We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“What a nightmare!” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Motel 6 Carlsbad South

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Motel 6 Carlsbad South
Ranked #34 of 36 Hotels in Carlsbad
Hillsboro, OR
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“What a nightmare!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 December 2011

What a nightmare! Checked in at 9:30 pm with my elderly father and had to vacate the room at 1am due to the room conditions. When I had to kill a cockroach before setting my bag down I should have left immediately! The tub drain was clogged and a foul odor was coming from all the drains in the room. Linens were marginally clean and towels were so thin I could see through them. The worst part was that the room had been sprayed with some type of chemical to cover odors and it was so toxic that both my dad and I were ill for more than 24 hours after vacating the room. The beds, carpets, drapes and pillows were saturated with this nasty smelling stuff. We did receive a full refund before leaving, but making a 90 year old man dress and go without a good night's sleep was not fun. For $30 more, we spent the next night in a Best Western that was immaculate and included breakfast.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Carla56161
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

86 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    12
    25
    20
    13
    16
See reviews for
28
19
15
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Phoenix, AZ
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 August 2011

We stayed here for our trip to Legoland. It was very clean. The beds were uncomfortable, but what we expected. The staff was very helpful. There is a grocery store, Starbucks, and dining across the street. The beach is literally walking distance away. The room is SMALL though. There is not much room at all.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank cactuscc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 July 2011

The rate was reasonable- $70 per night particularly for the area where hotels get very expensive. This was a better hotel than a 3 star we stayed at in San Diego that was double the price. We were here for two nights, and spent very little time in the hotel so it was good enough for a "crash pad" The bathroom was clean- showers were good. The bed was comfortable enough. Basic, average lodging.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JewelsandJarda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Palm Springs
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 July 2011

What a dive, $90.00 a night stayed only one of two nights. slept only 3 hours due to upstairs noise. Want to see a real bad room, check out the handicap room at this joint. Everything about this room....old

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank mamerc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Carlsbad hotels

Palm Desert, California
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 December 2010

Staff had treated us terribly, had been very loyal to Motel 6 for several years, because of this incident in Sept. 2010, we had decided to stay at the La Quinta Inn chain. Had a disabled spouse with me with his companion animal a cat (with Dr.s verification), had to be switched from one room to another, due to very strong paint smell in one room, the other room was filthy, the 3rd room was missing a chair, waited for a chair for an hour then they made us carry the chair to our room, from another room, was told we were not to keep our cat unattended in out room, and that we will be monitored, if we leave with out the cat to go to a restuarant they had said our cat would be removed, Pet Policy state we can leave the room, but to protect pet only when there was a need for house keeping, there is a flaw in the writing of the Pet Policy, we wanted to check out and get a refund the manager abruptly refused, we were there no more then an hour 1/2, so we gave up and drove 200 miles back to our home, the next day called the CEO in Texas to tell him about the problem that we had at this Carlsbad location, a woman answered the phone who was representing the CEO of Motel 6, she called the Motel 6 in Carlsbad, CA, 2 hours later she had called us back and had issued us a refund, and a free night stay, but was VERY UNAPOLOGETIC, but at least we were issued a refund, after what we were put through, the Texas CEO office, did listen to the problem, but needed to be pushed to resolve the problem. I use to love the Motel 6 chain, but not anymore fear that there unclear Pet Policy would disrupt any future vacations, we decided to stay at the La Quinta Inn Hotels, and put up the sign outside our hotel room door reads "Pet in Room" or the "Do not Disturb " sign, as we were made very comfortable by the La Quinta Inn's, this makes our trips more relaxing and stress free, as Motel 6 can no longer be trusted due to there is too much uncertainty as to whether an individual Motel welcomes the pet owner and allows them to visit the local sights while traveling with pets. For example La Quinta Inn is very clear that the pet owner is welcome to allow pets in the room while there off sight visiting the local area. As you are doing the market research you should note that with the current economic situation people place a higher priority on their pets, and Motel 6 with there unclear subjective policy will loose market share. Can a Pet be left in a room while the guest is out at a restaurant? or Can a pet be left in a room while a guest is sight seeing? and what ever happened to the Motel 6 Do not Disturb signs. In closing, I give high marks to the Anaheim, CA Motel 6 on Disney Way, they were wonderful, would like to return to that location but in fear of the uncertain Pet Policy, we can no longer stay at Motel 6 until the uncertain or unclear Pet Policy is address Nationally, when we Pet Owner's start seeing it in an ad then we'll come back, other wise trust has been broken and the damage has been done.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank KiholoHono
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Carlsbad hotels
0.2 km away
Ramada Carlsbad
Ramada Carlsbad
#36 of 36 in Carlsbad
3.0 of 5 bubbles 972 reviews
0.1 km away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel and Suites Carlsbad Beach
0.2 km away
La Quinta Inn & Suites San Diego Carlsbad
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.3 km away
Rodeway Inn Near Legoland
Rodeway Inn Near Legoland
#35 of 36 in Carlsbad
3.0 of 5 bubbles 113 reviews
6.0 km away
Days Inn Carlsbad
Days Inn Carlsbad
#24 of 36 in Carlsbad
4.0 of 5 bubbles 316 reviews
7.2 km away
Extended Stay America - San Diego - Carlsbad Village by the Sea
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Motel 6 Carlsbad South? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Motel 6 Carlsbad South

Property: Motel 6 Carlsbad South
Address: 750 Raintree Drive, I-5/San Diego Freeway at Poinsettia Lane, Carlsbad, CA CA 92011
Region: United States > California > Carlsbad
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #34 of 36 Hotels in Carlsbad
Price range (per night): $81 - $181
Hotel Class:2 star — Motel 6 Carlsbad South 2*
Number of rooms: 160
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia APAC, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Wotif.com, Odigeo, lastminute.com.au and Agoda so you can book your Motel 6 Carlsbad South reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Motel 6 Carlsbad South Hotel Carlsbad
Motel Six Carlsbad
Carlsbad Motel 6
Carlsbad Motel Six

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing