We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Delightful surprise” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Roman Spa Hot Springs Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Roman Spa Hot Springs Resort
Ranked #10 of 15 Hotels in Calistoga
Certificate of Excellence
Chicago
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Delightful surprise”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 April 2012

Let me start by saying the only reason this place didn't get 5/5 is it could use a bit of an update BUT we would absolutely stay again - updates or not. Read on if you need more...

We stayed the first week of April (1-5th). Roman Spa was delightful. The beds were very comfy, sheets and towels super soft and rooms very clean. Making our arrangements was a joy as everyone is so accomodating.

The heated spa pools were awesome. Not big enough to do laps but plenty big enough to float about and enjoy the healing effects of the hot spring water. We stayed here because of the hot spring pools and mud bath. The mud bath was a total trip! Really glad I did it but not something I need every week. Everyone in the spa was very nice and professional.

The grounds were very beautiful and well kept - this is such a great base to explore the northern part of Napa. We are in our mid 30's w/o kids. I'm not sure this is a great place for kids and families but that said there were a few during our stay and most were well behaved. Some weren't and I very much appreciated the front desk folks reminding them to settle down. The vast majority of the guests were in there 50s - 60s but as many of the reviwers wrote they probably started coming when they were my age. I would not hesitate to reccommend this hotel to anyone. Great time, lovely people, peaceful and serene.

Room Tip: I liked being on the first floor near the pool but not on top of it. Room #140.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sejalshah1977
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
94515management, Owner at Roman Spa Hot Springs Resort, responded to this review, 17 April 2012
Thank you for your kind comments and we appreciate your thoughtful review. We're glad to hear you enjoyed our grounds which we take great pride in with the hundreds of varieties of annuals and perennials planted throughout the property; as well as the rooms, the spa, and the helpfulness of our staff.

You mentioned that we could use a bit of an update, as you could see during your stay we are working on an entire building remodel which will carry over into other buildings over time. This remodel is extensive both inside and out and will provide an enhanced level of ammenities and decor for those desiring features beyond a standard guest room.

We look forward to serving you again in the future and hope you can return as many do, year after year, making the Roman Spa their favorite geothermal retreat.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

786 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    415
    247
    67
    21
    36
See reviews for
109
339
18
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (161)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
granite bay, calif
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 April 2012

We stayed at The Roman Spa and Hot Springs resort for two nights following my running of the Napa Valley Marathon. What a wonderful way to recover from my 26 miles and to celebrate my 60th birthday!
The grounds are well maintained and our room, which was directly across from the main pool area, was very comfortable. My wife and I enjoyed soaking in the three different geothermal pools for hours on end. Each pool is a different size and temperature. She had packed some plastic wine glasses (great idea!) so we could enjoy some delicious red wines from the Valley poolside. The weather was beyond "good" and floating in the main pool and watching the palm trees sway in the breeze was the best!
My legs have never recovered so well! We will return with our extended family members in that the hotel has numerous garden sitting areas along with the poolside areas where any family member would find their "favorite spot". We did not use the BBQ area this trip but did go a couple blocks to the supermarket and picked up some delicious sourdough bread and cheeses. Fill up the wine glass, tear off some bread and cheese.....think I'll go for another soak in the hottub!

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank herfav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
94515management, Owner at Roman Spa Hot Springs Resort, responded to this review, 10 April 2012
Thank you for spending both your birthday and your marathon recovery with us! Congratulations on running the marathon, it is quite a feat that deserves a celebration! Indeed, the restorative geothermal waters help soothe those sore and tired muscles after such a long run. We look forward to seeing you again with other family and friends enjoying our grounds and barbeque area in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calimesa, California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 April 2012

Roman Spa Hot Springs Resort is Heaven on earth in Calistoga. The rooms are very comfortable, and spacious, the pools are always warm and relaxing, and the employees always have a friendly smile. The grounds are neatly appointed with flowers, wisteria, tables and chairs, and a BBQ area. The kitchenette rooms almost make the Calistoga restaurants a moot point--almost. Everything you might need is close at hand. We wouldn't stay anywhere else!

Room Tip: Kitchenettes are the best value.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank scott s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
94515management, Owner at Roman Spa Hot Springs Resort, responded to this review, 4 April 2012
Scott,
Thank you for your review, it really made our day. We are so glad that you are able to truly relax and enjoy our property to the fullest. We continually work toward exceeding expectations and take great pride in what and how we do things at the Roman Spa. We look forward to your next visit and serving you in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santa Cruz
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 March 2012

Once again, I have returned to the Roman Spa to let all of life's tensions drift away in their amazing pool of healing waters surrounded by beautiful gardens. The new pillow-top beds give way to a peaceful slumber after a nice, long soak in the pools. I was able to cook up a wonderful meal on the new gas barbeque. It is no wonder that there are so many repeat guests, we keep coming back to this little piece of heaven on earth!

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SantaCruzShutterbug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
94515management, Owner at Roman Spa Hot Springs Resort, responded to this review, 19 March 2012
Thank you for your kind review. We really appreciate knowing that you consider us a "little piece of heaven on earth" what a wonderful compliment! Calistoga is such a special place, and so much of it has to do with our authentic geothermal waters. Historically, people have been coming here for hundreds of years to soak in the "healing" waters. The effects on the mind and body can be amazing. We look forward to serving you on your next visit. Santa Cruz is such a quick trip here and yet it feels as if you have traveled to a far away place in order to feel that immense respite.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
54 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 March 2012

We stayed here for a couple of nights in October 2011 and we loved it.
This is a perfect hotel to bas yourself at while exploring the local area and reasonably priced too. I particularly liked the enormous bed and outside barbeque area (gas and charcoal options with all utensils provided). We also used the steam room and pool which were very popular will all the guests. The heat is just right and everyone was very friendly.
Calistoga is a beautiful little town and this hotel as I said will suit most types of travellers.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RetiredPornStar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Calistoga hotels
0.1 km away
Mount View Hotel & Spa
Mount View Hotel & Spa
#6 of 15 in Calistoga
4.0 of 5 bubbles 372 reviews
0.9 km away
The Sunburst Calistoga
The Sunburst Calistoga
#4 of 15 in Calistoga
4.5 of 5 bubbles 464 reviews
0.5 km away
The Bergson
The Bergson
#5 of 15 in Calistoga
4.0 of 5 bubbles 466 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 km away
Comfort Inn Calistoga, Hot Springs of the West
5.8 km away
Calistoga Ranch, An Auberge Resort
0.3 km away
Calistoga Spa Hot Springs
Calistoga Spa Hot Springs
#7 of 15 in Calistoga
4.0 of 5 bubbles 471 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Roman Spa Hot Springs Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Roman Spa Hot Springs Resort

Property: Roman Spa Hot Springs Resort
Address: 1300 Washington St., Calistoga, CA 94515
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Napa Valley > Calistoga
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Calistoga
#7 Romantic Hotel in Calistoga
#7 Spa Hotel in Calistoga
#11 Family Hotel in Calistoga
Price range (per night): $302 - $431
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Roman Spa Hot Springs Resort 2.5*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Immerse yourself in 3,000 years of Roman heritage while soaking in our thermal waters. Enjoy nourishing spa treatments, mud baths, and massage at our on-site spa. Settle into a charming guestroom, relax amidst our flowering gardens and allow our friendly staff to help you create Calistoga memories. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia APAC, Wotif.com, lastminute.com.au, Agoda, Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your Roman Spa Hot Springs Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Roman Spa Hot Springs Hotel Calistoga
Roman Hotel Hot Springs
Roman Resort Hot Springs
Roman Spa Hot Springs Resort Calistoga, Napa Valley, CA

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing