We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Elegant but not Distinctive”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Park Hyatt Aviara Resort
Ranked #4 of 36 Hotels in Carlsbad
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Santiago, Chile
Level 6 Contributor
143 reviews
139 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 193 helpful votes
“Elegant but not Distinctive”
Reviewed 14 May 2012

When I think of the Park Hyatt brand, the following words come to mind – contemporary, distinctive, and elegant. In the case of the Park Hyatt Aviara the only word that applies is elegant.

It is evident that this is a former Four Seasons Hotel. The décor is refined, and there is an heir of pretention among the staff. Unfortunately, the color scheme is more sophisticated than stylish, and the service is disingenuous and inattentive. Regarding the latter, we were placed on an interminable hold while waiting to speak with a front desk associate. On two occasions, we waited several minutes at the valet stand before finally asking – “Could you please give us our car keys?” The delay was not due to demand. In the first instance the two valet attendants were exchanging pleasantries. In the second instance, the attendants were clearly trying to answer the age-old question - "How many attendants does it take to park one car?"

The highlight of the hotel was the guest room. We were upgraded to a partial ocean view at the end of the hallway. The balcony coupled with ideal weather made for a quiet, relaxing afternoon. Inside the room, the exceptionally comfortable bed would rank in our top three. The room was spacious and included a sofa, desk, flat-screen TV, and DVD player. The bathroom was expansive. There was an enclosed water closet, glass shower, and sizeable bathtub. The two sinks expedited our morning routine.

It was a cool, spring day, so we only passed through the pool area. There is an adult-only area, and the ocean can be seen in the distance. It should be noted that the resort is several miles from the ocean, so if you are expecting a beach vacation, this would not be the place.

Finally, the additional fees only added to our aggravation. The only parking option is valet, and there is $30 daily fee. Add in the tips, and parking becomes the equivalent of a lunch. It would behoove of this hotel to adopt the “all tips already included” policy which some five-star hotels have implemented. It would also behoove of the attendants to attend to the guests. After all, there is a $30 price tag for parking. There is also a $25 resort fee, so the total fees are now approaching a dinner for two. We are not immune to paying these fees – see our review on the Grand Hyatt Kauai – but these surpassed the reasonable threshold.

In summary, there are hotels which can command $500 per night. This is not one of them.

Pros: Spacious guest room , magnificent bed, adult-only pool

Cons: Inattentive, disingenuous service; valet parking and resort fee equal dinner for two

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank scl44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,861 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,414
    285
    93
    44
    25
See reviews for
561
516
35
517
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (268)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Wilmington, NC
Level 5 Contributor
81 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 May 2012

This was a Four Seasons Resort now Hyatt. The facilities are extremely nice. My wife and I were there for a conference which was excellent. The check in was fine. We asked for a room with a different location which they were happy to accommodate. The bellhop was also very friendly and helpful. I did play golf and all the staff and the course made it a very pleasant game. The training problem came when my wife and her friend were being served brunch one time and an afternoon drink. On both occasions the serving staff were busy chatting among themselves and ignoring the patrons. When they came they were fine but they shouldn't be standing around in threesomes chatting. Getting your car was easy and that staff attentive. It will cost you $15 a day to park. One annoying charge is $13 a day for internet.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tripwilmington
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas
Level 6 Contributor
130 reviews
84 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 May 2012

I just returned from a very large meeting at the Aviara. We took up the entire hotel for three days. The service from start to finish was outstanding. The food, given the large numbers, was very good. If you are traveling on your own, however, the lobby bar is really the only place to have a casual meal. The Italian restaurant on the third floor looks quite nice, but is not going to serve you a simple meal. This resort is, as advertised, first rate. Wonderful setting, with beautiful lanscaping. The rooms are nicely appointed and the bathrooms are large with separate tubs and showers. All very 1990s Four Seasons (that is what it was until recently.) I thought the rooms looked like they were getting a little worn, but not to a degree that it wasn't a five star facility. I thought the linens and the bath towels were not up to the standards of the rest of the property. The golf course looks great. The grounds are very nice. And, again, the service as excellent.

Room Tip: The place is a maze on multiple levels. Try and stay on the third floor where all the facilities ar...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jeff3545
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 May 2012 via mobile

Since the management of the property began some 15 years ago this balcony on the lagoon has been my favorite in SoCal. Recently returned expecting changes in management that would be apparent to guests. Not as I thought. Four Seaons turned over to Park Hyatt about two years ago. This is still the place to retreat. Maybe guests appreciate the stunning layout of the grounds or the fact that it overlooks Batiquitos lagoon, one of the rare and few protected tidal planes. Maybe the appeal is in the attraction of the garden space that surrounds the property making guests feel removed from urban sprawl or the proximity to Del Mar racetrack. Having returned multiple times since the property opened to guests mid 90's every time I come back I feel serenely welcome and calmly settled. Gem.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Lishasz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maple Plain, Minnesota
Level 5 Contributor
47 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 May 2012

Tagged along with my husband on a 5 day business trip. The hotel is located in a beautiful setting. We had a first floor room where the patio walked out to the pool area - landscaping/gardens were well-kept and provided room privacy. The weather was cold and misty - but I still spent much time at the adult pool area/hot tub - which had a beautiful view and the hot tub was hot! Fitness center was well-equipped and spacious - especially appreciated the cucumber and lemon water. Valet attendants and concierge were more then helpful and knowledgeable when looking for places to explore...that would be the only downside. Food was good - but limited choices. Great retreat location - but we like to get out and explore and this location does not lend itself well for that - cab rides into Carlsbad, quick, but spendy when multiplied by a couple of meals off-site.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Southshore4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Carlsbad hotels
2.0 km away
Omni La Costa Resort and Spa
0.2 km away
Four Seasons Residence Club Aviara
2.8 km away
Cape Rey Carlsbad, a Hilton Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.3 km away
Beach Terrace Inn
Beach Terrace Inn
#2 of 36 in Carlsbad
1,318 reviews
4.2 km away
Sheraton Carlsbad Resort and Spa
9.1 km away
Ocean Palms Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Park Hyatt Aviara Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Park Hyatt Aviara Resort

Property: Park Hyatt Aviara Resort
Address: 7100 Aviara Resort Dr, Carlsbad, CA 92011-4908
Region: United States > California > Carlsbad
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Carlsbad
#1 Business Hotel in Carlsbad
#2 Green Hotel in Carlsbad
#2 Spa Hotel in Carlsbad
#3 Romantic Hotel in Carlsbad
#7 Family Hotel in Carlsbad
Price range (per night): $433 - $705
Hotel Class:5 star — Park Hyatt Aviara Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 329
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
On California’s sun-drenched Pacific coast, in the seaside community of Carlsbad, Park Hyatt Aviara Resort lies on the north shore of Batiquitos Lagoon – a vast protected wildlife sanctuary and an enclave of natural beauty. From atop the highest ridge, overlooking the ocean and the lagoon, the AAA Five Diamond San Diego resort provides a respite from the ordinary. Located amid 200 acres of verdant hillsides and rolling valleys, within the master-planned community of Aviara, our North San Diego luxury hotel and resort provides an appealing setting for any function. The resort’s Spanish colonial architecture welcomes with a sense of casual elegance. Each of the 329 spacious guest rooms – including 44 suites – features a private balcony or landscaped terrace offering magnificent views. Expansive facilities for meetings and special events are enhanced by complete resort amenities, from acclaimed dining to a full-service spa, swimming, tennis, a fitness center and an Arnold Palmer-designed 18-hole championship golf course. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Booking.com, Expedia APAC, Wotif.com, lastminute.com.au, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Hooroo Pty Ltd, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Park Hyatt Aviara Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Park Hyatt Aviara Hotel Carlsbad
Four Seasons Hotel Carlsbad
Four Seasons Carlsbad
Aviara Resort
Carlsbad Four Seasons
Four Seasons Aviara

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing