown Carmel is about a mile away but very walkable. We will return but most likely only in September or October when there is sun and some semblance of warmth. The on site restaurant is excellent and if you don't make a reservation and order off the bar food menu you will be pleasantly surprised. The free continental breakfast is above average to good.

Room Tip: Spend a little more and choose the Farmhouse or better. The Main Barn is motel-like and can be noisy...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HospitalDude
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2012

This is just a lovely place! We were fortunate to stay 2 nights but not in the same room. Staff was very accommodating and took care of the switch and we got to experience both the main barn and the bunk house. both rooms were large and comfortable. We loved the restaurant and ended up eating there both nights instead of eating in town. The views are just beautiful. This is a wonderful vintage hotel that is very reasonably priced. It is literally just steps from the mission and when you are on the property you feel peacefully secluded. Although we were slightly disappointed we did t get to meet Clint Eastwood (LOL) we were delighted he saved this place and transformed it into the lovely hotel it is. Great vintage hotel!

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Beachlady55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2012

The Mission Ranch hotel was a wonderful experience, it was our first time staying at the ranch. We stayed in the Farmhouse which was fabulous, very cozy and inviting. We will definitely return next year. The staff was very friendly and efficient.

Room Tip: Any of the rooms in the farmhouse look good, numbers 31 -35. I think 34 & 35 are up stairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank omahalilly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2012

Just returned from a whirlwind trip of Northern/Central California. Staying here was certainly a highlight. Room was great. We had a queen bedded room with a pull out sofa in an adjoining room on the first floor of the farmhouse. Very clean and quaint. There was an outer living area to relax by reading a book on the couches or play a game on the big farmhouse table. We got there too late to eat at the restaurant but we were able to hang out at the piano bar to listen to some of the locals show their talents. That was fun ! The next day we were able to enjoy the BEAUTIFUL grounds after partaking in the complimentary continental breakfast which was more than adequate with coffee, juices, bagels, muffins, yogurts and fruit. Breakfast is in the tennis pro shop. The courts were well maintained.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank gymmom1118
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Carmel hotels
1.4 km away
Carmel Mission Inn & Fuse Lounge Cafe
1.2 km away
La Playa Carmel
La Playa Carmel
#4 of 24 in Carmel
929 reviews
1.1 km away
Carmel River Inn
Carmel River Inn
#8 of 24 in Carmel
733 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.5 km away
Quail Lodge & Golf Club
1.9 km away
Tradewinds Carmel
Tradewinds Carmel
#2 of 24 in Carmel
629 reviews
1.3 km away
Coachman's Inn, A Four Sisters Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mission Ranch? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mission Ranch

Address: 26270 Dolores St, Carmel, CA 93923-9215
Region: United States > California > Monterey County > Carmel
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Carmel
#10 Romantic Hotel in Carmel
Price Range: $140 - $370 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 31
Also Known As:
Mission Ranch Carmel California

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing