We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Heaven in Cambria” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Rigdon House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Rigdon House
Ranked #8 of 25 Cambria B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Westminster, California
Level Contributor
35 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Heaven in Cambria”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 October 2011

We were a group of 7 with 4 suites total for our annual get together in Cambria. The rooms were great. Large, quiet and comfortable. Terry took such good care of us that it was hard to leave. We have booked for next year and may actually visit sooner. The evening wine social is not to be missed!! Thanks Terry!!!

Room Tip: All good rooms. Pictures available of each of the 12 suites on their website.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank John H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

314 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    201
    72
    18
    12
    11
See reviews for
52
167
7
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 October 2011

We stayed here for one night in Sept 2011 as part of our trip down the Pacific Coast Highway. It was a big spacious suite in a great location for visiting Hearst Castle. Although breakfast wasn't included in internet bookings, the host still extended the offer to us. A pleasant stay.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ward_KE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 October 2011

We stumbled upon the Burton Inn. and were greeted by Terri (Host) with a beautiful welcoming and friendly smile & shown to the most beautiful,& huge room overlooking the parklands.

The suite had a huge,bedroom along with a lovely lounge area lovely bathroom & equiped with everything you would ever need, you could stay for days.

Breakfast was outstanding, very healthy, and wholesome all made for a wonder start to the day.Thankyou Terri we shall be back.

Room Tip: Very quiet & peaceful surroundings
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Deirdre M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hilo, Hawaii
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 October 2011

My girlfriend and I recently did a two-week road trip from San Francisco to Santa Barbara and stayed at the Burton Inn in Cambria for four nights in September 2011. During the trip we stayed at several very good hotels but the highlight was the Burton Inn - a place we can't wait to visit again.

On arrival we were immediately upgraded to a "superior suite" which was simply stunning. A huge room with beautiful furniture and decor and despite just being off the main lobby, very quiet and relaxing and kept extraordinarily clean each day by the staff who seemed to know when we were leaving for the day and had the room cleaned before we knew it.

Each day started with a very nice breakfast and a special menu devised for my girlfriend who had some strict dietary requirements - this was much more than we expected and certainly wasn't something we requested. In the late afternoon/early evening wine was left out in the very comfortable lobby/lounge for the guests to drink and socialise and this was the best part of the stay I think. We met so many people and had the most fascinating conversations with people from all over the world (but mainly from Australia it seemed!). These evenings and the wine would go on as long as people wanted to stay which I thought was very special hospitality by the owners, Terry and Jim. Even if guests didn't want to socialise, which only happened on one evening, Terry was there to help us finish the wine and have a delightful chat!

The place is only a couple of minutes walk from several excellent restaurants and Mozzi's Saloon - a local bar that might not be for everyone but was very welcoming to us and friendly - it's always good to make friends with the locals!

Overall the highlight of our road trip and we can't wait to return!

Tom

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Hokulea777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 September 2011

I have vacationed in Paso Robles and done wine tasting for over 10 years and never encountered a hotel that I would stay at more than the Burton Inn. Clean, reasonably priced and a joy to stay at have been my experience here all of the times I have visited Cambria. Just a short drive to the wonderful wineries in Paso Robles, near the ocean and great restaurants awaits the weary traveler. This hotel is a real gem in my book!

  • Stayed September 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Vinito
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cambria hotels
0.4 km away
Cambria Pines Lodge
Cambria Pines Lodge
#3 of 12 in Cambria
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,257 reviews
3.6 km away
Fireside Inn on Moonstone Beach
3.2 km away
FogCatcher Inn
FogCatcher Inn
#6 of 12 in Cambria
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,623 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 km away
Pelican Inn & Suites
Pelican Inn & Suites
#4 of 12 in Cambria
4.5 of 5 bubbles 792 reviews
2.2 km away
El Colibri Hotel and Spa
El Colibri Hotel and Spa
#10 of 12 in Cambria
4.0 of 5 bubbles 210 reviews
3.5 km away
Sea Otter Inn
Sea Otter Inn
#5 of 12 in Cambria
4.5 of 5 bubbles 748 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Rigdon House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Rigdon House

Property: The Rigdon House
Address: 4022 Burton Dr, Cambria, CA 93428-3002 (Formerly Burton Inn)
Region: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > Cambria
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 25 B&Bs / Inns in Cambria
Price range (per night): $174 - $340
Hotel Class:3 star — The Rigdon House 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A famed Cambrian landmark dating back to 1865, The Rigdon House showcases impressive two-room suites with more than 600 square feet of comfortably elegant space, our suites offer guests all the comforts of home. Family suites provide parents and their children uncompromising comfort with private bedrooms and cable TV. Located in the beautiful village of Cambria, The Rigdon House is a delightful hotel, set in the midst of fine dining, shops, and unique galleries. Indulge yourself with the timeless historical elegance of one of the most celebrated hotels in Cambria. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your The Rigdon House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Burton Hotel Cambria
Burton b&b

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing