We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Great apartment, great location”
other traveller has booked this property

Review of 'Sunset studio'

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
14 reviews
Garden view
Living area
Juan & Fus Fus
Bali pavillion daybed with ocean views
sitting area outside kitchen
kitchen
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
Studio, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
City Beach, Greater Perth, Western Australia

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 14 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Dutch first
English first
French first
Any
English first
Kerrie H
Wollongong
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“A comfortable stay close to the beach.”
Reviewed 20 November 2013 for a stay in November 2013
4
people found this review helpful

Berndt was easy to contact via email and made organising our stay stress-free. The Sunset Studio was welcoming, comfortable and full of character. It was in a great location - an easy walk to the beach, a quick drive to great places to eat and not far from Perth city. Berndt left us to come and go as we liked but was available for us to ask questions when needed. A great base from which to visit family and friends.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Spagazer...
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great apartment, great location”
Reviewed 4 January 2013 for a stay in November 2012
3
people found this review helpful

A beautiful apartment in a fantastic location, one of the nicest suburbs in Perth and the apartment is only a couple of minutes’ walk across the street to the beach. It’s really nice to feel like you’re in a proper home in a mainly residential area rather than staying in a soulless hotel or tourist apartment block. Some of the houses in the area are stunning, it’s really one of the smartest places in the city so it’s great to be in amongst it. You’ll ideally need a car although there are bus stops and a small shopping complex for essentials nearby. City Beach itself is beautiful and there is a lovely beach bar there for food and drink. Bernd was friendly and helpful but not at all intrusive, and assisted us with arranging car hire locally. His little dog pottered around the garden but didn’t bother us at all. A fantastic place to base a week in Perth and I would recommend it without hesitation.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The feeling of being outside inside.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sami h
Australind, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Great Little Place to Stay”
Reviewed 27 August 2012 for a stay in August 2012
1
person found this review helpful

Bernd is friendly from the minute you meet him. he makes you feel very welcome. The accommodation was great ,very clean and tidy with every thing you need for a short break. The Studio is nestled in a beautiful garden and the studio is a stones throw from the beach and local shops and cafes. The public transport is just around the corner and it takes about 1/2 hour to get to Perth city centre. We had the use of a friends car and did a day trip which again is very easy from the location of the studio.When we travel to Perth again we would stay here.Great value and great location.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Bernd and his little Dof
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
George086
Beds
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Peaceful, comfortable and great location.”
Reviewed 2 February 2012 for a stay in January 2012
2
people found this review helpful

This is a lovely little studio tucked away in Bernd's garden. We stayed for 6 nights and really felt comfortable. The garden is beautiful and well stocked with mature trees and plants which give the feeling of privacy even though the owner is around tending the plants and cleaning the pool.
Bernd was very discreet but it is his home and so was in the garden on occassions but we had no problem with this as he was very helpful and it was nice to have a chat.
The studio probably wasn't spotless and the windows and frames could have done with a clean but it wasn't a clinical hotel that cost a fortune either.
Bernd suggested a car hire company in the nearby town which was most helpful as they picked us up from the studio and took us to do the paperwork and collect the car and then drove us back when we dropped it off.
There is a bus stop within walking distance with buses going into Perth city which is better than driving as car parking was expensive in the city. Then we used the free CAT buses to travel around and see the sights and stop at the shops etc.
The coast road is lovely to drive on and there are several places to stop for beaches, cafes and bars along the route.
Walking distance from the studio you have a shopping area wjth supermarket,bottle shop. take aways and restaurants, the Thai restaurant was very good.
The local beach is within walking distance with the usual cafe and facilities but if you have a car you have several to choose from along the coast road.
We would definately stay at the Studio again and recommend it to others, a fab place to chill out and relax.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location
Liked least: Mosquitos
Travelling group: With Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
marion_co...
Colchester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“beautiful and peaceful”
Reviewed 2 January 2012 for a stay in December 2011
1
person found this review helpful

We arrived early at Sunset Studio and were made very welcome by our host, who was available but not intrusively so during our stay. The accomodation met our needs, was well appointed and was set in a beautiful garden just right for relaxing, with a pool for cooling off in when the sun was hot. The studio is within very easy walking distance of the beach and surf club. The nearby village shopping area has handy shops and bus stops within easy reach. We really enjoyed our stay and would definately recommend to our friends and family.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the beautiful garden
Travelling group: With Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing