We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“kind, understanding and accommodating!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Aurora Park Cottages
Ranked #8 of 27 Calistoga B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
California
Level 1 Contributor
1 review
“kind, understanding and accommodating!”
Reviewed 1 December 2011

My husband and I recently enjoyed a vacation to Calistoga with our 16 month old daughter. This was the first time we tried this with a baby, or since the baby! We had made reservations somewhere else the first two nights and a few days prior to our trip, we were thinking about booking a 3rd night somewhere new. After much research, I called Aurora Park Cottages and spoke to Joe, who was very personable. I felt like I already knew him, the first time we spoke. He made me feel welcome and eased any worries I had about bringing the baby. ( They offer portacribs for the baby.) I told him that as much as we wanted to and hoped to stay our 3rd night with them in Calistoga, we were battling committing (financially) to the 3rd night because we weren't sure how it would be going by that time with our baby, especially since the weather report wasn't looking to be very dry. He told us that he understood our situation and if our daughter's mood was such that it would make the trip unenjoyable, that he would waive the cancellation charge. That eased our concerns and we made our reservation. When the time came to check in with Aurora Park, it was about to rain again and our daughter was definitely ready to go home. We went over to Aurora Park and talked to Joe. He very graciously didn't charge us for the reservation we didn't keep. He was compassionate to our needs as a young family and still happily showed us the beautiful cottage. Just sitting on the bed made me want to spend the night, it was so comfortable. The cottage was spacious and cozy and I look forward to staying there another time in the future. Speaking to and meeting Joe made it clear that we would be well taken care of and any way they could help our stay, they would do so. It is very rare to find someone in this business that is people oriented enough to give a break when it feels reasonable to do so, rather than blankly go with "business as usual" and just swipe our card and charge us for a night we wouldn't spend there. Thank You Joe, and Aurora Park Cottages, we look forward to spending time there!

Room Tip: I would want to be in a cottage further up the hill. The views are great from all of them however!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with family
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gina R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

184 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    165
    13
    4
    1
    1
See reviews for
9
124
2
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Bath, England, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
86 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 November 2011

We stayed here for one night, having mistakenly "booked" this room. The manager Kate would not let us cancel even though I had booked just the day before online, as I thought my enquiry was just that. We ended up arguing on the phone that I had made a mistake and we would be charged regardless (what happened to the customer always being right?!) So, we reluctantly changed our plans. The cottage was freezing when we got there (why hadn't the heating been put on??) and had to keep our coats on for some while until it warmed up. Bed was comfy but laid with weird moleskin sheets - give me linen any day - but the cottage was a good size, as was the bathroom. Not well insulated though so it went cold very quickly after turning off the heating. Noise from the road was intrusive, especially from 6.30am when the traffic really got going. Breakfast was OK, but no preserves for the one croissant. What spoiled it for me though was the attitude of the manager, like a displeased headmistress. It would seem that once they have your money, you ain't getting it back regardless of the circumstances. Some leniency and common sense should have been applied for the sake of good PR and a warmer welcome

  • Stayed November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Gabywiz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Flgatore, Owner at Aurora Park Cottages, responded to this review, 30 November 2011
Aurora Park Cottages shares with all guest full disclosure whether they call the property directly or make their reservations online. This guest reservation was made online late in the evening and we sent a confirmation first thing the next morning through email as the guest was traveling. Our reservation system clearly stated the cancellation policy before the process was complete. The guest later called to say they thought it was an inquiry and not a confirmed reservation and had made another reservation at another property. I told them I would try to rebook the cottage and they called the other hotel to try to cancel that reservation. They called again and asked if they could change their reservation to the next day. I told them that would be fine and looked forward to welcoming them. All interactions with this guest were friendly, including conversations about their 3 month travel in the US and the year they had spent living in Florida.

In regards to our accommodations, we do our best to welcome each guest with a warm cottage, but sometimes we are not sure of guest arrival time. Our heating & air conditioning system is very efficient and heats up the cottages quickly.

We provide very high quality, soft, micro fiber sheets. In fact, many guests purchase them upon check out and often they are mentioned in reviews. Our fresh baked pastries are warm & delicious, and we do have preservatives available upon request. I am sorry we did not advise them of that when they checked in.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver, Colorado
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 October 2011

I stumbled across this place on a bed and breakfast website, and I'm so glad we booked it! The owners Joe and Celeste were so kind and helpful. They mailed us some information about the area before our trip and they even were able to get us a reservation at hard to get into winery at the last minute! They were also very sweet to pack us up some goodies for the road our last morning since we had to head to the airport so early!

The rooms are great - they had the charm of a bed and breakfast with so much more privacy since it was an individual cottage. The bed was awesome - love their linens! I also love that the cottages have wood floors (that just always seems so much more clean to me!). Each cottage has a cute little deck/patio and it was relaxing to enjoy a glass of wine in the lounge chair. The homemade pastries were delicious too - great way to start your morning (and again in private, no eating with other bed and breakfast guests!).

We were also quite happy with the location. It was maybe a mile walk into downtown Calistoga. It was a nice walk and then we didn't have to worry about drinking at dinner.

We will definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank EmilyinColorado
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clearwater, FL
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 October 2011

From the moment we booked our room until the moment we checked out, we couldn't have been happier with our choice of lodging. Joe was a fantastic host and a wealth of information prior to our stay. We were very happy with our cottage which was very comfortable and had anything you might need for your visit, including an umbrella, water, robes, qtips, a throw - you name it. It's the little things that make a difference and you can tell Joe and Celeste really care about their guests and go out of their way to anticipate your needs. The cottage was in perfect condition and absolutely spotless. We really cant rave enough about Aurora Park and would return in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FlCracker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 August 2011

Joe and Celeste were very gracious and knowledgable hosts during our stay at the cottages. They welcomed us, asked where we were from (Yay Calgary Alberta!!), and begin to make us feel quite at home. The rooms themselves are superior!! they're extra clean accomodations that are complete with spa quality sheets, soaps and showering lotions. The bed was super comfortable and we had a great night sleep after dining at one of the fine restaurants that Calistoga had to offer (Joe and Celeste know of many restaurants and shops so if you're not familiar to the area they're a wealth of knowledge). Small touches like having a jar of "Jelly Belly" jellybeans, and couple piece of literature and even a good pot full of local merchants coffee and teas in the room really add to our memorable and giving it that "homely" touch.
In the morning, the pasteries and fruit were fresh and very tasty! It was a fine way to wake up in the morning and get ready for a day of sampling wines in the region. As we departed for the next leg of our journey, we were bad sad to leave. Joe was even knind enough to discuss the geology of the area (some whihc my wife really liked). We do plan on coming back to the Aurora Park Cottages and we've HIGHLY recommended to our family and friends to stay here.
Everything that you'd want to do in Calistoga and area is accessible from the cottages so when you're doing anything in the Sonoma or Napa Wine regions...STAY HERE!! It's certainly worth it!! Once again that you Joe & Celeste!!!

CB

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Colin B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Calistoga hotels
0.9 km away
The Bergson
The Bergson
#4 of 15 in Calistoga
514 reviews
0.9 km away
Mount View Hotel & Spa
Mount View Hotel & Spa
#7 of 15 in Calistoga
420 reviews
1.4 km away
Comfort Inn Calistoga, Hot Springs of the West
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 km away
Best Western Plus Stevenson Manor
0.7 km away
The Craftsman Inn
The Craftsman Inn
#7 of 27 in Calistoga
261 reviews
0.8 km away
Wine Way Inn
Wine Way Inn
#5 of 27 in Calistoga
470 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aurora Park Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aurora Park Cottages

Property: Aurora Park Cottages
Address: 1807 Foothill Blvd, Calistoga, CA 94515-1624
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Napa Valley > Calistoga
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 27 B&Bs / Inns in Calistoga
Price range (per night): $255 - $457
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Aurora Park Cottages 3.5*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Aurora Park Cottages is your private vacation retreat in Napa Valley wine country. Located in beautiful Calistoga - the spa capital of California - our peaceful, country haven is just minutes from world-class Napa Valley wineries, excellent restaurants, and quaint gift shops. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia APAC, Wotif.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, getaroom.com and Booking.com so you can book your Aurora Park Cottages reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aurora Park Cottages Hotel Calistoga
Aurora Park Cottages Calistoga, Napa Valley, CA

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing