We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (130)
Filter reviews
130 results
Traveller rating
38
45
27
14
6
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
38
45
27
14
6
Show reviews that mention
All reviews downtown berkeley location is great short walk bed was comfortable campus parking furnishings
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 130 reviews
Reviewed 6 October 2018

The Downtown Berkeley Inn has a convenient Location for Berkeley in a quite good area. Many other Hotels are on University Ave which is not the best location dring night.

The Rooms are quite spacious and clean (despite the carpet in my room). I really like the comfortable beds. Bathroom is standard and could see a bit of improvement in future as well as the windows which do not seem to work partly in my room.
WIFI works conviently.
Nevertheless, staff is very friendly and the value for the price is good for Berkeley.

Date of stay: September 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank phpworldwide
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2018

This place is perfect if you come to Berkeley to see a show at Freight & Salvage - or to see a play - and wish to stay overnight. You can walk to a couple of different theatres, or F&S, as well as many different restaurants, coffee houses, stores. Get to the Downtown Berkeley Inn early so you can park there, as it is free for overnighters on a first come, first served basis. Not a luxury place, but fine for an overnight stay. I thought the bed was comfortable and slept well there.

Date of stay: September 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 820kathleeno
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 October 2018

Limited (or very expensive) Berkeley accommodations are only reason I stayed here and would stay again. Room was clean, but furnishings were worn. Staff almost never available. Does have parking that is free and close to modest restaurants.

Date of stay: September 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank antonia245
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 May 2018

My room was run-down and had grubby carpeting. The location is convenient to downtown and the Cal-Berkeley campus. If you need a room in better condition, you are better off staying at one of the chain motels a bit farther away on University Ave.

Date of stay: May 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SwiftyPA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 April 2018

A huge rip off! Based on the price and the reviews below, and the reality of what I experienced at this place - all I can say is that I've seen laundromats run better and with more care. It's just a run down old motel with a slap of fresh paint on it. NOTHING ABOUT THIS PLACE IS BOUTIQUE as some reviewers claim. Location is great, but if your thing is to stay at a cross between a city morgue (invisible proprietors) and a run down airport highway type motel with musty, ancient wall to wall substandard carpet, then go for it. Big disappointment. Only thing it has going for it is the location.

Room tip: Don't stay here.
Date of stay: March 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank EdwinaLatcholais
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews