We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (211)
Filter reviews
211 results
Traveller rating
174
27
8
2
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
174
27
8
2
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews pool access room private beach ocean view shuttle service main restaurant family pool star resort adult pool daily activities soft opening rain shower intimate hotel beautiful hotel pool side poolside bar ritz carlton reserve bar offers
Filter
Updating list...
74 - 79 of 211 reviews
Reviewed 12 February 2018

If you want a true resort feel in Krabi or Ao Nang, the ShellSea hotel is one of the few places you will find it. Positives: stunning decor, beautiful landscaping, well maintained, well-trained and over the top friendly staff, location (right on it's own beach), great food, outstanding spa service, morning and evening housekeeping services, all the bottled water you could want, free sea kayaks with life vests, a kids center, and more! Negatives: about 15-40 minute drive to most area attractions, typical jungle bugs sometimes in first-floor rooms, view only of the open ocean, not the iconic islands (but you'll see them on your tours). Those were it for me! A few more details. While other writers have complained that spa services and taxis are more expensive than other places in the area, even fully indulging in tours, taxis, and spa services everyday for five days, I spent just $350. It's difficult to do even two spa services in most countries for that price. You can find everything for less, if you want to book things on your own. As a sign of their outstanding kindness and service, I had a complication with my booking and upon arrival found that I had been upgraded to a villa! If you have the resources, I strongly recommend staying in a villa room, even those without an ocean view. The villas have a private pool, an indoor shower, an outdoor shower and bath (star gazing), a small kitchen, over-sized king-size bed, a living room area, double sinks in the bathrooms, etc. Check out the pictures on their website. They're accurate. All of the staff is so kind and gives each guest a traditional Thai greeting every time, including the grounds keepers and security guards. Visit their website for other details, because it is accurate and portrays what you will receive. Last comment, sunrise over the ocean was stunning every morning!

Room tip: I would opt for a villa or ocean view room, if you can.
Date of stay: February 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LoveandLive2Travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sudawadee, Complex Manager of Digital Marketing & Communications at The ShellSea Krabi, responded to this reviewResponded 23 March 2018

Dear LoveandLive2Travel

Thank you so much for your five star review. We are so glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay in a pool villa with us and the right location on beachfront is impressive to you. We are thankful to you for your kind words to our team member and it will be definitely passed along to them.

We look forward to have you here again to enjoy a stunning sunrise together every morning in your next inspiring vacation to Krabi.

Best regards,
Sudawadee Wannakit

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 January 2018 via mobile

My (new) husband and I stayed at The Shellsea for 3 nights (the last leg of our 2-week honeymoon). It is a fantastic resort and I would definitely recommend it to anyone looking to stay in Krabi.

The PROs:
- very clean
- great rooms; good size, has hair dryer, get a couple free waters everyday, nice soaking tub and rain shower, double sinks, good toiletries, there are robes, flip flops, and slippers
- 2 very nice pools overlooking a quiet desolate beach; lots of chairs; hammocks around the property
- free shuttle service to nearby piers - shout to Siam who gave us a few rides. The resort is off the beaten path which I was initially concerned about, but the shuttle dissipated that real quick.
- free, brand new, very nice bicycles (tandem and solo bikes!) - shout out to Bird who works at the pool and activity center!!! He took my husband and I on an amazing morning bike ride to Ao Nang and to a nearby mountain and beach. It was one of our favorite parts of our trip. Although we had a language barrier (Thai/English) we got by and had the best time with him—his heart is made of friendly, gold!
- Great food at the restaurant, poolside and room service (shout out to Boris, who knows the area well and gave us some good recommendations)
- BEST hotel breakfast buffet (and we stayed at very nice 5 star hotels throughout Thailand, so we’ve got a good comparison) - good variety, very tasty. Our only reco would be to add fruit smoothies.
- All staff is VERY kind and attentive. Not many speak fluent English (other than Boris, F&B Manager and Jom, Pool guy) but they know enough basics
- ATM on property
- Gym, small but nice

The Cons:
- I honestly don’t have any but if I had to list one I would say I wish they had done something for our honeymoon. Like a bottle of champagne or welcome honeymoon dessert or massage or something. (But I’m just being a bridal brat )

Lessons Learned:
- The Resort is a bit sleepy. So if you are looking for peace, quiet, a beach to yourself and to enjoy your time with only the people you are traveling with this is a great spot.
- My guess is that over the next several years, this area will become much more developed and vibrant.
- The Resort is not near much so you do have to travel to get places (use the shuttle!). Ao Nang is close but its more of a crappy port town, not really a worthwhile destination. Ao Nam Mao another poet is also very close which is convenient if you want to take a day trip to Railay Beach (recommend!) or Ko Lanta.
- If you want to go to Ko Phi Phi think about how much time you need there. The ShellSea is not an ideal location for Phi Phi day trips, I would suggest staying directly on Phi Phi. The earliest ferry over is at 9:30 am so you don’t arrive to the island until 11 and the last ferry out is at 3:30. We wanted to venture and explore on our own and did not have enough time to do all we wanted. We wish we had spent a night on Phi Phi. You can also take a boat trip day tour which might be cheaper and more convenient but that’s only good for island hopping and snorkeling. If you want to really explore, go on your own.
- Krabi town is very destination worthy either, it’s a Government town. But there is a port called Klong Jilad which ferries you to Phi Phi and other places.
- The desolate beach is “Fossil Beach” — if you’re at The Shellsea cool to walk over and check it out. But not a destination on its own.

Hope this helps! Overall great spot!
Thanks to all be staff who made our stay wonderful!

Date of stay: January 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
5  Thank Samantha F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sudawadee, Complex Manager of Digital Marketing & Communications at The ShellSea Krabi, responded to this reviewResponded 23 March 2018

Dear Samantha F

Thank you so much for allowing us to take care of your day during your stay in Krabi. We enjoy reading your review very much and appreciate your positive feedback about our resort. Thank you for the kind words to some of team members who were mentioned in here, Bird, Jom, Boris and it will be sure to share with them.

We are new and small boutique resort and we try very hard to provide the best possible service to our guest. Your happiness is our reward. Our entire resort staff enjoyed catering to your needs and we look forward to your next visit.

Best regards,
Sudawadee Wannakit

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 January 2018

This is a very nice resort. It seems to be kind of like a Ritz-Carlton Reserve property, small and elegant. Everything is brand-new and quite beautiful. And, it certainly comes at a much lower price than one of the Ritz-Carlton properties.

The swimming pools were beautiful and warm. The rooms were also a nice size and nicely decorated. Unfortunately for me, the bed was disappointing. The mattress was quite hard, but that certainly seems to be the norm for this part of the world. The air-conditioning was great, which is also very important for me.

We were just on a three week tour of southeast Asia and this was our second favorite hotel after Jaya House River Park in Siem Reap, Cambodia.
I cannot give it five stars for a few reasons: the staff was polite but not overly knowledgeable about the area and the hotel itself and they spoke very little English which is unusual for a hotel of this caliber; we did not experience any real examples of exceptional service although it was adequate; the location is a bit far from everything and it was a $15 taxi ride each way to Ao Nang; the hotel had too few free shuttles going into Ao Nang so you had to reserve at least a day in advance which doesn’t really make sense when you’re on vacation.

I would stay here again and think it was a good value for the room rate charged.

Date of stay: January 2018
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank DoctorTDenver_CO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sudawadee, Complex Manager of Digital Marketing & Communications at The ShellSea Krabi, responded to this reviewResponded 23 March 2018

Dear DoctorTDenver_CO

Thank you so much for choosing to stay with us. We are glad to hear that our resort and service is equivalent to Ritz-Carlton Reserve property and we will be your top choice to stay when you visit Krabi. Some of your feedback will be shared to the concerned team for enhancement.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the resort in the near future.

Best regards,
Sudawadee Wannakit

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 January 2018

If you appreciate modern design and beautiful plants, and are looking for a resort next to a small calm beach, this is the place for you. The beach is wonderful when the tide is in, but from the somewhat elevated hotel, you always have a wonderful view over the sea and the islands in the distance. Sounds from the local mosque and crowing cocks can be heard – this is Thailand. No shops or restaruants close to the resort, but you can use the shuttle or taxi to go to Krabi town or the bustling touristic Ao Nang, 15 minutes away for that.
Very clean environment, very friendly staff and the italian inspired waterfront restaurant served top quality dishes. There are activities such as yoga, Thai boxing or bicycle tours etc. as well as a clean futuristic spa area.

Date of stay: January 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank anlenhad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sudawadee, Complex Manager of Digital Marketing & Communications at The ShellSea Krabi, responded to this reviewResponded 23 March 2018

Dear anlenhad

Thank you so much for staying with us and the five-star review. We love to learn that our resort design, ground and garden, and restaurants are impressive to you. Also, our resort activities and spa day made your time here so wonderful.

We look forward to welcoming and taking care of you again soon.

Best regards,
Sudawadee Wannakit

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 January 2018

Just to give some background, I have traveled to over 54 counties and have an instagram following of 44,000+ on the instagram page of @the_traveldude and have never seen such amazing service from a hotel.

Let me start by saying that the hotel is beautiful, grounds are spotless, attention to every little detail has been made. This is a BRAND NEW HOTEL! But what really makes the difference between The Shell Sea and any other hotel is THE SERVICE. From the moment we arrived we were treated like royalty with a refreshing fresh juice drink given to us at check in and the front desk staff so happy and willing to help with any request we had. The cleaning staff made sure our room was kept spotless at all times, including turn down service. Wait staff at the restaurants go above & beyond to make sure you have everything you need, drinks refilled timely, actually concerned that everything is cooked to your standards & truly pleased when you are happy with everything. It isn't just these employees, it is every employee at The Shell Sea. I have never experienced this anywhere else and we have visited several hotels in Krabi and the surrounding area. All of their employees truly seem happy with their jobs and genuinely concerned with the guests every need. Even the pool side employees kept asking if they could get us drinks while we were laying out. I wished that I could name them all, but just know if you want the very best service imaginable and you want to be treated like royalty, then this is the place for you. Could not have had a better experience! Please also do not make any matter of the reviews that are lower than 5 stars…the people had one small issue that should not detract from a 5 star review. You NEED TO STAY at this hotel. You will not be disappointed!!!!

Room tip: Reserve a Pool Access Ocean View Room!!!!
Date of stay: December 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank the_traveldudeIG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sudawadee, Manager at The ShellSea Krabi, responded to this reviewResponded 23 March 2018

Dear the_traveldudeIG

Thank you so much for choosing us to stay in Krabi and the five-star review. We truly appreciate your comment and delightfully hear that every element in our resort is impressive to you. You are so kind to compliment to our team member and it will be passed along to them.

We all here look forward to you return to Krabi and we definite follow all your digi- channel.

Best regards,
Sudawadee Wannakit
Complex Manager of Digital Marketing & Communications

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews