We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Stay at Borrego Valley Inn”
Review of Borrego Valley Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Borrego Valley Inn
Certificate of Excellence
Santa Monica, California
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Fantastic Stay at Borrego Valley Inn”
Reviewed 28 January 2012

We very recent spent a WONDERFUL night spent at Borrego Valley Inn. The room we stayed in (Desert Lilly) was gorgeous with a fireplace and private patio. The grounds are so peaceful and beautiful - love the aviary with all the little birds! We enjoyed a warm welcome from Kathy, who walked us to our room with fresh cookies in hand. During the evening, we star-gazed and listened to a pack of coyotes running through. So magical! The next morning, we watched the sun rise over the mountains and enjoyed their extended continental breakfast. Chatted with Leslie (a fellow Canadian turned Californian who was manning reception that AM). Enjoyed the hot tubs and were on our merry way. Totally awesome and will absolutely be back!

(Just a note: the reception closes at 6PM, so keep that in mind if you're coming from other parks within the area e.g. Joshua Tree, Salton Sea, Anza-Borrego, etc. We arrived just in the nick of time! Kathy would have left keys for us, but it's always nice to see a person when you're arriving at a new hotel/B&B.)

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank E F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

396 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    342
    41
    11
    2
    0
See reviews for
16
302
22
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (143)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
74 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 January 2012

We just stayed for two nights at this hotel at the recommendation of our dear friends. They were so right! It is peaceful, clean, well-equipped, friendly! Walked out our back door into a tiny little private patio, then out of there and into the desert, all the way to the hills. SO cool! Hares, hummingbirds, cacti, lavender. Wow. The clothing-optional pool was lovely and the hot tubs, if you gave them a bit of time to warm up, were gorgeous. The view from the suits-on tub was unparalleled. The breakfast was an expanded continental in the lovely central Inn. I can see how if someone was from somewhere hot, they would find the rooms a bit chilly (for us Canadians who live in England, it was NOTHING!). Ours was totally fine, as we like the cool at night and turned our fireplace off too! It must be awful to be someone bothered by pilot lights in the fireplace - are they also bothered by digital clock readouts? smoke alarm flashes? how do they sleep at night when they travel? My favourite part was the central plaza/courtyard - full of birds, plants, rustic old bits and bobs from the wild west. Oh, and the smiling friendly staff! We will be back! thanks all!

Room Tip: the rooms on the clothing-optional side seem to be the most private to me!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GlobalCanadian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Las Vegas, NV
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 22 January 2012

What a find. Small, clean and peaceful. Rich and Gwen run a great property. Susan is great too and makes great cookies. Luisa puts together a nice Continental breakfast and her husband, Francisco (I think that's his name) maintains the garden and grounds beautifully. I like Rich's philosophy: under promise and over deliver. For the area, five stars but independent of location I still give it four stars. I will return for another multi-day stay soon. Winter is the season, in my opinion.

Room Tip: Stayed in large casita two nights and Desert Lily #11 one nite. Wouldn't hesitate to stay in eit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mczen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 January 2012

This is a beautiful in with a serene vibe, in a beautiful desert venue. Nice breakfast. Roomy. Tasteful. I was delighted with my choice based on Tripadviser reviews, until bedtime. The unit is heated by a gas fireplace which is pretty, but even when you turn the heat off, its pilot light blazes and flickers so brightly that it made it really hard to fall asleep. Ironically, Borrego Springs is a designated low light Night Sky Commuity! This fireplace issue might not be relevant other times in the year, but desert nights are cold in January. We turned the heat off to kill the fire, but then our room got down to the 50's. We then kept the heat on 60 and at 3 AM the firplace went on, brightening the whole room. Husband slept thru, but not me. Why don't they just provide a blackout shield for the damn thing?
If you reserve in winter, ask them for a solution to the fire lighting up the room in this incredibly annoying way, all nught long.

A second frustration for a winter visitor is that the lobby is closed at 6 PM, so if one person wants the TV on, the other person basically is stuck in the room. Again when it isn't 40 degrees outside, this wouldn't be a problem.

  • Stayed January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bpteutsch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DesertInnKeeper, Owner at Borrego Valley Inn, responded to this review, 19 January 2012
We always appreciate knowing more about our guests' experience, so thank you for the post. We are sincerely distressed that you experienced such discomfort at the Inn. Had we been informed about your concerns after your first night's stay and prior to your departure, we would have been happy to move you to another room or find another solution. It's impossible to attend to a problem after the fact, and we regret we were not offered the opportunity to do so.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manhattan Beach, California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 12 January 2012

We've been going to Borrego Springs for at least 9 years. Rich & Gwen's Borrgego Valley Inn is not for everyone but is for anyone who wants a romantic, kick back location. Certainly not what you would expect next door to California's larget state park.
We rented out a large majority of the Inn for our wedding years ago. The young adult children and our friends loved the location. As an outdoor family who normally camps, this was quite the change for them but afforded them all the oppotunities to reach hiling, bouldering and horseback riding.
Rich & Gwen are quite the host and hostess and provide an excellent breakfast with good coffee tea.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank captainowow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Borrego Springs hotels
7.5 km away
La Casa del Zorro
La Casa del Zorro
#1 of 3 in Borrego Springs
470 reviews
3.7 km away
Borrego Springs Resort & Golf Club, BW Premier Collection
Borrego Springs Resort & Golf Cl...
#2 of 3 in Borrego Springs
76 reviews
0.9 km away
Palm Canyon Hotel & RV Resort
Palm Canyon Hotel & RV Resort
#3 of 3 in Borrego Springs
184 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 km away
Palms at Indian Head
Palms at Indian Head
#6 of 7 in Borrego Springs
149 reviews
1.8 km away
Stanlunds Inn and Suites
Stanlunds Inn and Suites
#4 of 7 in Borrego Springs
104 reviews
2.5 km away
The Springs at Borrego RV Resort and Golf Course
The Springs at Borrego RV Resort...
#1 of 2 in Borrego Springs
49 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Borrego Valley Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Borrego Valley Inn

Property: Borrego Valley Inn
Address: 405 Palm Canyon Dr, Borrego Springs, CA 92004-3201
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Borrego Springs
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Borrego Springs
Price range (per night): $233 - $346
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Borrego Valley Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Premium Desert Inn with rustic southwestern elegance in the middle of the Anza-Borrego Desert State Park(R). A refuge, not a resort, offering casual comforts in a desert wilderness. Located in the heart of the village of Borrego Springs. Serene gardens, pristine desert surroundings, 15 peaceful rooms, private sun/star patios, two pools and hot tubs, delicious breakfast... Your place in California's Secret Desert™ ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia APAC, Wotif.com, Hotels.com, Hooroo Pty Ltd, Agoda and lastminute.com.au so you can book your Borrego Valley Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Borrego Valley Hotel Borrego Springs

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing