We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“What a great little place!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Cathy's Country Cottages
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Big Bear City
Sunny SoCal
Level Contributor
124 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“What a great little place!!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 December 2010

My husband and I decided to stay here for two nights for a much needed weekend getaway. The cottage was clean, comfortable and very romantic. Great hot tub, fireplace, and the location was perfect for us as we wanted something away from the busy village area. However, the Village is just a short drive away. Our only complaint is the bed. The linens are great, but the mattress really needs to be replaced -- lumpy. However, all of the other amenities and the charm of the cottage will definately have us coming back.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LMRD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sleepyforestcottages, Manager at Cathy's Country Cottages, responded to this review, 18 February 2011
Thank You for this review. We are always replacing and updating our beds, sofas, etc. Our most important concern is that you contact us while you are here, and let us know exactly how you feel about your room and stay. We will upgrade anyone to any available room at anytime if you do not love your cottage/cabin/room! And we are on call 24/7 to deal with any sudden issues. Thanks! Josh Pool, Management.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

34 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    17
    12
    3
    1
    1
See reviews for
4
23
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 May 2010

We took a weekend trip last November and were quite happy with the choice. Adorable little rooms and the brisk, cold nights made the gas fireplace that much better. I only gave it a 4 because I just wish it was a bit closer to the Big Bear Village, but it really wasn't that far.
The staff was very friendly and was genuinely concerned with our opinion of the room.

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Boston-LA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phelan, CA
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 October 2009

We had an amazing time staying at this small cabin in Big Bear!! The cabin was very spacious and the bed felt amazing. The hot tub was more than large enough for two and faced the television and beautiful fire. We even had our own little porch to sit outside and enjoy the fresh mountain air!!! The only downside was that it's located closer to Big Bear City than the attractions in Big Bear Lake. I'd say for the price, its well worth the short 5 min drive to the village. There's a Circle K across the street if you need last minute snacks or want to rent a movie at the machine out front for the DVD player in the room also!! Had a great time and would highly recommend it!!!!

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Steve J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
california
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 July 2009

I was at Cathy's with my GF over the 4th of July weekend. We absolutely loved it. The cabin was beautiful and very well maintained. The owners Josh and Bob were very friendly and gave useful tips and suggestions to enjoy our stay. I would highly recommend it to my family.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nachyadon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Juan Capistrano, CA.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 July 2009

What's not to love at Cathy's Cottages for a romantic getaway !
I actually can't think of anything it didn't have. A rustic individual cabin with a big cozy bed with lots of feather pillows. A rock fireplace with a rock jacuzzi tub for two in front of it. A double shower. A coffee maker and microwave and a cute little porch. All tucked away from the bustle of the tourist area in a quiet residential area surrounded by antique and specialty stores. I love Moonridge !
The owner and desk people could not have been nicer or more helpful and you'd expect to pay twice as much . I highly recommend this experience and we'll be back again next month for our anniversary. Thank you !!! We loved the place !

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PMstar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Big Bear City
6.2 km away
Big Bear Frontier Cabins
Big Bear Frontier Cabins
#1 of 7 in Big Bear Lake
4.0 of 5 bubbles 406 reviews
6.3 km away
Cozy Hollow Lodge
Cozy Hollow Lodge
#2 of 19 in Big Bear Region
4.5 of 5 bubbles 130 reviews
5.8 km away
Pine Knot Guest Ranch
Pine Knot Guest Ranch
#3 of 7 in Big Bear Lake
4.5 of 5 bubbles 210 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 km away
BEST WESTERN Big Bear Chateau
BEST WESTERN Big Bear Chateau
#1 of 19 in Big Bear Region
4.0 of 5 bubbles 590 reviews
5.9 km away
The Lodge at Big Bear Lake, a Holiday Inn Resort
5.5 km away
Robinhood Resort
Robinhood Resort
#4 of 7 in Big Bear Lake
4.0 of 5 bubbles 184 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cathy's Country Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cathy's Country Cottages

Property: Cathy's Country Cottages
Address: 600 W Big Bear Blvd, Big Bear City, CA 92314-8921
Region: United States > California > Big Bear Region > Big Bear City
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Big Bear City
Price range (per night): $98 - $188
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just over half a mile from Big Bear Lake, Sleepy Forest Resorts' cozy Cathy's Cottages has been providing romantic getaways, honeymoons, and affordable overnight stays to the Big Bear area for over 20 years. Perfect for being walking distance from Big Bear Airport with Big Bear's only "Aviator Room", sleeping 4 and adorned with memorabilia from the owners' WWll flying-ace Uncles. Check in at Sleepy Forest Cottages 3 miles down the road and enjoy Free Wi-Fi and Free Parking, along with Sleepy Forest Resorts' historic wedding chapel honeymoon cottages, including a river-rock fireplace and jetted-tub, king beds, and double-headed showers. CHECK IN FIRST AT: Sleepy Forest Cottages, 400 S eureka Drive, Big Bear Lake, CA 92315. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA and Booking.com so you can book your Cathy's Country Cottages reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cathy`s Country Cottages Hotel Big Bear City
Cathys Country Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing