We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Greek atmosphere in the US”
Review of Dametra Cafe

Dametra Cafe
Ranked #3 of 159 Restaurants in Carmel
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: USD 1 - USD 20
Cuisines: Mediterranean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special Occasion Dining, Romantic
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Dinner, Lunch, Delivery, Reservations, Takeout
carmel, In
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Best Greek atmosphere in the US”
Reviewed 8 April 2012

Delicious food and they even sing while you eat. This place is a gem and well worth the wait (very small dining area).

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
Thank nate m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,743 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2,050
    477
    141
    38
    37
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Don't bother unless you made a reservation.”
Reviewed 8 April 2012

More of a comment than a review - would like to have eaten here but, we did not make a reservation. The owner was very gracious to his other patrons (obviously locals) But, told us we could be put on a "Stand By" list?!?! WTH? Stand By? Hoping, maybe I can eat dinner at some point? Whatever, we went somewhere else! Hope your local patrons can keep you in business.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
Thank Patricia D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Good food and lively atmosphere”
Reviewed 6 April 2012

Highly recommended. First of all, the service is very good. Even though it was my first time, I was treated as if I was a regular. The food is very good as well: I would stick to the Middle Eastern / Greek food. The humus and the gyros plate were delicious. And not expensive at all. It's a very popular place, so reservations are recommended. Loved the performance (song) by the staff. Maybe two minor comments: wine glasses are huge (with too much wine) and my table cloth was a bit dirty. But I would definitely return.

  • Visited April 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank M0Bar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
49 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Worth the wait”
Reviewed 6 April 2012

We ordered take-out, it was fabulous, the atmosphere of the place is wonderful.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
Thank PaintTheCity
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Osos, California
Level Contributor
26 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Unusual, superb, affordable”
Reviewed 5 April 2012

There are plenty of seafood and continental-styled restaurants in Carmel. Not many Middle Eastern. So if you are in the mood for something different, don't miss Dametra Cafe right on Ocean Ave. It's tiny and has a wide following. I enjoyed the Chicken Swarma "Sandwich" for lunch. It was something I could not possibly duplicate at home, even though I am a skilled cook. Easily enough food to satisfy two normal appetites. The complimentary French bread is also superb. I will probably visit Dametra every time I'm in Carmel.

  • Visited April 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Aboehmer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Dametra Cafe also viewed

Carmel, Monterey County
Carmel, Monterey County
 
Carmel, Monterey County
Carmel, Monterey County
 
Carmel, Monterey County
 

Been to Dametra Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing