We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (234)
Filter reviews
234 results
Traveller rating
105
100
24
5
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
105
100
24
5
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews platypus viewing table restaurant broken river mountain resort their natural habitat night tour nearby river night walk comfortable cabin self cater wood fire peace and quiet stayed for nights living area possums lodge wildlife rainforest
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 234 reviews
Reviewed 2 October 2018

A friend and I stayed here for 2 nights mid September. We were in an Echidna room as we required two beds. The ability to self cater was great - we brought our own cereal for breakfast, and could buy extra milk from Reception (from the local dairy). Having the fridge and kettle made cups of tea convenient at any time. The room is basic, but I appreciated that it was so very clean, and had all the helpful amentiies (microwave and crockery and cutlery included). The jug of chilled water in the fridge on our arrival was a nice touch.
The location was perfect - we could wander down in less than 5 minutes to the viewing platforms. I had emailed the resort to ask their recommendations for timing and they said August/September for optimum platypus viewing. They were right! Every time we looked, we saw a platypus.
Unfortunately our nights did not coincide with the free guided nighttime walks. But we booked for the free drop-off to the start of the Crediton Creek walk and spent a morning doing that.
We ate at the restaurant both nights (but drove back out to the Eungella Chalet for lunches) and I was impressed by the friendliness of the staff. (Lamb shanks are amazing!)
Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: September 2018, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mlgAustralia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adventure797540, Public Relations Manager at Broken River Mountain Resort Eungella, responded to this reviewResponded 3 October 2018

Thank you for your feedback. We are very glad that you enjoyed your stay, and look forward to seeing you back here in the future (hopefully to coincide with our nocturnal spotlighting tour!).
Regards,
Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 September 2018 via mobile

It is in a really special location, right in the National Park, next to excellent platypus viewing points. Good trails starting right from the resort.
We loved the spotlight walking tour where we got to see fascinating animals with an expert guide.
Our cabin was basic, but spotless and everything worked. I panicked a bit about no mobile reception or Wi-fi but to be honest, it did me good to ignore social media for a couple of days!
I can’t comment on food as we self catered.
Friendly service, would recommend.

Stayed: September 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank Runnybun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BrokenRiverResort, Guest Relations Manager at Broken River Mountain Resort Eungella, responded to this reviewResponded 28 September 2018

Thank you for choosing our resort, and for taking the time to write a great review!
We are so glad to hear that you enjoyed our spotlight guided tour which is provided to our guests to familiarise themselves with the immediate environment as well as a learning experience. We will pass it on your compliments to our guide.
We also acknowledge your comments regarding accommodations, basic but spotless. We are aiming to provide a comfortable with E-co friendly stay and a truly unique experience. We have a plan to do some refurbishing during spring season.
We appreciate your kind comments on wifi, the wifi is available at our resort for guests to logon from lounge and we have recently installed a wifi extension to reach guest rooms.
We look forward to welcoming you back to our resort in the future and hopefully have a taste experience at our restaurant.

Yours sincerely,
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2018 via mobile

The Broken River Mountain resort is certainly positioned to make seeing platypus in their natural habitat plus other fauna and flora. The resort offers a variety of cabins ranging from more a “hotel style” through to self-contained and these are certainly appropriate for the visit. There is also a licensed dining room, but maybe best of all is that they also offer free guided tours and/or drop offs to the longer one-way walks at various times (check before you book)

Stayed: August 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank Jeffo999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BrokenRiverResort, Guest Relations Manager at Broken River Mountain Resort Eungella, responded to this reviewResponded 26 August 2018

Thank you for your positive feedback. We are pleased that you have enjoyed your stay and activities. Our guided tours and shuttle drop-offs for our guests certainly do add to the experience.

Regards,
Resort Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2018

The location is nice in the rainforest. Th resort very basic, but if you are looking for luxury stay, you should go back to the coastline. It was clean, but does provide only the basic setup. During Winter, it may get cold during nights as it had only one fireplace for heating.

  • Stayed: July 2018, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Thomas N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2018

I arrived late to the restaurant and was not planning to book a room. However was advised by the staff the night might go below zero C so I decided to take one. The room was relative clean and tidy. The small heater as not able to heat up the room not to mention the bathroom. Still I guess had a warmer night than it would have been in a tent or in my car.
I had dinner and breakfast in the restaurant. For both of them pre-order should be made to be able to choose from the menu. Both portions were big, Could eat the half of the dinner only.

Room Tip: Come to the place in spring or autumn time.
  • Stayed: June 2018, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Max K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BrokenRiver, Owner at Broken River Mountain Resort Eungella, responded to this reviewResponded 30 June 2018

It was a very cold night - minus 4c .

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews