We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Welcoming staff, great breakfast, but avoid room 802”
Review of FogCatcher Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
FogCatcher Inn
Ranked #8 of 12 Hotels in Cambria
Certificate of Excellence
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 5 Contributor
81 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Welcoming staff, great breakfast, but avoid room 802”
Reviewed 21 August 2012

The FogCatcher is one of over a dozen motels spread along Moonstone Beach. Like everything else from Cambria to SLO, they give one sticker shock. (I pay less for a decent room in NYC.) However, the FogCatcher has a cheery, helpful staff and one of the best "free" breakfasts I've had in a long time. The maid must have thought we were a honeymoon couple since she made a very cute heart out of bath towels and flowers to stand on our bed. With some overstatement, management describes the property as an "English village", but it is bright and cheerful with walkways through well-tended garden areas. Given my track record of visiting Hearst Castle every 50 years, it seems unlikely the occasion to stay again will arise, but I would certainly consider the FogCatcher again.

But not room 802. Described as an ocean-view suite, it is one of the few rooms to have a room above it. Construction standards could be better -- the two-year-old who decided 11:30 p.m. was time for Romper Room shook the place. More importantly, the room is below-grade (i.e. partially underground), so the "ocean-view" is of people's feet and hubcaps on the road separating you from the beach (which is also 25 feet below). Finally, the free wi-fi doesn't reach 802, so we visited other people's rooms or the breakfast room to connect.

Although I didn't see inside it, I would also avoid the 2 bedroom, kitchenette "family room." It's directly across (10 feet) from the breakfast room, so expect a lot of early morning activity and strangers sitting at the tables and chairs outside your door.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank thayersn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,928 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,127
    570
    149
    59
    23
See reviews for
641
915
28
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (371)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Nottingham, UK.
Level 5 Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 August 2012

After a long drive down the BIG SUR this was a very welcoming place. Upon arriving, we were presented with a bottle of local wine as it was our 25th Wedding Anniversary. From the front door we could see the ocean. The room were very nice and very clean. Really enjoyed the Complimentary breakfast and had a nice long walk along the boardwalk. It was just a one stop night for us but would reccomend this and its great location.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wfalcon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Waco, TX
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2012

Had a friend who recommended from staying there years ago. Was expecting what she described and was disappointed. Got a room on back row with the view of a wall. Small and had an odor. Management couldn't have been nicer-just didn't have a room left to switch us to. The managements concern helped make up for the problem. Breakfast was great and the view once outside the room was amazing. Was only a short visit for our visit to the Hearst Castle.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mimiinwaco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tucson, AZ
Level 6 Contributor
96 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2012

My wife and I spent a night here in July and had a great time. The room was actually a small suite with a sitting room and a seperate bedroom. There was a gas fireplace in the sitting room which made it cozy on a cool evening. From the sitting room there was a view of the ocean which was nice. The included breakfast was pretty good with a good selection. The furniture in the room was a bit worn, but not enough to significantly detract from the overall charm. Everyone of the staff we had contact with were great - friendly and knowledgeable.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank OldCajun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 August 2012

We had never been to this Inn but were pleasantly pleased and surprised. Checked in a bit early but they had our rooms ready. We booked two rooms for two nights. Upon arriving, we were offered warm cookies. From our front door we could see the ocean. Rooms were very nice and very clean. We could cross the road easily to sit and watch the sunset or walk the boardwalk. Complimentary breakfast was delicious, with lots of choices and fresh pastry from a local bakery. Best complimentary breakfast we had on our trip! Wish we could have stayed longer because it was the most relaxing stay of our entire trip. We will definitely return to this hotel for a long romantic weekend with my husband.

Room Tip: Make sure to ask for a room that has a view of the ocean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank VegasLady32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cambria hotels
0.5 km away
Fireside Inn on Moonstone Beach
0.1 km away
Pelican Inn & Suites
Pelican Inn & Suites
#7 of 12 in Cambria
987 reviews
1.0 km away
Oceanpoint Ranch
Oceanpoint Ranch
#5 of 12 in Cambria
370 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 km away
Blue Dolphin Inn
Blue Dolphin Inn
#1 of 12 in Cambria
861 reviews
0.2 km away
Sand Pebbles Inn
Sand Pebbles Inn
#2 of 12 in Cambria
808 reviews
0.2 km away
Cambria Landing Inn & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Recently Reviewed Hotels around Cambria

Been to FogCatcher Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about FogCatcher Inn

Property: FogCatcher Inn
Address: 6400 Moonstone Beach Drive, Cambria, CA 93428-1808
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > Cambria
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Cambria
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Cambria
#4 Romantic Hotel in Cambria
Price range (per night): $255 - $515
Hotel Class:3 star — FogCatcher Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideal for romantic getaways, families and groups, FogCatcher Inn is located within easy reach of the Hearst Castle, the Piedras Blancas Elephant Seal Rookery, an assortment of wineries and beautiful Moonstone Beach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia APAC, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Wotif.com, Hotels.com, Booking.com, lastminute.com.au, Hooroo Pty Ltd, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your FogCatcher Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fogcatcher Hotel Cambria
Fog Catcher Inn Cambria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing