We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“cozy and wonderful view of Bodega Bay”
other travellers have booked this property
View of Pacific Ocean from home and wrap-around deck
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
View of Pacific Ocean from home and wrap-around deck
View from our living room and deck. Our Bodega Bay home with panoramic view of Pacific Ocean, Bodega Head, and Bodega Bay.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
28 reviews
View of Pacific Ocean from home and wrap-around deck
View from our living room and deck.
Our Bodega Bay home with panoramic view of Pacific Ocean, Bodega Head, and Bodega Bay.
Our Bodega Bay home with its large deck and views of the Pacific Ocean, Bodega Head, and Bodega Bay.
View from our living room of full moon setting over Bodega Bay.
Our Bodega Bay home on a hill overlooking Doran Beach Park, the Pacific Ocean, and Bodega Bay.
View from our living room of sunset over ocean and Bodega Head.
View of Bodega Harbor from property
View of Bodega Bay and headlands from living room and deck
Our Bodega Bay home on a hill with panoramic views of ocean, bay, and Bodega Head.
View of Bodega Bay from master bedroom.
View of Bodega Head and Pacific Ocean from entry to our deck.
Part of our living room with loft above.
Part of our living room with views of ocean and bay
Our living room with gas log fireplace and views of ocean and bay.
Our kitchen well stocked with pots and pans and dishes, coffee maker, microwave, toaster, etc.
View of Bodega Bay and ocean from Master bedroom
Part of our living room, loft, and dining room.
Part of master bathroom.
Our kitchen looking toward dining room.
Master bedroom.
Master bedroom with its views of Bodega Bay.
Master bedroom has its own master bath.
View of Bodega Bay and Bodega Head from Master bedroom.
Ocean view golf nearby.
One of two baths with tub and stand up shower and view of Bodega Bay.
Stairs from living room to the loft with its spectacular ocean views and view of fireplace below.
Our deck with its views of Pacific Ocean and Doran Beach Park below.
Marina at Bodega Bay just a short drive away.
Ocean view from our living room.
Part of ocean view from our living room.
View from our living room of Bodega Bay marina.
View from our living room of Bodega Head.
View from our living room of sunlight on Pacific Ocean showing part of Bodega Head.
Part of the expansive views of ocean from our living room.
The marina over a short drive away.
Part of the Bodega Bay fishing fleet nearby.
Panoramic view of our home with ocean, bay, and Bodega Head in background.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Bodega Bay, Sonoma County, California

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 28 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Cindy M
San Francisco, California
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“cozy and wonderful view of Bodega Bay”
Reviewed 21 September 2016 for a stay in August 2016
1
person found this review helpful

The house is perfect for 2 couples. There is a great fireplace in the living room, right in front of one of the pull-out sleeper sofas. We weren't sure how comfortable it would be to sleep on, but we took the mattress from the sleeper sofa upstairs and it was fine. I do wish that there was another chair or 2 in the living room, especially given the beautiful view, but there is plenty of seating outside on the deck. The back bedroom provides plenty of privacy and it's super quiet.
The house is also super close to some bird watching and hiking trails, that lead to the beach.
The owner was quick to respond during our stay when I had a question. Overall, I would stay there again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the view is amazing
Liked least: more seating in the living room
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
13 Oct 2016
Thanks for your review, Cindy. Happy to hear that you enjoyed our Bodega Bay home, its outstanding water views, the surrounding natural beauty, and our beach close by. We are looking forward to your next stay with us. By the way, we will be getting another couple of chairs for the living room soon. Good suggestion. Thanks again for staying at our home. We love sharing all it has to offer..
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
M. Cecili...
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Marvelous Weekend Getaway”
Reviewed 28 August 2016 for a stay in August 2016
2
people found this review helpful

Beautiful home with a lodge-like living room/loft and gorgeous views! Perfect getaway after a hectic summer and just before school started. Walking/running distance to Doran Beach, though the trail back to the house would be uphill. We saw a family of deer a hanging out few feet from the house and several types of birds clustered on some of the bushes near the house.

Our family of 4 - including a tween boy and teen girl - stayed for 3 days and 2 nights and it was a vacation for everyone including myself, so took a break from cooking. The kitchen seemed stocked with pots and cooking gadgets though we only used the coffee maker (there were coffee filters in the cupboard) and the microwave for popcorn.

The place was clean when we arrived and we had detailed instructions from Ken days before our scheduled arrival. Ken was also very responsive and helpful with our questions.

The house was a short distance to good dining places - Duck Club in Bodega Bay Lodge, Terrapin Creak, Fisherman's Cove, Birds Cafe. The Wild Flour Bread place is about 15 minutes away and enroute you'll find the Potter School House (Hitchcock's Birds film location), St Teresa of Avila church (subject of an Ansel Adams photograph), and the Bodega Bay Country Store.

Overall we have a very restful and wonderful stay in Ken & Maria's home at Bodega Bay and we are hoping to stay here again at our next family visit.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Great location, beautiful views and overall comfort
Liked least: The loft sleeper could use an upgrade or extra mattress, though for our family 4, the MBR bed and living room sleeper were comfortable and adequate.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
10 Sep 2016
Thank you, Cecilia. We are so pleased that you enjoyed our home as much as we do when we are there. You have given a marvelous description of our home, the wild life, and some of the attractions in the surrounding Bodega Bay area, including Doran Beach, Hitchcock's film locations a few minutes drive away, and some of the excellent restaurants in our Bodega Bay neighborhood. Thank you again for booking with us! We look forward to your next stay at our home. It was a real pleasure to have you and your family as our guests!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bill F
Pacific Grove, California
Level 6 Contributor
128 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Beautiful views, but needs to work out some issues.”
Reviewed 26 August 2016 for a stay in August 2016
1
person found this review helpful

As the owner works through some issues with a new listing, this property could be raised to five stars.. The views from the living room and master bedrooms are beautiful. Unfortunately, out group had some surprises.
1. A bedroom should not be called a bedroom without a bed. The second bedroom, which is a loft only has a pull-out couch. In our view, a queen size bed should be added to this space.

2. When we arrived, there was no salt or pepper, no dish washing soap, no paper towels, no spare toilet paper, no sugar bowl and no clean soap in the bath room. In addition, there was a load of towels that we found in the dryer and only enough laundry soaf for one load of wash. The lint trap on the dryer was also plugged with a ball of lint.

3. There was only one wine glass in the cupboard.

4. Many sites that we have rented have a three ring loose binder filled with all applicable instructions. This site has motorized blinds that need instructions and a complex Ruko TV system that many will find difficult to operate. A simple, basic TV cable package to enable guests to watch the local news would be better. In addition, the owner could also offer recommendations for local restaurants and things to do.
5. There are only five chairs for the kitchen table. This would be a problem for a party of six.
6. Two of the teflon coated fry pans have holes in the coating and need to be replaced

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location and view
Liked least: NO bed in the second bedroom
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
8 Sep 2016
This guest indicated two guests in his reservation on FlipKey/TripAdvisor, so of course, we assumed that he would be using the king sized bed in the master bedroom and not the fold-out sofas in the loft and in the living room. We were surprised that he arrived with four persons instead of the two guests indicated in his reservation. We leave two rolls of toilet tissue in each of the two bathrooms and one roll of paper towels in the kitchen. We do not supply laundry soap. Prior to Bill's arrival there were half a dozen new bars of soap in the upper bathroom under the bathroom sink. Apparently Bill did not find these. The loft is considered a second bedroom by Sonoma County because it has a closet and a fold-out sofa and unfortunately the FlipKey/TripAdvisor websites do not have a separate category for a loft. It would be inaccurate to check the one-bedroom-box on the FlipKey/TripAdvisor website that would suggest that our house is only a one-bedroom home. It is not. Our home has one huge suite-sized master bedroom several times the size of a hotel room (see photos), with a large loft above the living room with desk, tables, and fold out sofa that sleeps two, as well as great views of ocean and Bay. Our loft is visible in some of the photos of the interior of our home (please see photos). However, Bill's suggestion that we put another bed in the loft is a good one and we are working on it. Regarding towels in the dryer, we have several sets of clean towels in the house at all times. Those were extra towels that my cleaning people forgot were there when they left after cleaning my home. Bill's suggestion about a loose-leaf notebook with instructions is a good one. In the mean time, I continue to provide detailed instructions to our guests by email prior to their arrival. Many guests print these out and bring them with them, however a copy of them in the house is a good idea. Thanks, Bill. The blinds are operated easily with a remote that is kept on a tether attached to the brick fireplace. Simply press the up arrow to put them up and the down arrow to close them. The Roku is operated by first turning on the power to the TV on its remote, and then clicking the power button on the black Roku remote. Once power is on, then click the button with the "Home" icon. This brings up 50-60 or more channels which can be selected by clicking on the arrow button and then on the "OK" button on the Roku remote. CBS News is available 24 hours a day as well as dozens of other channels with movies, news, and just about everything else. I agree with Bill that these instructions should be explicit and I will include these instructions in the email I send to future guests before their arrival. We will also have a copy in the loose-leaf instruction book Bill suggests, once I get a chance to put one together. Good suggestion, Bill. Also we agree that we need another dining room chair, however, there are 8 chairs on the deck that go with the two tables there. In spite of the items mentioned by Bill, we still feel that we offer a great quality property at an exceptionally good price. If you are considering our home, please compare prices for nearby hotels without any kitchen at all, no water view, and no more than a single bedroom and single bathroom with no living room, dining room, and no free washer and dryer, and I am very confident that you will agree that we have a very good price and very good quality for this wonderful area of the northern California coast with its nearby beaches, great seafood restaurants, historical sites, and spectacular coastal scenery.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bev G
Loveland, Colorado
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great view but the house needs help!”
Reviewed 19 July 2016 for a stay in July 2016
2
people found this review helpful

My husband and I had a wonderful week and our son and family were able to join us for part of the time. The view is gorgeous. The kitchen is quite well-stocked. The house is spacious and comfortable. We were not charged for our son and his wife to join us. There is a beautiful walk to the beach and many things to see and do close-by. There are some good restaurants in the area.

There were a couple of things that prevented us from giving a higher rating: the bathrooms were dirty--looked as if they hadn't been cleaned at all. One bathroom smells of cat pee! We would have loved to use the gas fireplace but there were no instructions and it's apparently not working. In the living room the blinds (looked to be on a remote) do not work. At least they were open when we arrived but we could not close them all week. The dish washer does not work. We tried all the settings but none cleaned the dishes. The hot water heater is inadequate for more than one person.

All these things are easily remedied so if they're taken care of, this house is a wonderful place to stay in Bodega Bay.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The view is beautiful.
Liked least: lack of cleanliness and repair
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
20 Jul 2016
The first part of this review accurately and enthusiastically describes the "gorgeous view" from our "spacious and comfortable" home, the "beautiful walk to the beach and many things to see and do close-by." When I read that "my husband and I had a wonderful week" I expected a rating of at least 4 out of 5. However, several issues were raised by this reviewer. Since the reviewer does not state specifics about the bathrooms not being cleaned, I am wondering if she is referring to rust stains in the bottom of the bowl of one bathroom that, because of age, have become permanent. The house was built in 1977 and I believe that the original plumbing may still be in place (we bought this house in May 2016). Perhaps we will have to replace this toilet at some point but since we only just bought the house this will have to wait for awhile. This same bathroom has carpet in it and it does need to be replaced. This may explain this guest's reference to "cat pee." We plan to remove this carpet and replace the flooring in this bathroom with something more suitable in the coming weeks. The gas log fireplace does work well and adds a wonderful ambiance to our place. It is controlled by a single switch inside a wall mounted thermostat in the living room near the stairway. My fault for not making this clear to this guest. In the living room, we have expansive views of ocean, bay, and marina from large windows that span two of the walls of the living room. Both sets of windows have working blinds controlled by remotes. The blinds are not needed for privacy since both sets of windows from our low hilltop location look out onto wilderness in the foreground and nothing but water views in the background. Therefore, we never need to close the blinds on the windows looking out to ocean and Bodega Head, and we believe most guests would not want to obstruct this incredible view either, so we have stored away the remote for this 15-foot wide blind, in part to prevent it from getting lost unnecessarily. However, the remote control for the 15-foot blind for the windows facing the bay and marina is available and these blinds work well and do open and close. The remote for this blind is kept on a hook on the fireplace for our guests and does permit this blind to be closed to reduce the intense sun reflecting off the water of Bodega Bay in the afternoons. Perhaps this guest was unable to find this remote or was only referring to the other blind which we do keep continuously open to maximize views of the ocean, marshland, and Bodega Head. Regarding the dishwasher, it is not new, and perhaps for this reason dishes need to be rinsed and garbage from them put into the garbage disposal before food sticks to them. With rinsing of dishes right after their use, we have observed no problem with the dishwasher. To say that it does not work is not accurate. It does, but perhaps not as well as newer models designed to blast anything off of dishes left with food stuck on them. A quick rinse after dishes are used before placing them in the dishwasher will do the trick. The hot water heater is brand new but is electric (as is practically everything in Bodega Bay). Our experience has been that it puts out plenty of hot water for two showers at once, but we don't take excessively long showers. I would imagine that two extended showers taken simultaneously could eventually exceed the capacity of any water heater. However, this has not been our experience and has not been reported by any of our other guests (please see prior reviews of our Bodega Bay home, all of which to date have rated our home a 5 out of 5, the highest rating possible). I do agree with this reviewer that our "house is a wonderful place to stay in Bodega Bay," and I am happy that she reports that they had "a wonderful week" at our Bodega Bay home in spite of items noted in her review.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2016 for a stay in June 2016
1
person found this review helpful

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location, views and overall comfort
Liked least: Kitchen could have more items, we had to bring toilet paper as there was not much there, and the hot water ran out quickly for showers.
Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
6 Jul 2016
Thanks, Tim. We are so happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay at our Bodega Bay house. We would love to welcome you back to stay again any time. We saw deer again yesterday--a mother and fawn right outside our living room window. This morning the tide is out in the Bay and dozens of white egrets are feedling there. It is bright and sunny as fishing and crabbing boats head out to sea--all visible from our living room. Thanks again for staying with us and for your review.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing