We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (42)
Filter reviews
42 results
Traveller rating
25
9
3
3
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
25
9
3
3
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviews drying room walking distance bus service ski area dorm cereal yukari wasabi backcountry gear lift accommodation slopes japan hirafu terrain snow
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 42 reviews
Reviewed 8 March 2018

Great location, great next door restaurant, great drying room, ok staff, terrible room. We downstairs in the smallest possible room in the whole place. It was so cramped and so hot I had a week of terrible sleeps, but the snow was good - so that helped. But I wouldn't stay here again, way over priced for a little room with two bunk beds and minimal storage space. We asked to move but the place was full. But honestly the place needs some serious work if they're going to charge the prices they do. Ya Niseko is expensive, but it feels like they just threw some stuff together and called it rustic. Also - ya it's a hostel not a hotel.

Room Tip: Don't get stuck in room F
  • Stayed: February 2018, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Susan V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dirk N, Owner at Moiwa Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 16 April 2018

Hi Susan,
Thanks for the review, but I think you've got the wrong lodge.
Sorry. but we don't have any bunk rooms with only 2 beds, and we don't have a restaurant next door - our restaurant is upstairs. Perhaps it's an opportunity to try staying with us next time you're in the area.
We're glad you liked the snow in Moiwa though ... Niseko had a great season!
Regards,
Dirk

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 March 2018

Definitely like the rustic interior, the relaxed atmosphere of the guests from most western countries.Cozy bar and acceptable wifi. Bed quality as well as down comforter were of superb quality
We were a bit put in limbo when there was no feedback on our mail service requests regarding shuttle service. Ended up with costly taxi transports, so we got a fair chance spend parts of the day at the slopes. The included breakfast was limited, however, saturating but without much variety.The soundproofing was disastrous, felt like the neighbor used our toilet.Too high price considering what you get.

  • Stayed: February 2018, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Phayao13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dirk N, Owner at Moiwa Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 7 March 2018

Hi there,

Thanks so much for your review and comments on your stay. Reviews help us to make changes and reflect on our service so that we can improve the overall guest experience for future guests. We're sorry you felt we were only worth a 2 star rating, but we're always looking for ways to improve.

Upon booking, all our customer receive an information pack that includes many pages of information about transportation to/from Niseko and the lodge. We also try to respond to all our guest enquiries as quickly as possible, but sometimes last minute bookings or requests for information that require an immediate answer can't be responded to quickly enough. However, we're always available by phone at the lodge, and normally get back to emails in about 24-48 hours.

We have had a few comments this season from guests about the walls between our twin rooms. As a result of this feedback, we will be renovating these room walls and adding new acoustic insulation over the summer. Hopefully this will not happen in future, but we apologise if it had an effect on the quality of your stay.

We're changing our breakfast each season, adding more variety as we go. This was the first season we had bacon, sausages and eggs every morning, and many returning guests loved the change. We always provide a variety of breads baked on site, and a normal continental breakfast. We are not a 5-star hotel, and so cannot provide the same style of service as the full service hotels without significantly increasing our prices. That being said, given your feedback, we will look to see if we can provide a bit more variety in future.

Thanks again for staying with us at Moiwa Lodge. We hope we can see you again in the future!

Regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 February 2018

They charged me twice for my stay and have since stopped replying to my emails after the initial inquiry. Drying room was a slightly warm room (granted I didn't actually need to dry anything with the snow conditions). Restaurant had run out of food by 7:00. There are definitely better places to stay.

Room Tip: Room I stayed in on bottom floor filled with group of men drinking all night.
  • Stayed: January 2018, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Blakely1958
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dirk N, Owner at Moiwa Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 7 March 2018

Hi there,

Thanks for your review. We always like feedback as it helps us to improve our facilities and services for future guests. We are sorry that we didn't live up to your expectations this time during your stay. Our guest feedback is normally overwhelmingly positive, so a negative experience is not something we are used to!

We feel we need to respond to your review as there are a few inaccuracies in what you have written.

Regarding to the lack of response to emails and the double charging, I have looked in all our inboxes and there is nothing regarding someone being overcharged/double charged. If you have been double charged, then that is indeed an error from our end, and we will happily refund you in full. We are human, and mistakes can happen, so please send us an email and we will respond in kind. We don't make a policy of overcharging guests, and I can understand how this can have a huge impact on your reflections of your stay, so please get in touch and we will fix it.

There were a few times over the season that we ran out of food in the restaurant due to overwhelming demand. All our food is prepared onsite each day using raw ingredients, and we don't purchase bulk frozen or processed foods for dinner services. This means that once we run out, there is nothing we can 'pull out of the freezer' to satisfy waiting customers. Again, this only happens a few times each season, and there are other restaurants in the area that are available in the case this happens.

The heater in the drying room is a large industrial heater, which we use as the primary heater to heat the entire lodge, so it operates 24 hours a day, and throws out a ton of heat! In the mornings when people leave for the mountain, the room can often cool down as people open the sliding doors to outside. If the drying room still isn't warm enough, then guests are always welcome to put their gear in their rooms. We feel our drying room works a treat, so I'm sorry it wasn't warm enough when you experienced it.

Again, we are sorry that we didn't live up to your expectations during your stay. Please get in touch again if you feel you have been double charged, as we would like the chance to rectify it.

We hope we can welcome you back to Moiwa in the future.

Regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 February 2018 via mobile

A very nice lodge in Moiwa only 250m from the slopes. Staff is super friendly, caring and helpful. I stayed in a 6-bed room with some friends that had both toilet and shower. Beds were amazingly good and I slept very well (all the hiking was probably also a contributing factor). There were several rooms and one bar were you could hang-out and socialise with other skiers. The lodge also have a drying room for all your gear. All in all a very pleasant experience and very good “price-performance. We will most certainly come back!

Stayed: February 2018, travelled with friends
Thank Jonas F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 January 2018

Erin and Dirk, their kids + staff are fantastic hosts. Very attentive to each guest - helping with weather forecasts, riding tips, trips to other areas etc. The place feels more like a home than a commercial lodge. It's an awesome place and you feel welcome the minute you walk in the door.

Yukari and the kitchen staff are great and did a SUPER job catering to our youngest son who cannot eat wheat (coeliac). Really, really, really superb!! Thanks you sooooo much. We all loved the food: simple, but excellent. The beer is cold and there is great Umeshu in the bar. Pretty much everything one needs to live well.

Although, as other reviewers have observed, the owners and staff speak English, this is definitely NOT the Hirafu-style desecration that people who have been lucky enough to travel to Japan for years/decades have watched unfold on the other side of the mountain. Whether it's your first trip here or you've been before, I'm pretty sure you'd be very happy here and appreciative of what Erin and Dirk have built.

To Erin, Dirk and the whole 'family' at Moiwa Lodge: thanks for everything you did to make our holiday great. We are all far better for having experienced your hospitality. We'll be back.

Laura, Andrew, Xavi and Gabes.

Room Tip: Talk to Erin or Dirk before booking and they'll help you choose the best room for your needs.
  • Stayed: January 2018, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank the_Andrew_Gray
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews