We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“So-so lodging..”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Central Inn & Suites
Ranked #7 of 10 Hotels in Camarillo
Arroyo Grande, California
Level Contributor
101 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“So-so lodging..”
Reviewed 14 March 2012

The bed was rock-hard, three tissues in the box, and the complimentary breakfast was the weakest I have ever seen at a HIE: no meats, no gravy, just breads and powdered "scrambled" eggs. It did have all the usual juices, cereals, etc., but don't count on this to get your day started properly. Spend a little money, innkeeper!

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jonhartz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, ihgcare at Central Inn & Suites, responded to this review, 6 April 2012
Dear Jonhartz,

Thank you for taking the time to communicate your concerns. I apologize that your experience with our hotel did not meet your expectations.

We rely on you, our guest, to let us know how we are doing and how we can better meet your needs. I have taken note and wish to thank you for all your comments. These are of great importance to us and allow us to monitor and improve our service continually.

Thank you again for your comments. Your business is valued and we hope your future travel plans will continue to include IHG properties.

Sincerely,
Brenda J.
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

155 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    28
    42
    43
    25
    17
See reviews for
59
37
6
42
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Central Coast California
Level Contributor
47 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 January 2012

I have stayed here a few times now because the price is very reasonable. Before you book on a travel site, also call the hotel directly and find out what the actual price is. Sometimes it is even a better deal. This place is about half way between LA and Santa Barbara where the places to stay are extremely expensive. In the immediate vicinity of the hotel is mostly farm fields. But only a couple of miles south is the expansive Camarillo Premium Outlets as well as many places to eat. There are also other shopping opportunities, such as a Target, within 5 minutes or so on the freeway. About 10 minutes to the North is the Players Casino on Auto center Drive nestled in the middle of a bunch of car dealerships where they have poker and blackjack and a lot of action. Ask for a room NOT on the freeway side of the hotel. If they are full, bring earplugs for the freeway side. Also do not get your car washed before you stay here as if it is windy, the dust from the freeway and farm fields will blanket your car. This happened to me. The staff seemed genuinely concerned about how we enjoyed our stay and were happy to right any wrongs. The breakfast was average for a hotel free breakfast; better than most and not as good as some. It is on the second floor near the elevator. The pool and jacuzzi were on the freeway side so not as enjoyable as they could have been. The hotel was clean enough with nothing that stood out except maybe the area around the elevators could have been vacuumed better. The parking lot was recently resurfaced so it is nice. The rooms were great with a little kitchenette type area with a bar sink, small fridge, microwave and coffee maker. The heater/AC unit is on the wall and not a central thermostat so it was not the greatest as regulating the room temperature. Just like any hotel, there were the good and bad points. However, overall this place is a great value for the price.

Room Tip: NOT on freeway side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank akidcagal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rocky Mountain High
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 December 2011

We spent 5 days at the motel and were delighted with our choice! It was extremely clean, well-appointed, well-maintained, with friendly service and great facilities (looks like it has been re-done recently). We especially enjoyed the included hot breakfast, but the sparkling clean pool and hot tub, and the convenient exercise center were way up on our list. Free wi-fi and a well-equipped computer kiosk (2 computers, two printers, and paper so you could print your boarding passes) were marvelous. We have seen some bad reviews of this place and, let me tell you, they are without foundation. If you are in the Camarillo/Oxnard/Ventura area, stay here!

Room Tip: We stayed on the ground floor on the highway side. The courtyard side might be quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GeBeColorado
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charleston, South Carolina
Level Contributor
43 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 November 2011

I booked the room via Hotwire and was hoping to get the Hampton Inn & Suites, where we had stayed on prior visits. No such luck, but we figured how bad can it be? Well, as we entered to check in, no one was around. My husband said "hello" and a voice answered back "I'll be there in a minute." The desk clerk was dishevled looking, with his shirt untucked and the bottom button undone, showing is hairy, pouchy stomach -- yuck! The rooms are dated and just motel rooms, really. The bed was very, very hard. Oh my aching hips! The room was clean. OK, there's a positive! The breakfast room is on the 2nd floor. We didn't know that because the lovely night clerk neglected to tell us! The second day, we found it ourselves. We never saw a desk clerk present any time we went in or out of this hotel. Strange. Nothing special. At all. I'll pay the difference for the Hampton Inn next time.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank PalmettoMel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Camarillo hotels

Salem, Oregon
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 September 2011

This HIEXpress is lacking, The rooms are in need of an update. They are starting to look very dirty. There are stains on the walls, water stains on the ceiling, the bathrooms are getting gross. The hardware in the bathroom doesn't function the way it should, the shower curtains are moldy and smell. The rooms are OK sized. The breakfast is...well....on par with a Denny's. Kinda gross. Dried out eggs and some type of meat product. They do have yogurt, cereal and fruit. The staff is quite nice, but a little slow. The location isn't very good. Oh and the Sportsman grill located next to the hotel is TERRIBLE!!!! WHAT A DIVE! It's dark and looks like it hasn't been updated since the 70's. The service is awful too! One gum chewing, eye rolling, very unhappy and rude waitress was there to "serve" us as well as the other one or two patrons.....DO NOT DINE HERE!

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Che R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Camarillo
3.0 km away
Hampton Inn & Suites Camarillo
0.5 km away
Camarillo Executive Inn & Suites
4.4 km away
Good Nite Inn Camarillo
Good Nite Inn Camarillo
#3 of 10 in Camarillo
669 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 km away
Best Western Camarillo Inn
Best Western Camarillo Inn
#2 of 10 in Camarillo
339 reviews
6.7 km away
Residence Inn Camarillo
Residence Inn Camarillo
#4 of 10 in Camarillo
164 reviews
3.7 km away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Oxnard/Camarillo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Central Inn & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Central Inn & Suites

Property: Central Inn & Suites
Address: 4444 Central Ave, Camarillo, CA 93010-8305 (Formerly Holiday Inn Express Camarillo)
Region: United States > California > Camarillo
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 10 Hotels in Camarillo
Price range (per night): $163 - $164
Hotel Class:2 star — Central Inn & Suites 2*
Number of rooms: 105
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Central Inn & Suites Camarillo in the heart of the Ventura County.Conveniently located off Hwy 101 halfway between Los Angeles and Santa Barbara. Our hotel is minutes from Camarillo Premium Outlets, Naval Base Ventura County, the City of Oxnard and California State University Channel Islands. Indulge in our comfortably appointed non-smoking accommodations featuring the New Stay Smart Bedding Collection, the Guest Rated # 1 shower head by Kohler and upgraded Simply Smart bathroom amenities. Our Complimentary Express Start Buffet Breakfast features our signature Cinnamon Rolls and fresh fruit grown in Camarillo. Business travelers will appreciate being able to catch up on work in our business center or from your room with our wireless high-speed Internet access. Come stay with the Central Inn & Suites Camarillo, where our excellent hospitality, comfortable guest rooms and exceptional value blend perfectly for a memorable hotel experience.Businesses near hotel: Camarillo Airport, TriCal, Lockheed Martin, Seminis, Imation Corp, Semtech, Haas Automation Attractions near hotel: Camarillo Premium Outlets, Public Beaches, Camarillo Ranch House, Ronald Reagan Presidential Library. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Central Inn & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Camarillo Hotel Camarillo
Holiday Inn Camarillo
Camarillo Holiday Inn Express

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing