We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Beautiful and charming cottage with excellent...”
other travellers have booked this property
Downstairs Livingroom and Hearth
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Downstairs Livingroom and Hearth
View of Staircase one From upstairs Loft
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
5 reviews
Downstairs Livingroom and Hearth
View of Staircase one
From upstairs Loft
Kitchen Gas Stove
Kitchen Sink
Upstairs Livingroom
Upstairs Porch and bedroom reading room
Outdoor view
Downstairs bathroom
Bedroom
Downstairs Dining Area
Upstairs Living Area
Upstairs  Handmade Handrail to second level
View of Ridge from Upstairs Loft
Beach one block away
Village near the house
Back Deck next to Japanese soaking Tub
Upstairs Porch
Downstaird livingroom at night
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Bolinas, Marin County, California

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 5 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
amcgillyc...
Wassenaar, The Netherlands
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Beautiful and charming cottage with excellent owners”
Reviewed 16 January 2015 for a stay in June 2014

I just realized as I was reviewing places from our Christmas holiday that I had never submitted a review for the cottage in Bolinas, where we stayed last June. We were just preparing to move out of the country last summer, and I lost track. I particularly wanted to get my review in, as not only was it a truly wonderful place to stay, but the owners were exceptionally nice. My son left my best pair of earbuds and the carrying case in the house somewhere, and Sha Sha found them and mailed them to me, catching us at my parent's house before we departed for the Netherlands. I was just using these same earbuds on our Christmas holiday trip to Sri Lanka, and wanted to thank Sha Sha again for her kindness in getting them back to me. The cottage is charming and comfortable, we are a family of 4 (2 young boys) and were very happy there. The kids loved it. The upstairs patio is fabulous. It is a very short walk to the charming town of Bolinas. I would love to have the chance to stay there again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
28 Mar 2016
Well thank you for taking the time. Yes we remember you. Guess you enjoyed the outdoor bath on the patio,very sunny out there with an umbrella and you are on the edge of a quail reserve. Hope you enjoy the Netherlands. WE await your return someday. Meeting people is the best part of this business
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
37thStree...
San Francisco, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Warm, Cozy, and Enchanting”
Reviewed 9 December 2013 for a stay in December 2013
1
person found this review helpful

This place was more than we anticipated!....
It felt like we were transported to Middle Earth, and visiting Bilbo Baggins. It was so cozy, endearing, and tucked away.

We loved exploring all it's nooks and crannies, with all of it's trinkets and accessories. The claw footed tube was huge, the fire was warm, and there were so many amenities.

The town was beautiful as well, and the seafood was five stars. The dog park was conveniently located, and the beach was so amazing.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
9 Dec 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write,we are so used to the house we dont even notice its qualities. I appreciate too you bought a piece of the house to take home with you
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sally5450
Dallas, Texas
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Very charming”
Reviewed 7 May 2013 for a stay in March 2013
2
people found this review helpful

From the moment we spotted this property online, we called it "the hippie house," because of its peaceful, eclectic qualities and design. It did not disappoint us and we loved staying there for our week in magical Bolinas. The kitchen is very tiny - not as functional as I would have liked, but we ate out most of the time anyway. Everything in Bolinas is within walking distance of the cottage and it's a great location to explore Marin County and the Bay Area.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the charm of the cottage and the location
Liked least: the kitchen
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
7 May 2013
Thanks for your review.The downstairs was built in 1910 so they did not have large kitchens in those days,Though we have old fashioned gas stove,microwave,toaster oven,hot pot,waffle maker,and coffee maker. But all those things take up counter space. But many have cooked a Thanksgiving dinner.Thanks for coming!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grass Valley
Reviewed 3 July 2011 for a stay in June 2011
1
person found this review helpful

Travelling group: Other
Your age range 55-64
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
3 Jul 2011
Thanks Cindy for taking the time out to review the cottage
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing
;