We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (24)
Filter reviews
24 results
Traveller rating
5
11
3
4
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
5
11
3
4
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews new owners lakes feet sierra luxury series creek backpackers wood accommodation edge
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 24 reviews
Reviewed 15 October 2018

I have stayed here twice in the past 5-6 years. The most recent being in late September.
There were 7 of us who went to high school together 50 years ago and my son, who is 17. We stayed in 3 cabins, 14, 15, and 16. I stayed in #16 with my son and one of my former class mates. I think everybody understands that this is a rustic place. No problem with that. However, my single bed in the living room had springs protruding through the mattress. The mattress needs to be replaced. The bathroom situation is pretty tenuous unless you have very short legs. The toilet is about 12" away from the wall in front of it. I needed to sit at a 90 degree angle to the toilet. This is a difficult fix, but the new owner is a contractor, so maybe he can do something. It was the same situation in the other cabins. Also, the bathroom is in the bedroom, so anybody sleeping in the other room needs to go into the bedroom to use the bathroom. This should be changed if possible.

The carpet in the cabin is extremely dirty and needs to be replaced with wood or ceramic.
Carpet is not practical in this environment.

Anyway, this is a great location and I hope the new owners make some very necessary upgrades.

Date of stay: September 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank Choad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kathy H, Owner at Glacier Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 15 November 2018

Hi David,
We really appreciate your feedback regarding the bedding. Nobody wants to lay in an uncomfortable bed after a long day of hiking and fishing. We are upgrading many things over the winter season, one of them being the mattresses in multiple cabins. Additionally, you will notice new electrical in the cabins, providing outlets for individual room heaters and portable dvd players.
As far as the bathroom situation, I am working on a few different options to make this more comfortable. The cabins being built in 1932 does not make any changes easy. Also, thanks for the advice on the flooring as we will be getting that changed out around June 2019.
And............ on a final note, as we intend to keep all the cabins with their current rustic flare and charm, they may not suit everyone. Please remember we will be building a new lodge for you to come and visit.
Darrin and Theresa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2018

Had a great stay in a cabin at the Glacier Lodge in July 2018. We spent two days acclimatizing before a backpacking trip, and we had a great time. The cabin was comfortable, with a hot shower, screened windows, and stocked kitchen. Step outside and you are on the edge of the John Muir Wilderness! What could be better? The new owners are enthusiastic and helpful; order breakfast or dinner and they'll deliver to your cabin!

I'm a bit mystified by the reviews that complain the lodge is too rustic. I'm not sure what people expect at almost 8,000 feet in the Sierra. If you want more luxury, perhaps you should stay down in the Valley?

One more tip for backpackers. Stay here and you can park in their overnight lot, cutting almost a mile of the trail up Big Pine Creek!

Date of stay: July 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ajgunther
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kathy H, Owner at Glacier Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 20 August 2018

Andrew,
Thanks for the 5 star review. You know we loved having you all here and can’t wait to see you again.
Darrin and Theresa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2018

We expected rustic, but it's too charitable to describe Cabin 18 as merely rustic. It's more like some poor sharecropper's shack, for which we spent over $500 for a two-night stay for 4 adults! Beds were lumpy and uncomfortable, there weren't enough towels for everyone, there was just one spoon in the kitchen and only 3 glasses. Cleanliness was poor. I realize that the short operating season at this elevation makes it difficult to operate a profitable business, but maintenance of the unit seemed non-existent. The only saving grace is that the location is spectacular.

Date of stay: July 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank travelingjoe2018
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kathy H, Owner at Glacier Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 20 August 2018

Joe,
We are sorry that your stay with us did not exceed expectations. It’s never fun to go on a vacation and be disappointed.
As the new owners, we are working hard to get our cabins( built in 1932) remodeled a couple at a time. I assure you things will only get better.
Please feel free to call us personally at 760-938-2837 if you have any additional concerns.
Darrin and Theresa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2017 via mobile

Location was great. Cabin was very funky! Layout in kitchen/eating table way too small for 6...was advertised as "accommodating" 8-9. Had to wash stuff before we used it.
Pond was stocked with trout, but main issue was space and cleanliness.
Maybe will bring RV or camp next time at Inyo camping areas immediately below glacier lodge.
Lodge is no longer there.. three of them in the same place have burned down over the years. There are only cabins and a small general store.
Not going back!

Date of stay: June 2017
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank Christopher A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kathy H, Owner at Glacier Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 15 November 2018

Hi Christopher!

Thank you for your review.

I'd like to let you know at as the NEW OWNERS of Glacier Lodge we are working hard to upgrade the cabins. We won't be able to do much about the already existing space as the cabins were built in 1932, but we are looking to upgrade fixtures, seating and of course kitchenware.

In the next few years we will also be rebuilding the Historic Glacier Lodge.

Yes, definitely check the other Forest Service campgrounds. They would love to have you!

Kindly,
Theresa and Darrin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2016

We just returned from a 4 night stay as Glacier Lodge in lodge 17.

The accommodation and surroundings were as expected (and as described by most of the reviews below).

The lodge itself was functional, not fancy. It has everything you need though, from a good working fridge and oven to a relatively good bed. The decoration is 'rustic' in style. The lodge was sloping quite a bit, which made the first steps of the day quite funny...
There was a good sized garden with the lodge, a fire pit, a BBQ and a bench and table for seating.

So, the lodge was very OK for a decent stay (lampshades would have been a nice touch though).

The setting is truly stunning. The lodges are really at the end of the road, where the hiking trail head into the Eastern Sierras starts. So, no need to drive, you can just start hiking from the lodges. The Big Pine trails start there, which link to the John Muir trail, and provides miles and miles of stunning, high altitude walking path. Nature is really amazing there, waterfalls, forest, lakes, glaciers etc.All right on the doorstep.

The owners, who run this operation from a small lodge/shop were friendly and informative.

The stays are not cheap (159$ / night before tax), but there is nothing else around that compares.

Just to state the obvious: It is incredibly quiet there - No cellphone coverage - no WiFi

Room tip: 17 was the last lodge, with a very private garden
Date of stay: July 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank mvanderh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kathy H, Owner at Glacier Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 19 July 2016

Thank you for your review. Glad you enjoyed your stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews