We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Jungle tour with Cesar”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hacienda Guachipelin
Reviewed 18 June 2012

Got back today (June 17th, 2012) after a great week in Costa Rica. Went to Hacienda Guachipelin for a jungle tour with Cesar (sp?) and loved it. He is a very good guide with a passion for the environment. He knows his biology, botany and native lore. We let a few larger groups pass us so we could slow it down and creep through the forest. Saw lots of wildlife and plants. It was a great experience and mostly because of Cesar. Pura Vida y PachaMama

Room Tip: Didn't stay at the lodge but the dining and tour service was great
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Timothy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 3 July 2012

Thank you very much for taking the time in writing this comments, we feel very happy that you enjoyed our hotel, and the activities, too bad you could not stayed with us, next time maybe ? :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,387)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

556 - 560 of 1,387 reviews

Reviewed 11 June 2012

The best reason for staying here is the easy access to the Rincon de la Vieja Nat. Park and its lovely forest and trails, fumeroles (steam rising from volcanic vents), and lovely streams; free access to the hacienda's fantastic hot spring pools in a beautiful setting by a roaring stream; free access to their two lovely waterfalls with adjacent swimming holes. Rooms are clean, service pleasant and helpful, and sleeping conditions very good. Lots of birds and monkeys too! Food at restaurant was less than mediocre and overpriced, and there are no other eating choices within miles. We recommend bringing lots of your own snacks, fruit, etc.

Room Tip: We stayed in a "superior room" which was fairly spacious with a nice shower and very quiet...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank antshrike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jose b, Manager at Hacienda Guachipelin, responded to this reviewResponded 13 June 2012

Thank you very much for your comments, I am glad you enjoyed your stay and took advantage of the proximity to the National Park.
Truly the Hacienda has a lot to offer.
We feel sorry you didn´t liked our food.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 June 2012

Just got back from CR and stayed two very pleasant nights at HG. The location to Rincon National Park and to Liberia cannot be beat. The rural setting is amazing and you will wake (early) to the sights and sounds of parrots, burros, cows and dogs. Our room was clean and comfortable. The breakfast is plentiful and of good quality (eggs, rice, beans, fried plantains, toast, fresh fruit, OJ and coffee). The restaurant is open air any very scenic, you will feel like you are in a tree fort. The Canopy Bar is very simple, small with picnic tables and two flat screen TVs. Lunch and dinner both can be enjoyed in the restaurant or the bar (Wi-Fi in both). Service was friendly and excellent all around. The welcome drink a nice touch. Overall, a positive experience and would recommend.

I hate to say anything negative about HG, but just a few observations/notes:
Curtains not room-darkening, in-room safety lock box pretty much a joke, A/C sufficient but not super cold, pool chairs very uncomfortable (maybe we needed to ask for cushions?) and no hair dryer in room (again, just an observation).

You may want to bring your own shampoo, conditioner and soap if you're particular about these things. This would apply to all the hotels in CR.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NekoCat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jose b, Manager at Hacienda Guachipelin, responded to this reviewResponded 13 June 2012

Hello dear friend, I can see you are a nature lover, people like you is the one that truly enjoys Hacienda Guachipelin, I am very glad you found us and you enjoyed your stay. Thank you very much also with your suggestions for improving we will take note on that. Hopefully you can come back soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 June 2012

Well as there isn't alot of choices in the area to have lunch we stopped here. We used the Pool and had lunch. I can't say enough about the staff and especially how clean the pool was. One of the cleanest I have used in Costa Rica and very refreshing not hot.
Now as we live in Costa Rica we know what good tico food is, my wife is Tica.... The food was super expensive at 15$ for a casado where at a soda would cost you 6. We figured well maybe it will be great because it was so expensive. However when it came we were very disappointed. The fish was super salty,minimal amount of beans, salad was way too acidic with lemon. My 2 year old didn't even want to eat and he loves fish, My bistec was tasteless,no sauteed onions just a very poor typical meal. I saw some sodas on the way out and suggest you eat with them. 1 they could really use the business and 2 you will get an amazing meal.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank puravidasteve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jose b, Manager at Hacienda Guachipelin, responded to this reviewResponded 13 June 2012

Hello PuraVidaSteve, thanks for the time in writing your review, thank you very much for the good comments on our staff, very important for us the good service and the cleanness of the pool, regarding the food, please accept our apologies, it is usually very good quality and the majority of our guests enjoys it very much. We will investigate what happened to see if can improve.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2012

We recently spent one night at the Hotel Hacienda Guachipelin. The room was totally clean and very pleasant. It is a beautiful rural setting and has a great atmosphere. The restaurant was excellent and we thought it was a very good value.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Laurie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jose b, Manager at Hacienda Guachipelin, responded to this reviewResponded 13 June 2012

Thank you very much for the time in writing this nice comments. We feel very happy that you liked the Hacienda and enjoyed our food. Hope you can come back soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rincon de La Vieja
5.6 km away
Buena Vista Lodge&Adventure
Buena Vista Lodge&Adventure
#4 of 7 in Rincon de La Vieja
496 reviews
11.7 km away
Canon de la Vieja Lodge
Canon de la Vieja Lodge
#5 of 7 in Rincon de La Vieja
299 reviews
39 km away
Celeste Mountain Lodge
Celeste Mountain Lodge
#1 of 5 in Bijagua de Upala
714 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
33.1 km away
Andaz Peninsula Papagayo Resort
Andaz Peninsula Papagayo Resort
#1 of 13 in Gulf of Papagayo
1,673 reviews
17.5 km away
Blue River Resort & Hot Springs
Blue River Resort & Hot Springs
#1 of 7 in Rincon de La Vieja
1,000 reviews
7.4 km away
Hotel Borinquen Mountain Resort
Hotel Borinquen Mountain Resort
#2 of 7 in Rincon de La Vieja
805 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hacienda Guachipelin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hacienda Guachipelin

Address: Parque Nacional Rincon de la Vieja, Rincon de La Vieja 208-50101, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Guanacaste > Rincon de La Vieja
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Rincon de La Vieja
Price Range: $106 - $316 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hacienda Guachipelin 3*
Number of rooms: 54
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hacienda Guachipelin is a comfortable hotel with 54 rooms, each with private bathroom and hot water. The best Costa Rican ecotourism lodge for adventure travel and nature lovers, located at the entrance of Rincon de la Vieja Volcano National Park. This is the most visited National Park in Guanacaste. For the adventurer, there are many activities like horseback riding, the Canyon canopy tour, Rio Negro Tubing, canyoneering, bird watching, as well as trekking to the crater of Rincon de la Vieja Volcano. Free transportation to the National Park and the hot springs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia APAC, Booking.com, Wotif.com, Evoline ltd, lastminute.com.au, Odigeo, Hooroo Pty Ltd, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Hacienda Guachipelin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hacienda Guachipelin Hotel Rincon De La Vieja

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing