We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A unique and wonderful experience”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Rincon de La Vieja
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
La Posada el Encuentro
Reviewed 15 July 2007

My husband and I stayed at this lovely bed & breakfast last week as part of our honeymoon in Costa Rica. We had booked the lodge based on reviews we read on-line, so it seems only in good karma to return the favor to others. Overall, we were very pleasantly surprised with La Posada. Luis and Sharon are WONDERFUL hostesses - we truly felt taken care of and as if we were with family.. Luis picked us up from the first resort we stayed at, drove us to the volcano for our sight-seeing and hike through the jungle, and then finally to the Libera airport for our flight back to the States. So we never had to worry about transportation. Luis and Sharon are both very warm and welcoming. Sharon is an excellent gormet cook. Delicious! And Luis is like a father - when we hiked at the volcano, he was concerned if I had a light jacket in case of rain, made sure we had a map, etc. Their home is well-kept and neat. We were pleased with our room - though the beds could be a little softer. We also wished there was air-conditioning, but at the same time we were surprised at how cool the place actually was with just ceiling fans. This seems the case because of its location at a higher elevation. The view, too, from La Posado is breath-taking. You can see a panoramic sweep of the countryside, volcano, and even to Nicaragua. Unlike our resort experience at another hotel, which was also lovely, La Posado offered a cultural experience and I feel like I know CR much better for it. Thank you, Luis and Sharon....

  • Stayed: July 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank amsf32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (27)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

14 - 18 of 27 reviews

Reviewed 7 July 2007

As previous reviews will attest, La Posada is a great little B & B. Luis, Sharon, Peter, and the family could not have been kinder. Most people who travel to CR will tell you that one of the best things about the country is the people and La Posada exemplifies that!

Sharon welcomed my family (which included a cranky 2 year old!) with tropical fruit drinks and then wowed us with her dinners. Breakfast was served in the sunroom and included more tropical fruit, eggs, pancakes...Sharon was always more than willing to help me appease my kiddo and even made him the boxed mac n cheese that I brought along just in case!

The rooms at La Posada are lovely and the pool is welcoming. Be forwarned however, that there is no AC. This wasn't a problem in our room in the main house since there was a great ceiling fan, but we heard that the casitas did not have this luxury.

Rincon de la vieja is a great place to visit if your plans include some great hiking, and La Posada is definitely the best place to stay!

  • Stayed: July 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank spk3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 June 2007

This lovely spot was recommended to us by the proprietor of Hotel Conchal (recommended) where we had been staying in Playa Brasalito. He called ahead for us and arranged our booking for one night and we ended up staying there a whole week! Here's why:
This is a very friendly family-run operation and offers accommodation for everyone from couples to entire families. The rooms are spacious and comfortable. It is situated on a beautiful hilltop with expansive views of the local volcanoes and surrounding countryside. There is a pool and deck area for having drinks and enjoying the beautiful sunset views. Rincon de la Vieja National Park is a few minutes drive up the road. The town of Liberia is just minutes away. But here's the kicker: this was our third trip to Costa Rica and we have never been too impressed with the food of the country (a little gallo pinto goes a long way!) However, Sharon Venegas, the lovely wife of our dear friend Luis the proprietor, is an absolutely marvelous chef! We ate breakfast and dinner there every day and never felt any desire to try one of the restaurants in nearby Liberia - the food was that good! We kept dragging Sharon out of the kitchen to compliment her and to ask her to share her secrets with us. Each time she showed the enthusiasm and love of cuisine that all great cooks share. She was very patient with our relative lack of Spanish comprehension and was able to translate the ingredients for us with Luis' help. A lovely woman who worked very hard to make our experience there a memorable one. As did her husband, who we found to be a very charming gentleman with a great sense of humor. He was very helpful to us and we couldn't have asked for a more genial host.
Needless to say, we recommend this humble yet charming little inn to anyone except perhaps the luxury-oriented traveler who wants to lie around by the pool all day and be pampered head to toe and order room service, although Luis and Sharon would probably be willing to accommodate you if that were your bent.
Horseback riding, whitewater rafting, canopy tours, waterfall hikes, volcano exploring, hot springs, etc... are all available in the nearby Rincon de la Vieja National Park. A great place to visit, especially when Luis and Sharon are your hosts! Very highly recommended.

  • Stayed: February 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Hansonics
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 May 2007

My wife and I are a Costa Rican couple who just came back home from our stay at Posada el Encuentro. I can't wait to go back to this posada!

My wife and I stayed three nights and we wish we had stayed at least two more nights. There's a lot to do in the Rincon de la Vieja area and Posada el Encuentro is in our opinion the best lodging option to plan your trip to this beautiful region. The owners, Luis and Sharon, give this B&B a very special touch. The food was delicious, the rooms big and super clean and the views from the back of the property were superb. Don Luis is one of the most accommodating and courteous persons we know. We plan to go back to Posada el Encuentro before the end of this year, so, Luis and Sharon, Roxy and I will see you again!

Regards,
Mauricio and Roxana

  • Stayed: May 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Mauricio D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 April 2007

My family (2 adults, 3 boys 12, 8 and 6 yrs old) stayed at the Posada in mid March, 2007. We LOVED the experience. Luis and Sharon (the owners) made our stay perfect. They are incredibly helpful, hardworking, very knowledgeable, extremally warm and pleasant folks!

We stayed in their family-sized cabina - it was HUGE with 5 beds! Windows on all sides for a beautiful view. And spotlessly clean!

We loved the swimming pool and the terrace with the gorgeous view of Rincon de la Vieja. What a great way to relax: the kids played for hours in the pool and we adults visited and read our books! We really liked the other guests...

We also very much enjoyed all our meals! Sharon is a very good cook and was really great about preparing meals that the adults liked and the kids, too!

Luis' english is excellent and he was delightful. I had originally contacted him by email; he responded immediately and had answers to all my questions.

I had asked Luis to help arrange transportation for us to the Liberia border - he drove us himself! And at the border, he walked us all the way into Nicaragua (through 3 checkpoints!) just to make sure that we were OK and even helped us find a good taxi driver! What a super nice person!

We also spent a day doing the activities at the Hacieda Guachipelin ($75 for all you could fit in and included a huge buffet lunch)! We loved the tubing (unforgettable!), the excellent and safe zipline, and the mudbaths... it was hilarious using paintbrushes to cover our bodies with mud!

But we were VERY glad to return to the Posada where we were welcomed like family!

  • Stayed: April 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cajeta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rincon de La Vieja hotels
0 km away
Buena Vista Lodge&Adventure
Buena Vista Lodge&Adventure
#3 of 7 in Rincon de La Vieja
516 reviews
0 km away
Hacienda Guachipelin
Hacienda Guachipelin
#4 of 7 in Rincon de La Vieja
1,414 reviews
0 km away
Canon de la Vieja Lodge
Canon de la Vieja Lodge
#5 of 7 in Rincon de La Vieja
303 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 km away
Blue River Resort & Hot Springs
Blue River Resort & Hot Springs
#1 of 7 in Rincon de La Vieja
1,018 reviews
0 km away
Hotel Borinquen Mountain Resort
Hotel Borinquen Mountain Resort
#2 of 7 in Rincon de La Vieja
816 reviews
0 km away
Rinconcito Lodge
Rinconcito Lodge
#2 of 5 in Rincon de La Vieja
232 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Posada el Encuentro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Posada el Encuentro

Address: 5 km East of Guadalupe Village, Rincon de La Vieja, Costa Rica
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Guanacaste > Rincon de La Vieja
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 7 Hotels in Rincon de La Vieja
Number of rooms: 7
Also Known As:
La Posada El Encuentro Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing