We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Their "man's best friend" policy was unreal!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
TownePlace Suites San Jose Campbell
Ranked #6 of 9 Hotels in Campbell
Reviewed 23 June 2016

Stayed there at Christmas time and it was pleasant if uninspiring. We came back with a small dog in June and besides the high price for the room, we were told that a dog fee for one night would be $150. Needless to say, we cancelled and found clean very ample room at Best Western with a minimal pet fee. Perhaps if the TownPlace Suites were "special" it might be tolerated. But it is an overpriced plain Jane property.

Room Tip: Get a room on the park side, not the freeway side
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2016, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Margaret R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TPSCampbellSales, General Manager at TownePlace Suites San Jose Campbell, responded to this reviewResponded 24 June 2016

Margaret,

I am very sorry that you did not know about our pet fee. We have it listed five times on our website and is available through reservations and your travel agent.

I apologize that you had to cancel your reservation.

Jill
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (87)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

19 - 23 of 87 reviews

Reviewed 20 June 2016

As frequent Marriott customers, we have come to expect a consistent experience that one should be able to expect from a brand in the Marriott family of accomodations. However, consistency is not guaranteed. Our family of two adults, one child and one 10 lb. dog booked a one-night stay on our moving trip to California from Washington. The cost was $132 for one night. Upon arrival, we were asked first how much the dog weighed and told that we would be charged a $150 pet fee. Supposedly to cover the mandatory cleaning that would be the result of this one night stay with a pet. Apparently if the pet had weighed 25 lbs, we would have just been turned away. The staff were unapologetic and cited that we should have known, it was clearly stated on the website, etc. To make matters worse, I later received a similar message from the General Manager who pointed out that we had in fact paid a $25 pet fee the previous night in Oregon at another TownePlace, also for a $132 booking (the ratio of room rate to pet fee was apparently irrelevant). So...again, I should have known. The customer doesn't always need to be right, but the business needn't work so hard to insist that the customer is wrong. I congratulated them on the windfall of the $150 they 'earned' for the dog, in addition to our $132 stay. Shameful.

  • Stayed: May 2016, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
2  Thank DeannazSEA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TPSCampbellSales, Manager at TownePlace Suites San Jose Campbell, responded to this reviewResponded 21 June 2016

Ms. DeannazSEA,

Thank you for your review and feedback.

I am sorry that you did not see our pet fee and pet policy on our website where you booked. TownePlace Suites and Residence Inns accept pets, but each hotel has their on fee and their own policy.

At this hotel, we have a $150 pet fee and accept one pet under 25 pounds and accommodate the pets on the 1st floor. Please always contact each hotel to ask about their policy and to let them know that you are bringing your pet.

Thank you again for your time and I am sorry that you did not have a great stay.

Jill
General Manager



Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2016

I had the pleasure of being a part of the TownePlace Suites family for nearly six months. Jill (the GM) and her entire staff make one feel welcome each and every day and their hospitality is wonderful. They really understand how to make one feel "at home" and a valued customer.

Room Tip: Higher floors and park-facing view rooms are best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2016, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alice W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TPSCampbellSales, General Manager at TownePlace Suites San Jose Campbell, responded to this reviewResponded 21 June 2016

Alice,

Thank you so much for the kind words about the hotel. We appreciate your time and feedback.

Jill
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2016

This was our third time here, we've come about every three years to visit family in the area. The value really can't be beat, as the rooms are a great size for the price and having a kitchen inside and the huge park behind the property are both amazing bonuses. I felt the breakfast has improved since our last visit and the rooms have definitely been kept up. We needed a pullout couch and it was a little nerve-wracking since they couldn't guarantee one over their busy holiday weekend, but we ended up getting one and all was well. I'm sure we'll be back!

Room Tip: We always like overlooking the park, though this time we looked over the highway and that was fine t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2016, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank crazyandcrazier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 April 2016

This was a very nice hotel, the room was very clean and comfortable. We were on the creek side of the hotel and would recommend that side, because of the quietness and view of the creek and trail. There was a nice park very close by and all the restaurants you could want right down the street, great night life. shopping at the pruneyard across the street.

Room Tip: Creek side room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2016, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Anot7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TPSCampbellSales, General Manager at TownePlace Suites San Jose Campbell, responded to this reviewResponded 21 June 2016

Anot7,

Thank you so much for your feedback about the hotel and details on Downtown Campbell and the Los Gatos Creek Trail.

I am glad that you were able to enjoy the neighborhood.

Jill
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Campbell hotels
2.1 km away
Larkspur Landing Campbell
0.5 km away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Campbell - Pruneyard Plaza
0.8 km away
Courtyard San Jose Campbell
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 km away
Residence Inn San Jose Campbell
2.5 km away
Bristol Hotel
Bristol Hotel
#4 of 9 in Campbell
167 reviews
0.1 km away
Campbell Inn
Campbell Inn
#8 of 9 in Campbell
181 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to TownePlace Suites San Jose Campbell? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about TownePlace Suites San Jose Campbell

Address: 700 E Campbell Ave, Campbell, CA 95008-2104
Region: United States > California > Campbell
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 9 Hotels in Campbell
Price Range: $154 - $445 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — TownePlace Suites San Jose Campbell 2.5*
Number of rooms: 95
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Limited service, extended stay hotel located in the heart of Campbell, California (island city surrounded by San Jose). Next to the Campbell Park, Los Gatos Creek Trail, Downtown Campbell and the Pruneyard Shopping Center. Ideal for pets ($100 fee) and long term stays. Our pet policy includes 1 pet per room with a 25 lbs weight limit. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia APAC, Booking.com, Evoline ltd, lastminute.com.au, Wotif.com, getaroom.com, Hooroo Pty Ltd, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your TownePlace Suites San Jose Campbell reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Towneplace Suites San Jose Campbell Hotel Campbell
Towneplace Suites Campbell

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing