We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wildlife is at the door”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hacienda Guachipelin
Reviewed 10 March 2012

Guanacaste is a hotter drier area than much of the rest of the traditional tourist circuit of Costa Rica, but Hacienda Guachelpin is a wonderful green oasis in this lovely National Park. The resort accommodation bounds a lovely garden with tall trees and flowering shrubs that are greatly attractive to colourful birds. Parrots, toucans, trogons and lively wrens are the highlights here. From the restaurant there is an ever changing scene below with horses and cattle being herded in by horsemen, and more birds; motmots or squirrel cuckoos likely to call by. From here it is a short drive to the hiking trails in the Parque Nacional Rincon de la Vieja. Paths lead among tall forest trees to the steam vents and mud pools that make the volcanic landscape famous. The pool, the restaurant, the staff all help to make a stay here such a memorable experience.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lizziesbirds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jose b, Manager at Hacienda Guachipelin, responded to this reviewResponded 13 March 2012

Hi, I see you like birds, I am glad you could see a great deal of them, they truly are beautiful and they can easily be seen at the hotel gardens or at the national park which is very close. We hope to see you soon back with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,379)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

588 - 592 of 1,379 reviews

Reviewed 9 March 2012

This place is just cool! The grounds are beautiful. It is a working ranch, so keep that in mind. It's very close to the entrance to the National Park. The road in is not the best, but that's Costa Rica. Go with it - it's part of the charm of the country. You can make it without a 4x4. Staff was very nice, rooms are very large and clean. The food is just ok. Pick up some snacks in Liberia before you venture up the dirt road. There is a lot to do on the grounds of the hotel as well as taking great hikes into Rincon de la Vieja.

Room Tip: Unless you love the smell of a working ranch, ask for a room away from the stables.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank redaries
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jose b, Manager at Hacienda Guachipelin, responded to this reviewResponded 13 March 2012

Hello friends, thank you very much for the time to write this comment , I can se you captured perfectly what Hacienda Guachipelin really is, a working ranch, for people that loves animals and you get to share with them very close, very close to the entrance to the park, and yes, very good advice of enjoying the bad roads that takes you to nice places, this roads don´t allow you to go fast so you can enjoy the panorama. We are glad you enjoyed your stay. We would like to see you back soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 February 2012

Nice hotel Did not eat dinner there did have the lunch buffet and the breakfast that came with the room and those meals were good.The adventure tour [zip line,horse riding,tubing,and hot springs]were worth the extra $85.My only complaint was that the bottom fitted bed sheet would not stay on thusly slept on the matteras thru out the night.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank skiextrm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jbatalla, Manager at Hacienda Guachipelin, responded to this reviewResponded 1 March 2012

Hello friends, thanks for sharing your comments, we are glad you enjoyed our meals, and the adventure activities we offer, let us check what went wrong with the sheet you mention. Sorry for the inconvenience, we truly apologize.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 February 2012

This hotel is a great find. Although it accommodates many travelers, it feels peaceful and intimate; you can easily find a quiet spot to sit and read or watch nature, and you can just as easily arrange to go zip lining or tubing. There is free transportation, leaving every two hours or so, to the park and thermal pools. But even if you don't go to the park, there's lots to do. Some beautiful falls are just a mile or so from the hotel.

The staff were just lovely, very attentive and gracious. We ate from the buffet and were delighted by the quality of the food. The fish is especially good.

All in all, a lovely place with something for everyone--and only thirty minutes from Liberia.

Room Tip: Travellers who have im
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank crocus47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jbatalla, Manager at Hacienda Guachipelin, responded to this reviewResponded 1 March 2012

Dear friend, thank you very much for your comments, we feel very happy that you had such a great time with us and enjoyed all our activities for all ages and likes, we hope to see you soon back with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 February 2012

The Hacienda Guachipelin is in a great location just minutes (by car) to the national park. The spa was a great experience. For 5000 colones($10) you get to do the 6 step volcanic mud painting. It was great fun, and made our skin very soft. Our room was clean, was very quiet. But I must say the beds where the most uncomfortable thing I have ever slept in, in my life. They felt like they where from the 70's. This is the reason I'm giving this hotel 3 out of 5. I had a horrible sleep both nights I stayed here. The food was great, But I would recommend eating at the bar (which is below the main restaurant) they have the same menu as the main dinning room. But much more relaxed. The only waiter/bar tender was a great guy, very friendly had great recommendations from tasty drinks. Plus they allow the hotel dogs down there. Which we really enjoyed.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank IslandDrifter23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jbatalla, Manager at Hacienda Guachipelin, responded to this reviewResponded 21 February 2012

Hello friend, thanks for your post, we always take in consideration this kind of posts and they help us to get better everyday, we are so sorry you had a bad night, we change matresses constantly, not allowing them to go that bad. On the other hand we are glad you enjoyed the rest of the hotel, specially the mud baths, and the food at our bar with the dogs. :) Let us check what happenned with the bed, we hope to see you back.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rincon de La Vieja
5.6 km away
Buena Vista Lodge&Adventure
Buena Vista Lodge&Adventure
#4 of 7 in Rincon de La Vieja
487 reviews
11.7 km away
Canon de la Vieja Lodge
Canon de la Vieja Lodge
#5 of 7 in Rincon de La Vieja
295 reviews
33.1 km away
Andaz Peninsula Papagayo Resort
Andaz Peninsula Papagayo Resort
#1 of 13 in Gulf of Papagayo
1,638 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
39.0 km away
Celeste Mountain Lodge
Celeste Mountain Lodge
#1 of 5 in Bijagua de Upala
706 reviews
34.7 km away
El Mangroove, Autograph Collection
17.5 km away
Blue River Resort & Hot Springs
Blue River Resort & Hot Springs
#1 of 7 in Rincon de La Vieja
989 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hacienda Guachipelin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hacienda Guachipelin

Address: Parque Nacional Rincon de la Vieja, Rincon de La Vieja 208-50101, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Guanacaste > Rincon de La Vieja
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Rincon de La Vieja
Price Range: $124 - $272 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hacienda Guachipelin 3*
Number of rooms: 54
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hacienda Guachipelin is a comfortable hotel with 54 rooms, each with private bathroom and hot water. The best Costa Rican ecotourism lodge for adventure travel and nature lovers, located at the entrance of Rincon de la Vieja Volcano National Park. This is the most visited National Park in Guanacaste. For the adventurer, there are many activities like horseback riding, the Canyon canopy tour, Rio Negro Tubing, canyoneering, bird watching, as well as trekking to the crater of Rincon de la Vieja Volcano. Free transportation to the National Park and the hot springs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Wotif.com, Expedia APAC, Evoline ltd, Booking.com, lastminute.com.au, Hooroo Pty Ltd, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Hacienda Guachipelin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hacienda Guachipelin Hotel Rincon De La Vieja

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing