We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brings out the Tiger in you!”

Paro Taktsang (Tiger’s Nest)
Book In Advance
More Info
USD 2,613.00*
and up
Wonderful Bhutan Tour- 8 Nights 9 Days
Ranked #1 of 18 things to do in Paro
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Reviewed 6 April 2018 via mobile

It’s one of the most challenging treks I have recently done. It was hard treacherous painful and I thought of quitting some times.

But when you make it at the top it totally makes the whole effort worth it!

Tiger nest is one of the most demanding spots I have ever visited with my wife and 2 small daughters aged 6 and 7 years.

Make sure you take at least a few packets of biscuits and some water with you. A little snack keeps you energised.

Take your own time to climb this humongous mountain with ample breaks in between.

Definable you worth your time

Date of experience: April 2018
1  Thank Kamathresidency
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (690)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"half way"
in 69 reviews
"walking stick"
in 44 reviews
"take your time"
in 33 reviews
"start early"
in 28 reviews
"stone steps"
in 8 reviews
"tea house"
in 14 reviews
"the cliff"
in 27 reviews
"hard work"
in 11 reviews
"halfway point"
in 21 reviews
"carry water"
in 14 reviews
"two hours"
in 15 reviews
"starting point"
in 13 reviews
"challenging trek"
in 6 reviews
"crackers"
in 7 reviews
"bucket list"
in 16 reviews
"own pace"
in 9 reviews
"avoid the crowds"
in 6 reviews
Filter

278 - 282 of 690 reviews

Reviewed 5 April 2018

Make sure and get hiking poles and snacks for the Journey, as when you leave the cafe at the mid point there is no way to get anything again.

Date of experience: March 2018
Thank FM380
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 April 2018

My three sisters and I started hiking at 6:30 a.m. We were the only ones on the trail, except for one other hiker. We were so glad we got an early start. Coming down, we met dozens of those who got a later start.

Date of experience: March 2018
Thank Becky M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 April 2018

This is such an iconic spot. The hike is not too difficult, however, you musty be aware of the altitude and pace yourself. There is a cafe half way up, wear layers to cover the temperature variations and take your time. It is a most staggering visual from all angles and, the monastery itself, does not disappoint once you’ve made it. Allow 5-6 hours, you’ll cherish every minute!

Date of experience: March 2018
Thank tmpars7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 3 April 2018 via mobile

Wow, spectacular and well worth the effort. We used horses to get us halfway and was so glad we did as the second half was much easier but that could have also been due to energy saved. If you do nothing else in Bhutan, this is a must.

Date of experience: March 2018
Thank MarkMcG1956
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Paro Taktsang (Tiger’s Nest) also viewed

 
Thimphu, Thimphu District
Paro, Paro District
 

Been to Paro Taktsang (Tiger’s Nest)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing