We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming B&B”
Review of Bear Flag Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Bear Flag Inn
Ranked #23 of 27 Calistoga B&B and Inns
Reviewed 13 August 2011

The Bear Flag Inn is a lovely B&B, with truly charming hosts (an elderly couple with lots of nice stories), lovely rooms, and good location, just a few minutes drive from Calistoga center (close enough to be very accessible, far enough so it's a lot quieter, with a relaxed, rural feeling). They have wine and crackers every evening with their guests and make an amazing breakfast. We loved almost everything about it - only downside was the bed, which was very creaky (Lovinia bedrom. Otherwise comfortable and nicely decorated).

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ClarissaDall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (66)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

30 - 34 of 66 reviews

Reviewed 8 July 2011

At Calistoga for a mud bath and massage, we were unable to stay at our expected destination, and found the Bear Flag Inn, which had room for us. We were very pleased. All of the amenities, nice people, excellent breakfast, and we liked the rural atmosphere (chickens running around ih the yard, etc.). We recommend this place!

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Buho8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2011

I wish it could remain a secret. But it will get out eventually .. this place is great and the prices are reasonable. The owners, Dennis and Marge, are great hosts. For example, we were going to a wedding around the corner and Dennis offered to pick us up if you "enjoyed" ourselves too much. The rooms a clean, the beds are very comfortable and the food is fantastic. We enjoyed the pool and hot tub as well as the porch on the second floor. It is a great escape from the sterile rooms of the chain hotels.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank vindo1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 June 2011

We stayed at the Bear Flag Inn for 5 nights and loved it! We stayed in the cottage which was really comfortable. Dennis and Marjorie were awesome host/hostess. They took excellent care of us and allowed us to just relax and enjoy our trip to wine country. Breakfasts were absolutely delicious every morning and were served in a lovely sunroom.

Every evening at 4:30 there are wine and snacks. We only make it twice, but the wine was good and we really enjoyed visiting with Dennis, Marjorie and the other guests.

To round it all out the chickens are fun and the dogs were great for someone who was missing her dog at home.

If you are looking for a laid back, enjoyable place to stay in wine country, The Bear Flag Inn is a great choice.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DSHooch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 May 2011

We have stayed with Dennis and Marge in 2002, 2004, and now again in 2011. Their B&B is lovely, and they are wonderful hosts who make you feel like you belong there. I can't recommend this Inn enough.

Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
Thank frostjos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Calistoga hotels
23.0 km away
The Craftsman Inn
The Craftsman Inn
#8 of 27 in Calistoga
261 reviews
20.7 km away
Foothill House
Foothill House
#14 of 27 in Calistoga
23 reviews
22.8 km away
The Pink Mansion
The Pink Mansion
#9 of 27 in Calistoga
204 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
23.1 km away
Wine Way Inn
Wine Way Inn
#6 of 27 in Calistoga
478 reviews
22.4 km away
Casa Lana Bed & Breakfast
Casa Lana Bed & Breakfast
#12 of 27 in Calistoga
111 reviews
18.2 km away
Villa Mimosa
Villa Mimosa
#15 of 27 in Calistoga
17 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bear Flag Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bear Flag Inn

Address: 2653 Foothill Blvd, Highway 128, Calistoga, CA 94515-1221
Region: United States > California > Napa Valley > Calistoga
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 27 B&Bs / Inns in Calistoga
Price Range: $317 - $392 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Bear Flag Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
3 1/2 acres with 1900's style two story farmhouse with pool and hot tub and small vineyard. Your home away from home while in the Napa Valley. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Wotif.com, Hotels.com, Expedia APAC and lastminute.com.au so you can book your Bear Flag Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bear Flag Inn Calistoga, Napa Valley, CA

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing