We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Vineyard Cottage, home away from home”
Review of Natte Valleij Farm

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Natte Valleij Farm
Ranked #1 of 1 Klapmuts B&B and Inns
Reviewed 2 May 2015

When we went to Natte, we had not huge expectations. We got there late however so but the service before even going there was great. We were welcomed by Alex who showed us our cottage. The beds were split but that was no train smash. There was no TV or Wi-Fi but that's the whole point of being away from home isn't it? The house itself and everything in it is cosy and vintage. It's a home away from home. We were far from everything which made it more interesting. Alex and Sumari were very accommodating, we could phone them at anytime about anything. The Saturday afternoon we had wine tasting with Alex which was awesome. They make and ferment their own wines and I must say, the Hanepoot and Cinsault were my favorite. The way he explained the process and spoke about the wines was inspiring, they are indeed very passionate about what they do. We are coming back very soon, this will be our home away from home. Thank you for the hospitality.

Room Tip: Vineyard Cottage is the one to go for!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ffancy_face
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (27)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

20 - 24 of 27 reviews

Reviewed 31 March 2015

Firstly the website is definitely no representation of this property.Saying this cottage is run down and neglected is an understatement. What I can say is the private property on the grounds has a slight resemblance to what can be seen on the website but apart from that the shock on how misrepresented this property is on the website is unbelievable. We stayed in the Vineyard cottage and i am actually shocked that they rent this out to paying customers.. Definitely more shabby than chic..very old furniture, it looks like they furnished the property with a selection of furniture from various centuries and haven't tried to update or attempt to modernize this at all., unkempt garden and lawn, No TV , No wifi - that was stated! there was also a lot of work going on on the property so constant staff driving around in bakkies so not peaceful at all.

  • Stayed: March 2015, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Mullhouse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 January 2014

Natte Valleij is first and foremost a home - a home to the Milner family. That you feel immediately when you arrive. But your hosts are gracious and charming, and when you enter Natte Valleij, you step somewhere back in time. True, don't expect perfection in the room (we stayed in the bed and breakfast cottage, without the breakfast option), but we found it to fit our requirements of a good place for a good price, and we enjoyed both the homeliness of bounding dogs and interesting conversations with the owners.
Although directly on the R44, you do not hear any traffic.
Credit card bookings are not possible.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank TravelBee_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 December 2013 via mobile

A three star grading but NO TV, no microwave, house serviced once only in 5 days, no daily fresh towels, one towel change in 5 days, lawn unkempt, had to ask for dog pooh to be removed, bathroom door broken, drawer in kitchen broken, carpet and outside chair cushions filthy, paint peeling

  • Stayed: December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Anmisty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 December 2012

Wow. We were really amazed by this place.. Did not really want to leave actually!
We stayed at the Bed & Breakfast (but they also have a nice cottage), which is located next to the grand house. It has a lovely room with very good comfy beds and a bathroom with a REAL nice bath. In front of your room there is a verandah with two chairs where you can enjoy their own wine in the evening. The property is owned by Charles and Charlene, a South African/British couple, who are very helpful, friendly and great fun. They live in the grand house, but the estate is so huge that it also houses their children and grandchildren. The whole family is actually very warm and welcoming, we felt at home immediately! And all of them have dogs, real nice and friendly ones. Felt really safe.
The Grand house is an Cape Dutch House, one of the prettiest in the region.. it's been a set for many of movies and photo shootings.. If the weather is nice (which it, after that South-easter that hit the cape, was luckily..) you have breakfast outside on the patio under a roof of vine... They make an excellent breakfast by the way and if you like it, they'll join in for a cup of coffee or tea. We liked that friendly and personal approach a lot and had great laughs.. Plus they gave us very handy suggestions for the region and even outside the region.
The estate has a beautiful garden through which you can wander, it is house to many of different birds and also has a playing area for the kids. You can walk their neighbours estate as well, who has springbok, wildebeest, zebra's, kudu, oryx and all kinds of bokkies. It has a Dam where you can either enjoy a nice sunset, but we used it for a nice run in the morning.
All in all, we felt like we discovered a well kept secret! We are definately coming back here and we'll stay longer then...!

Room Tip: call in advance to book, you don't want to miss out on this place!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lotte_v_D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Natte Valleij Farm? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Natte Valleij Farm

Address: Route 44, Klapmuts 7625, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Klapmuts
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Klapmuts
Price Range: $76 - $113 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Natte Valleij Farm 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The historic farm of Natte Valleij set on the lower slopes of the Simonsberg mountains, is within easy reach of Paarl, Stellenbosch, Franchhoek and Cape Town (35 mins). Natte Valleij oozes a sense of history with its homestead, old wine cellars, brandy stills, magnificent mature gardens with ancient trees, pergolas and ponds that all are surrounded by whitewashed walls. Come and enjoy classic wines, friendly and efficient hospitality in our self-catering accommodation for your romantic country wedding. We welcome the opportunity to share with you the ambiance of a bygone era. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Wotif.com, Expedia APAC, Hotels.com, Hooroo Pty Ltd, Booking.com and lastminute.com.au so you can book your Natte Valleij Farm reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing