We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mixed feelings”
Review of Sweet Basil Bistro

Sweet Basil Bistro
Ranked #11 of 135 Restaurants in Big Bear Region
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: USD 10 - USD 24
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special Occasion Dining
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations
Reviewed 1 February 2018

Sweet Basil Bistro is easily accessed alongside Big Bear's landmark bowling alley. We were certainly relieved not to be seated in the cramped entryway and felt uncomfortable for the couples attempting to enjoy their meal as we and other guests came in from the cold. Service was rushed and could have been provided with a softer edge. Being attended by a number of servers at various stages did not help the tone. That said, our meal was overall good, and the artichoke starter was superb! Pricing on the high side.

Date of visit: January 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank WP664
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (157)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

8 - 12 of 157 reviews

Reviewed 17 January 2018

The only real Italian restaurant in Big Bear Lake. Good variety, fresh and good service. Both lunch and dinner are a little over priced, but so are most decent restaurants in the resort

Date of visit: January 2018
Thank dclaus47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 January 2018

There was plenty of quantity, but very little flavor. Pesto was so bland I had to add lots of salt just to give it flavor.

Date of visit: January 2018
    • Food
Thank hhredevil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 November 2017

This restaurant was highly recommended to us, so we were interested in trying it. For starters we had a caprese salad and the soup of the day, a cabbage and Italian sausage soup. Both were very good. For a main course we had a veal piccata special and a pasta dish with creamy basil pesto sauce. The veal was pretty ordinary, and the pasta was sort of gummy and simply not very good. Perhaps we ordered wrong. Service was fine...a little chaotic because the place was busy, but it was very friendly. The restaurant is somewhat oddly located, on the bottom floor of a big building that houses a bowling alley, and even though it is right off a main street, it is easy to miss unless you know exactly what you are looking for.

Date of visit: November 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank PrinceConsort
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 September 2017

We were in Big Bear for a couple of special occasions so wanted some special dining experiences and Sweet Basil Bistro was one of our picks. I'd have to say that it was probably my favorite dinner of the trip. My husband had the gorgonzola stuffed filet mignon, which he loved. I had the New York steak with red wine sauce, which was tasty and satisfying. The garlic mashed potatoes and vegetables were good as well. For dessert (special occasion, remember), I had the crème brulee, which was a little pricey, but very creamy. My husband chose a salted caramel gelato, which he dove into with gusto. All in all this was a very pleasant experience and excellent dinner.

Date of visit: September 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank CacheOn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Sweet Basil Bistro also viewed

 
Big Bear Lake, Big Bear Region
Big Bear Lake, Big Bear Region
 
Big Bear Lake, Big Bear Region
 

Been to Sweet Basil Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing