We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just as good this time”

Miller & Carter Wheathampstead
Price range: USD 9 - USD 51
Cuisines: Steakhouse, Bar, Grill
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Reservations
Description: Miller and Carter Steakhouse offer some of the finest steaks in Hertfordshire. Our award winning premium Red Tractor Farm assured brand of beef is sourced exclusively from a select number of highly rated farms in the United Kingdom. Our steaks are aged for 30 days. It is then hand cut by our carefully selected master butchers, and cooked to our guests liking by our skilled chefs. We offer a fine selection of wines to complement your steak, specialty cocktails, a selection of premium continental lagers on draught, cask ales and quality bottled beers. We also hold a range of spirits, and coffees to finish. All of this in a historic Tudor building, set beside the river Lee in the picturesque village of Wheathampstead. WiFi is provided free of charge to all of our guests. To view our menus or book a table online visit our website. Please be advised we only allow assistance dogs into the premises due to health and hygiene. We look forward to welcoming you all
Reviewed 6 April 2018

We'd had such a good time last summer that we booked for lunch on Easter Sunday. It was surprisingly quiet and somehow reassuring that there were no Easter 'specials' nor indeed Sunday roasts on the menu.
We all chose from the 3-course deal menu and all chose steaks of various types. They were all excellent! This was a £24 deal that basically meant that you got a dessert 'free'. What turned out to be particularly good was that you could opt for a coffee-and-mini-dessert if the full thing seemed too daunting- and again we all chose this, mine a mini crème brulee (beautiful).
Service was perfect, plenty of attention without being intrusive.
The décor here always pleases me, it being exclusively bull-orientated! This is not really a good fit for vegetarians although there is a 'V' option on the menu.
I would be very confident of these excellent standards again on any future visits and recommend for a 'special occasion' meal or just a bit of indulgence!

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank David A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General Manager A, Manager at Miller & Carter Wheathampstead, responded to this reviewResponded 8 April 2018

Hi David A, we are very happy to have provided you with such a positive experience
Thank you again for taking the time to let us know how we did.
It is reviews like thhis that make it all worth it!!

Hope you have a great day and hope to see you again soon

Mike & all the team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (554)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

33 - 37 of 554 reviews

Reviewed 2 April 2018 via mobile

Popped in on 31st March ... Saturday afternoon. On way home from Cambridge. Hungry. Booked table online, and arrived at 2pm. Restaurant area still busy but we were served quickly and food came in good time.
We opted for the 2 courses lunch specials. Calamari to start and 7oz Steak Entree. Happy to swap fries for jacket potato.

No fuss. Tasty. Filling. Job done.

Thank Charleygirl76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General Manager A, Manager at Miller & Carter Wheathampstead, responded to this reviewResponded 3 April 2018

Hi Charleygirl76, we are very happy to have provided you with such a positive experience!

Thank you, and have a fantastic day!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2018

We came as a family of 6 for a birthday meal, Starters of shared platter and chicken wings, all amazing. Kids ordered the childrens burger and said it was the best burger they have ever eaten. My mother ordered the rump, which was tough and my husband had the T Bone, which was really tough and inedible. After a word with the waitress, it was immediately swapped for something else, a fillet steak, which he devoured - half of the cost was taken off the rump too - not at our request. So, although the meal wasnt up to par, the staff dealt with it immediately and rectified it and no questions asked - that IS SERVICE. It was also chilly in our corner and they immediately came over with a heater - would thoroughly recommend, the place is nice and clean and food on the whole is very very good, we will be back! Thank you

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank LucyLoo2803
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General Manager A, Manager at Miller & Carter Wheathampstead, responded to this reviewResponded 3 April 2018

Lucyloo2803, we're happy you found our staff to be so supportive during your experience here at Miller & Carter Wheathampstead.

We hope to be of service to you again in the future.
Best wishes,
Miller & Carter Wheathampstead

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 March 2018 via mobile

Haven't been here since it changed hands so thought we'd give it a go. The restaurant interior has massively improved since our last visit but it seems to lack atmosphere. It was really busy for weds night so obviously popular. Service was good after the initial wait for our order to be taken. Burger was good but my partner wasnt impressed with the steak as very chewy. We wouldnt rush back as for the price we both think that The Wicked Lady is much nicer in every respect.

Thank CJH70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General Manager A, Manager at Miller & Carter Wheathampstead, responded to this reviewResponded 1 April 2018

Thank you for taking the time to give us your honest feedback as we do appreciate it.

Please visit us again and give us a chance to WOW you to 5*
Mike and All The Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 March 2018 via mobile

Had a lovely meal here tonight. Delightful food, comfortable surrounding and excellent service from our hostess Nicola.
Only downside was waiting to be acknowledged by the meeter and greeter, Jill.

Thank Andy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General Manager A, Manager at Miller & Carter Wheathampstead, responded to this reviewResponded 26 March 2018

Andy H, thank you for your kind review; we are happy to pass along your comments to the team here at Miller & Carter Wheathampstead!

We hope to be of service to you again in the future.
Best wishes,
Miller & Carter Wheathampstead

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Miller & Carter Wheathampstead also viewed

Potters Bar, Hertfordshire
 
Wheathampstead, St Albans
Wheathampstead, St Albans
 
Wheathampstead, St Albans
 

Been to Miller & Carter Wheathampstead? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing